Reviews written by bougheyrm

597 results - showing 1 - 50
« 1 2 3 4 5 ... »
Ordering
December 29, 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
I tend to forget to use it...
Summary
I've been using this for about six months now and normally after such a long time I'd have either created a blog about the product or given up. The reason I've done neither is that despite it being there and ready to use by the shower I almost always forget to use it :( The reason for this is that you really have to have a ritual to use the Kissglove - 5 minutes in the bath or shower before you start, no products and so on. Given the sports I do I'm more of a "get clean and more on" sort of guy so this doesn't work for me. However when I do slow down and actually try to use the Kissglove properly I don't really get a lot of it. Yes your skin feels nice after using it but no more so than other much cheaper products plus I really don't like the feel of the glow on: no real reason except that my hand feels enclosed and damp all of the time. So not a great fan but I can see that it works but £15 seems too much to me.
December 29, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Value for money 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Nice and (almost) inexpensive
Summary
I've written a blog about me using this product elsewhere on the site but I must say that I really liked wearing Chanel Allure Homme Sport EDT. It's masculine but not harsh or overpowering and it lasts reasonably well. It has a nice "waft past" nature that seems to get noticed but it doesn't get in the way. The bottle is practical and the spray easy to use. I did run out of it rather quicker than I'd anticipated as you can't really tell what's in the bottle but that was probably also me using too much. Nice, reliable, easy to use and not ridiculously expensive.
December 29, 2014
Overall rating 
 
1.8
Packaging 
 
2.0
Cleansing power 
 
2.0
Scent 
 
2.0
Effectiveness 
 
1.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
1.0
Oh dear!
Summary
This is a product that I would a) struggle to review given how short my hair is and b) take me about a year to use up so I asked my friend G. to review it as she has very long hair and she knows what's she's talking about when it comes to hair care. "It is a little difficult for me to review a shampoo alone - I have fairly long hair and always need to use conditioner in order to detangle and smooth, so it’s hard to know what effect just the shampoo has had. Upon first use of the 5 in 1 camomile shampoo, the product didn’t seem to lather, and made my hair extremely tangled. So much so that I had to use a different shampoo as I knew I’d have trouble brushing and probably rip a lot of it out! On second use onwards, the effect was of an average shampoo – fairly pleasant fragrance, and cleansed effectively, but still needed conditioner to produce a good finish. The product look itself isn’t overly appealing. To market this product effectively and compete with leading brands, Clairol needs a complete refresh with packaging and branding. The shampoo could be a good product teamed with a conditioner (which actually would have made it easier, and probably fairer, to review) however when compared with leading brands, Clairol 5 in 1 looks of lower quality. I also find that ‘x in 1’ products are usually targeted at a male consumer group rather than female – I wouldn’t purchase a 2 in 1 shampoo and conditioner for example, because it does not have the same effect as using the two products separately. Could have an adverse affect on sales if other consumers are like myself." So pretty much nothing good to say about this product. It is cheap but given that it doesn't work then no recommendation from G. or me.
October 13, 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Packaging 
 
2.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Absorption 
 
2.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
1.0
Dreadful
Summary
I mention in another review that I really wanted to like the philosophy range but they really make it difficult. I really thought I couldn't go wrong with the hand cream but hands of hope is very simple and really doesn't make any impact at all. It feel far less value for money than much cheaper creams and either I have particularly dense skin or it really doesn't absorb. The scent is dull and the texture very oily (I really felt that I needed to wipe my hands after using it). Overall not one for me.
October 12, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Packaging 
 
