Reviews written by 4lex4ndr4

401 results - showing 1 - 50
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Ordering
December 09, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
great hand cream but hard to find
Summary
I am well into the hand & nail cream series of Clarins and this neroli scented one has also won my heart. The cream is dense enough to be nourishing and great for the cold season yet it is light enough not to be oily or greasy. It is very sparingly used with its effect long lasting and buildable, my hands even with their extra dry skin feel moisturized and pampered long after the cream is absorbed. The cream is of a handy volume to be a carry on item even during the flight, it easily fits into the hand as it is roughly palm sized and has a bit flattened shape for more convenient application. The scent of neroli, is, perhaps, the most prominent its feature - it is pleasant and lingering and not overpowering. The cream is a pricey item, however. And it is also not so easy to find in regular cosmetic stores (I've seen it in duty free stores so far), and often when it is available it goes as a package deal with two other hand creams infused with magnolia an jasmine scents (they are also pleasant, yet if one wishes to buy a single of the three it can be problematic).
December 09, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Well defined lashes 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
clampy and overpriced
Summary
While I am a huge admirer of Clinique High Impact non-waterproof mascara of Clinique, its Waterproof counterpart is far from my favourites. First of all, it has slightly different brush and much runnier texture, and to this end in the beginning the brush always comes up covered in the substance so much I can barely see its bristles. In this case, clumps are very difficult to avoid and well-defined lashes are more wishful thinking than a reality. Only after some time of use the mascara solidifies enough to be less troublesome in application. To its credit the mascara is not a flaky sort and extremely persistent in terms of being waterproof - even rubbing my face with a handful of water barely made 'a dent' in its coverage, moreover, any snow, sleet or rain is not an issue for this mascara. Yet this durability comes with a price - not every remover is capable of wiping the stuff off (and if the recommended Clinique remover has to be used, it is quite pricey). All things considered, I would rather not recommend this one due to its price and difficulties in application.
clinique_waterproof_mine2
clinique_waterproof_mine
December 08, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Perfect if not for the cost
Summary
True Colour Nail Experts Nail Enamel Remover has a nice minimalistic packaging. The semi-transparent bottle allows being aware of the remover left and a small hole in the packaging prevents from extra liquid spilling out. The remover smells like a normal remover (acetone-related chemical scent) but with a subtle scent of something almond like. It cleanses the varnish much better than other removers. I usually use 1 cotton pad with several drop of remover per hand. It wipes out more subtle varnish shades from the first try; varnishes of very vivid or acid colours or with glitter require second application of the remover. In addition, it does not cause my nails to become weak or my skin to become drier after the application. The only downside of this remover is its higher price in comparison with analogues, but considering the other advantages, I can safely recommend this item.
December 04, 2018 (Updated: December 05, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Absorption 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
shea-infused protection for the lips
Summary
L'Occitane Natural Shea Ultra Rich Lip Balm is a good item to be used in cold season due to its dense texture. The balm itself is a solid stick yet it melts and glides over the lips upon application. The scent is subtly sweet (almond-like) but it is not cloying or distinct so it can be used by both women and men (my husband uses it when his lips start to dry due to a frosty weather). The packaging is neat and durable - not once it had cracked or opened by its own volition. The balm can