3.0
Cleansing power 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Better than expected
Summary
I don't normally use 2 in 1's and I don't have dandruff but I did get the opportunity to try it (and I do have a dry scalp!). I decided to try this at the gym as it's all about convenience and it's been surprisingly good. My hair is cleaned well and it feels soft when it dries. I expected it to be harsh but it really isn't. The scent is appleish rather than natural but it's pleasant enough. A simple effective product that's not too pricy.
October 11, 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
1.0
What went wrong?
Summary
I really expected to like the Philosophy range so I took a set of their products away with me on holiday so that I could spend some time with them properly but... It just didn't work out. These cleansing cloths just didn't work out for me, too pricy, and not effective enough.
September 21, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Packaging 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Quality without the price
Summary
To give this one a real test I asked my friend to try it as well (she has much more luxurious hair than me!) so first is her review: "I was given two samples of Argan Dew’s replenishing hair mask to try, and I have to say the end result was great. The packaging for the sample was good – a papery feel, something that an ‘organic’ product would be packaged in, very appropriate for this mask as it’s paraben, SLS and alcohol free. I have quite long hair so had to use both samples in one go. The smell of the product when fresh out of the packaging is beautiful, but unfortunately I couldn’t smell it once my hair was rinsed and dried – a real shame. The feel of my hair once dried and styled was great – very soft and shiny, and lasted all day.” I though it was a great product that worked well on my much more sparse hair. Easy to use and a great feel on the scalp. I thought the price was pretty good given the quality of the product but overall I wouldn't replace my current Molton Brown hair mask.
September 11, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Packaging 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
A great product with an affordable price tag
Summary
As with the shampoo from this range I really don't have the hair to test this product properly so I asked my friend to review the conditioner for me and this is what she thought. “I was lucky enough to be sent two full-sized bottles of Pantene Age Defy. My first reaction to the product was that the bottles were given a much needed ‘makeover’ with the black/purple branding compared to the regular Pantene products. Age Defy looks like a more professional hair care product, with a regular price tag – very appealing to the consumer. Both shampoo and conditioner are thick and luxurious in consistency, which good for me, who has fairly thick, long hair. I find very liquid hair care products don’t detangle or nourish the hair as much, and Pantene Age Defy is the opposite. After first use my hair was completely tangle free, and felt in better condition – perhaps not 10 years younger, but certainly healthier. Having used up the contents from both bottles before reviewing, I think my hair is now used to the product and the effect has become less noticeable that after the first and second use. My only criticism is that the conditioner bottle is flexible, not rigid like the shampoo. This therefore means that it’s a little difficult to get the last remaining contents of the bottle out (like toothpaste, for want of a better comparator...). All in all, a great product with an affordable price tag. I will definitely be purchasing more.”
September 11, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Packaging 
 
4.0
Cleansing power 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
I will definitely be purchasing more
Summary
I really don't have the hair to test this product properly so I asked a friend to try it for me and this is G's review (she used and reviewed both the shampoo and the conditioner). “I was lucky enough to be sent two full-sized bottles of Pantene Age Defy. My first reaction to the product was that the bottles were given a much needed ‘makeover’ with the black/purple branding compared to the regular Pantene products. Age Defy looks like a more professional hair care product, with a regular price tag – very appealing to the consumer. Both shampoo and conditioner are thick and luxurious in consistency, which good for me, who has fairly thick, long hair. I find very liquid hair care products don’t detangle or nourish the hair as much, and Pantene Age Defy is the opposite. After first use my hair was completely tangle free, and felt in better condition – perhaps not 10 years younger, but certainly healthier. Having used up the contents from both bottles before reviewing, I think my hair is now used to the product and the effect has become less noticeable that after the first and second use. My only criticism is that the conditioner bottle is flexible, not rigid like the shampoo. This therefore means that it’s a little difficult to get the last remaining contents of the bottle out (like toothpaste, for want of a better comparator...). All in all, a great product with an affordable price tag. I will definitely be purchasing more.”
September 11, 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Value for money 
 
2.0
Packaging 
 
2.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Nice sniff but terrible longevity
Summary
On first sniff I really liked L!ve but it just didn't last and frankly disappeared before I'd even walked out of the room. It has a slightly old fashioned spicy scent that really does seem strong (maybe off puttingly so if you don't like spice). The bottle is frankly terrible and is no way appropriate to something that costs 70 odd quid. Sorry but this one just didn't work for me.
August 10, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Packaging 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Absorption 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Lovely scent
Summary
I decided to compare this to my usual nail cream from Sally Hansen which is about half the price (but to my mind still pricy) and you can see the results in my blog but here I'll simply review this product. I have dry hands and particularly dry cuticles so this seemed like the ideal product for me and to be fair it's a lovely product. The texture's good and it smells very nice. It's a little overly oily for me and because it's very warm at the moment and I melts so quickly it's very easy to over apply it so it feels more like a liquid oil. In terms of impact I found it okay rather than spectacular. Absorption was a little poor for me but not bad and there is an immediate impact that looks nice. I do feel that with regular use it does have an impact on the cuticles and certainly they look better. Despite a couple of weeks of growth my nails don't feel any better (and my nails grow very quickly so I was hoping to see something) but to be fair I have very strong nails anyway. I really liked the simplicity of the tin it comes in; very simple very practical but with a definite stamp of quality. Overall a nice and quality product with a great scent but at a price.
August 10, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Mildness 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
2.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
One to ponder
Summary
Unlike the reviewers so far I'm slightly less enthralled by this product. I do like the texture and the result and to be honest I'd be happy enough with the price if I was to buy it but... Unlike everyone else I don't like the packaging. Yes it's eye catching and different. It's also a very solid product and feels like quality but something doesn't work for me ascetically. This also reinforces another issue I have which is with the scent. I think it's the wheat germ but for some reason it smells marine to me. The jar and the scent make me less enthusiastic than I think I should be given that I like the product in terms of efficacy. The texture really is lovely and results good (one thing is that the box packaging has very poor instructions when compared to the online description - I know this is because it's a small box with lots of words but even so). I didn't really find it better for razor burn than my normal routine but to be fair given how sensitive my skin is after shaving I would consider that to be a great success! I would recommend it even though I'm not convinced about the packaging of the scent (and to be fair the price is okay rather than good value) but it's definitely one to try first.
July 31, 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Packaging 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
2.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Really not worth it
Summary
Well I really wasn't impressed by the shampoo and frankly that's better than this product. The scent is the same i.e. poor and a chemical smell. To be fair the texture is very lush almost a mask in fact but the simple fact is that it isn't very effective and it's too expensive for the results.
July 31, 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Packaging 
 
3.0
Cleansing power 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
2.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Really nothing special
Summary
I really can't say that this product was either good or bad but I can say that it's too pricy to be only this good. The scent is very chemical and whilst not actually unpleasant is certainly off putting. As a shampoo is okay but with no special merit or anything interesting. It works okay, is too expensive and really doesn't add anything but... it's better than the conditioner!
July 10, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
A definite treat but maybe only for the night
Summary
My friend tested this with me as I wanted to have a different perspective. She enjoyed using the oil and felt it gave a radiance to her face but she didn't feel the product had any significant impact on lines or wrinkles. The smell was nice and it absorbed well but she stopped using it in the morning as she found it too oily with her makeup and that it made her face too shiny. However at night she found it a definite treat. I found it too oily for me and it wasn't one for me but I did think it was a quality product that's a nice have but not necessarily a must have.
June 30, 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Packaging 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
2.0
Absorption 
 
2.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Far less effective than I expected
Summary
I decided to try this as I really needed some help with dry skin, cuticles and nails and this one really seemed to fit the bill. I use and really like the Sally Hansen Healthy Cuticles Now and so this looked like a natural choice for some intensive support. The packaging is great (but after a few weeks the nice swirls of green and white merge!) and it smells very nice (somewhat sweet but very pleasant). In use the texture is very very heavy with little or no absorption. I genuinely didn't see any improvement though and overall found this product messy. I've persevered and will continue to use it but that's just out of regret for spending the money in the first place.
June 30, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Packaging 
 
3.0
Cleansing power 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Okay and nice to use
Summary
Unlike the conditioner this one is good rather than very good. It works well and is nice to use but nothing beyond that. As with other Kerastase products this is just too expensive for my tastes.
June 30, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Packaging 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Lovely but too expensive
Summary
This is a very very very good product but it's far too expensive for the results. Yes it's a quality product, yes it works well but I just don't have the hair to justify the price.
June 30, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Packaging 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Rather liked this
Summary
I rather liked taking this with me to the gym as it gave me a very clean and smooth feel to my skin after exercise. The liquid goes on very easily and immediately feels nice. I didn't feel the need to use another moisturiser after drying but I can understand why the you might want to. The scent is nice but it isn't my first choice. Overall worth thinking about and a good choice.
June 30, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Packaging 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Baths and Showers
Okay but nothing more
Summary
Like clare.mckenzie I just couldn't get any foam from this product despite the claims that the "shower cream will envelop your skin with its foam". I did quite like it as a product but it really wasn't anything I'd buy out of choice. To be fair it did work well and I rather liked the scent but overall there isn't anything too special about it beyond the price.
June 14, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Absorption 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Hard to judge...
Summary
My scores above seem a little low given that I like the product, what holds me back from being very positive is that the idea of this is to provide a boost but I can't say that I experienced this. I did like the scent and I did like the "sniff at my wrists" during the day. Clearly this is a very high quality product and it really smells nice on the skin. It definitely lingers in terms of absorption which is a little off putting but it's easy enough to get used to. The scent is very hard to describe (beyond nice). The roller ball probably delivers too much of the liquid to your skin but again it's easy to adjust your application. I use it first thing in the morning and it's become automatic for me to add some to my wrists just before setting off for work. Nice and interesting (but maybe not essential)
May 11, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Lovely (if you like the scent)
Summary
I really liked this one, the moisturiser is very rich but firm rather than thick and so it's easy to use and as it absorbs well, it also works well. The scent is very obvious (and to me it reminds me of the dentist which really put me off at first) and it does remain on your skin after use. I think the combination of geranium, cedarwood and mandarin seemed a good idea but I do think that the scent will polarise people. Once I was over my initial dislike I rather liked the scent (it calms down a lot) and the long term effect was nice if somewhat simple. Nice, easy to use but not necessarily one to make me change from my current product.
May 11, 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Packaging 
 
3.0
Cleansing power 
 
2.0
Scent 
 
2.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Not for me
Summary
A Pecksniffs that I really didn't get on with. The shampoo is too astringent and just seems to wash in and out without having any real impact.
May 11, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Packaging 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
2.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Very nice but be sure you like the scent
Summary
Pecksniffs products seem, to my anyway, to be either good or not so good: this one I like (mostly). You really feel clean and it's easy to use and to remove. There's a long lasting feeling (possibly slightly astringent) which I find rather nice but... the sniff test is mild but when you use the gel I think the scent is a little too much, certainly not bad but not as nice as I was expecting. So overall rather nice but something doesn't quite work for me.
May 11, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Packaging 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Rather nice
Summary
I really didn't know what to expect of this as it isn't a range I've tried before (and if you read my review I wasn't impressed by the shampoo) but I really liked this conditioner. It's very thick, almost mouse like but it spreads into your hair very easily. Very nourishing and as they say instant. The only down side is that I'm not too keen on the scent; not unpleasant but slightly off putting. You really feel the impact after use and whilst I wouldn't really say I'd replace my current products I did like it.
May 05, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Packaging 
 
2.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Nice but not for me
Summary
Having read everyone's reviews so far I seem to be the only one to have had a less than successful experience with this product. I found the bottle unattractive and I always (and I mean always) picked it up by the lib which promptly came away from the bottle after I'd just lifted it up, completely my fault I know but still put me off. The oil is very very green, not unattractive but somewhat off putting. I tried the oil on my face but I quickly found it to be too oily and caused breakouts so I stopped using it on my face. My hair was a different story, I really rather liked using the oil on my hair both as an immediate treatment and as a stay in. It's easy to use and it absorbs really well without leaving any noticeable residue in the hair. I found that it was particularly good for my scalp rather than my actual hair but overall a good result. The final test was to use the oil on my skin and again I was pleased with the impact. Easy to use and very easily absorbed. In actuality there has been little real impact so far but it is very nice either way. Overall I was happy to try the product and do feel that it has some benefits but not as much as I'd hoped for.
April 21, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Packaging 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Mildness 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Exfoliators and Peelings
Quality but not cheap
Summary
ESPA isn't my natural first choice, not because I dislike the products but until recently I really didn't come across them. I've been using some of their products for about four months and I'm very impressed with the packaging and the quality of their products (but less so the price). This one has a medicinal scent which really does smell like an exfoliator (I'm not exactly sure why: it's probably the familiarity to other exfoliators). The texture is creamy but with a definite particle feel and on your skin it's gentle but definitely there. Easy to use and easy to remove. Not harsh and just marginal for my skin but nice and works well. Too pricy for me in everyday use but nice enough.
March 23, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
A little goes a long way
Summary
The packaging is simple but very attractive and the product is excellent at the price. I have to say that the pump dispenses too much and I've learned to only press lightly on it and to dispense a very small amount as a little moisturiser goes a long way. I found it absorbed very well but it didn't over moisturise my skin and despite the very variable weather conditions whilst I was trying it (temperatures from -2 to 20 odd degrees and rain, hail and bright sunshine) I always felt that I had a nice protective layer on my skin. Beyond the pump over supplying the moisturiser, there are few negative but I did find the texture a little too heavy (maybe the wrong word but I can't think of another). It doesn't impact on the use or the result but it felt less attractive in use than I expected. I'm not a lavender fan or rose so the scent wasn't a strong positive for me but it isn't a deal breaker. Overall I liked it but maybe not as my first choice.
March 23, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Too niche for me
Summary
I am a huge fan of Elemis and this is just as good quality as any other products I've used from them but I wont be buying this product, not because it doesn't work but because I can't justify using it as opposed to other products. The scent is nice as is the texture (if a little gritty feeling). Absorption is fine and frankly it's a very nice product. The impact is limited in terms of lightening and tightening the skin but it's still a nice moisturiser. Good but just not for me.
March 08, 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Value for money 
 
2.0
Packaging 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Maybe, maybe not
Summary
I've really struggled with this one because on the surface I liked the scent (though not the bottle or the price tag) but then after a while I loose interest. The initial sniff test is positive but nowhere near "sexy and provocative"; it's far to mild for that sort of thing. It smells flat but warm and doesn't seem to have the complexity that the notes suggest. Very Burberry and very recognisable but maybe a little too hit or miss to be a favourite.
March 03, 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Value for money 
 
2.0
Packaging 
 
2.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Nice scent not a great price
Summary
I was really taken by this scent, it's a little powdery when you sniff it but it's very nice on the skin. The scent is slightly sweet for me but I liked the change from my normal peppery ones. I didn't get much development which is disappointing at this price but every so often it was nice to get a reminder of it during the day. Too pricy for me but I wish it wasn't.
March 03, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Value for money 
 
3.0
Packaging 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Less powdery than the red one
Summary
I quite liked this one; milder than the red variety and less powdery this one has reasonable staying power and it smells nice on the skin. No real development but nice anyway. One that I'd consider but maybe not a first choice.
February 24, 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Value for money 
 
2.0
Packaging 
 
2.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Pepper, pepper, pepper
Summary
Well it's definitely peppery! The value for money isn't great but to be fair the longevity is good so if you like the scent it's probably better value for money than I think it is. The top notes are (as I say) peppery but the middle and base notes do develop quite nicely as the scent matures on your skin. Not exactly one for me but actually rather nice.
February 24, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Value for money 
 
3.0
Packaging 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Fragrances
Good value and quite nice
Summary
This is an uncomplicated scent that definitely harks back to the past (maybe a little too much in all honesty). This is a green spice scent with a little too much in the way of high notes for me. Longevity if fine (again in an unsophisticated way as there is little development) and the value for money is pretty good. Okay rather than great.
January 31, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Packaging 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
A good shower gel
Summary
I didn't like the other Crabtree & Evelyn Torocco Orange product I tried but this one is pretty good. The scent is lovely this time. Definitely orange and yet a little different. Beyond that the gel works well in the shower but it doesn't really transfer the scent which is either good or bad depending on your view point (I rather like it). Nice without being great and a little pricy but a good alternative.
January 06, 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
2.0
Absorption 
 
2.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Okay but not good
Summary
I was less taken by this than I was with the matching hand wash though the scent is the same slightly odd citrus/sweetness. The lotion is too light for my taste and I wasn't impressed with the result but it is a reasonable price.
January 06, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Absorption 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Slightly odd fragrance but nice
Summary
I rather liked this but mostly because I got it at half price in a Christmas sale. The scent is slightly odd; more sweet than a traditional citrus but very nice either way. Beyond that it's a good but not outstanding hand wash. The pump dispenser is reliable (even if the amount dispensed is a little low). Not in the Molton Brown league but not in the price range either.
January 05, 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Absorption 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
1.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Had a go but...
Summary
I was very lucky to have the chance to try this product and I really wanted to like it but basically I couldn't use it properly. This wasn't the product's fault and I think with more effort (and time) I could master it but in all honesty I think it would have been more effort than I was willing to give it. I was able to get the right temperature relatively easily and after a while I managed to get the right amount to roll in my hands (and therefore change colour). Things didn't go to well in terms of the next bit as I couldn't get the timing of the next bit right so it didn't really work. As I say if I put more effort it I could probably make it work but I just wasn't really willing to go any further.
December 26, 2013 (Updated: December 26, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Packaging 
 
3.0
Absorption 
 
2.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Hard to say...
Summary
Okay I'm not one for body oils, in fact I only really come across them when I have a massage, so I was interested to try this product. I can say that I'm somewhat ambivalent, it smells nice and feels warm in your hand but even following the instructions I didn't find that it glided over my skin and didn't really feel much benefit. You can tell how much it creates a protective layer after you use it because washing your hands is very difficult as the oil sits on the skin. The scent transfers, which is understandable, and the end result is smooth feeling skin but skin that definitely still has a layer of light oil on it. The pictures I've added show you the bottle and oil (well as much as I can). I have the travel size and the second picture shows the oil in a small bowl and you can see that it's quite light in colour which contrasts with the other picture which shows the oil in the bottle. The bottle is metal and have a screw top and doesn't really help when you're using the product because the oil spills easily and leaks down the bottle after you pore it out. It's fine when you tidy it up (and it could just be me!) but it's another thing that puts me off. The larger bottle has a pump which seems very sensible. Overall I liked this product up to a point but probably not enough of a point to buy it again.
December 16, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Mildness 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Nice, simple and effective
Summary
This is one of three Murad cleansers I've been trying (Essential-C, Renewing, and this the Refreshing) and they are all good in terms of results but still a little different between themselves. All three are economical in terms of how much you use but this one is a bit of middle ground: more lather than the Essential-C but less than the Renewing. I like this one for it's simplicity and simple clean scent (as with most Murad products it's mild, pleasant but none descript). The results as smooth cleansed skin any nothing more. I did feel that this one was a little over drying compared to the others but nothing dramatic. As with the others, it isn't exactly cheap (though it is the cheapest of the three) but given how little you use and the results (and if it's one you like it) then it's probably good value.
December 16, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Mildness 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
A nice smoothing result
Summary
This is one of three Murad cleansers I've been trying (Essential-C, Refreshing, and this the Renewing) and they are all good in terms of results but still a little different between themselves. All three are economical in terms of how much you use but this one is the creamiest (fair considering it's name!) and the one that produces the most lather (a good or bad thing depending on personal taste). You really do need to use a small amount as the lather is, if not difficult to remove, maybe a little stubborn. This cleanser is for dull and tired skin, and is supposed to leave your skin looking youthful and bright. It does produce the smoothest feel of the three (again I assume the cream is responsible for this) but I wouldn't say bright. It has a faint but nice scent; sweet without being particularly anything, and the cream is a nice pearly white. As with the others, it isn't exactly cheap but given how little you use and the results (and if it's one you like it) then it's probably good value.
December 16, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Mildness 
 
2.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Nice light zest and a good cleanser
Summary
This is one of three Murad cleansers I've been trying (Refreshing, Renewing and this the Essential-C) and they are all good in terms of results but still a little different between themselves. All three are economical in terms of how much you use but this one is the least in terms of lather (a good or bad thing depending on personal taste). It has a faint zest rather than something overpowering which I rather liked. The gel is light but thick enough so that it doesn't go everywhere and it feels nice on the skin. In terms of whether it does more to support environmentally damaged skin... well it works well and doesn't over dry the skin. It does seems to cleanse thoroughly but then so do the other three. The price is a little worrying but you really do only use a very small amount and if it's one you like then it's probably good value.
December 15, 2013
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Absorption 
 
2.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
1.0
I would disagree with "fast-absorbing"
Summary
The gel has an oily but not unpleasant feel which does feel nice on tired eyes and you can tell that it's very hydrating but... I didn't find it particularly fast-absorbing and it does leave a tacky/pull feel on the skin. If there is a scent it's very neutral which I liked and it was definitely nice to use but at this price there really wasn't the level of impact I'd expect.
December 15, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
1.0
Nice but not that nice
Summary
Even Elemis Pro-Collagen Oxygenating Night Cream comes out at £190 per 100ml a full £68 cheaper than this one and that's too expensive for me. The product is quality and the cream is nice to use: a light but firm texture makes it easy to apply but I felt that it did leave a layer on the skin that didn't feel as comfortable as it should. The scent is light and slightly familiar (no idea why) but it does transfer and on my skin it smells slightly off somehow. No real impact beyond moisturising and certainly no justification for the price.
December 15, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Nice if you can find it
Summary
Sometimes I like rose scents and sometimes I don't (I think the problem is that there are so many rose scents that it becomes difficult to decide if it's "rose" or chemicals). This one I do like; it's light and fruity rather than heavy and cloying. The cream itself is light but firm enough to be easy to use. Absorption is good and doesn't leave a layer feeling on the skin. In all honesty there is little evidence of impact except that yes your skin does feel smooth. I think that this product was replaced by the Lavera Faces Wild Rose : Organic 24 Hour Moisturising Cream - 30ml - For dry skin as I couldn't find this one to update it.
December 15, 2013
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Absorption 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Can't say it did...
Summary
This is one that I can see being useful but not necessarily at the price and not all of the time. The texture was heavier than I'd expected but not too thick. It does linger on your skin and to me it felt too uncomfortable to use very often but I could see it as a booster treatment. In all honestly the feel is like Vaseline (but thinner) so maybe I was just put off by that. The scent is strangely nice but has a slight medicinal tone (astringent I think) that's off putting at first. Okay but not for me.
December 15, 2013
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Packaging 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
1.0
Nice but too pricy for me
Summary
As a very high sun factor user (seriously I can burn through clothing on an overcast day) I was very interested in trying this product and it has both good and bad points. The liquid is very light and easy to apply. It's very white and you would suspect that it would be overly obvious on your skin but actually it absorbs reasonably well and isn't uncomfortable on the skin. The scent is pleasantly nondescript but it does transfer which I found off putting. The protective layer is obvious in terms of a slight stiffness in the skin but not unpleasant. The overall impact was okay rather than good and certainly nothing to justify the price and it takes some serious removal from you hands (the reality of high sun factor I'm afraid). Nice and I would use it if given but I wouldn't buy it for myself.
December 15, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Absorption 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
1.0
Serums and Oils
Quality product, quality price
Summary
Don't get me wrong I like this a lot but the price is overwhelming (and I like Estée Lauder Advanced Night Repair Synchronized Recovery Complex which is nearly £150 per 100 ml). Forgetting about the price for a moment the first thing that strikes you is the scent which is strangely vague but still very nice. It transfers quite readily so it's best that you make sure you like it before using it. The liquid is has a slightly off white colour and is stiffer than I expected but it does easily spread. Absorption is okay but you can feel it on you skin and given that you're supposed to use it night and day across your face and neck I found it a little invasive. Overall I was indifferent to the results but there is no denying that this is a quality product (at a quality price).
December 15, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Mildness 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Better than I expected
Summary
I've had a somewhat mixed experience of the Molton Brown Skincare range and so I was apprehensive about this cleanser but I was pleasantly surprised with it. The fragrance is nondescript but quite nice and the cleanser itself more of an oily texture than I'd expected. It's too light and easy to waste for me but it does apply well and is easy to remove and it does leave you with a clean and fresh feel to you skin without drying it out. It hasn't convinced me enough to say it would be my first choice but it's much better than I expected.
December 15, 2013
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
2.0
Absorption 
 
1.0
Effectiveness 
 
1.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Scent 
 
1.0
Value for Money 
 
1.0
Day & Night Moisturisers
Very poor for the price
Summary
It's rare that I find very little that is at least okay in a product but this one gets pretty close. The texture is far to light, the colour terrible (as is the scent) and the absorption is poor. Given the price these factors make this a very disappointing product especially when compared to the DHC Deep Cleansing Oil (reviewed elsewhere) which gave me an expectation of the quality of the DHC range.
597 results - showing 1 - 50
« 1 2 3 4 5 ... »
Results per page:

Connect

My Account

Add

Best Of

Help

Latest

×

Sign up to keep in touch!

Be the first to hear about giveaways and exclusive discounts from BEAUTYONTRIAL and our partners.

Check out our Privacy Policy & Terms of use. You can unsubscribe from our email list at any time.

We have 876 guests and no members online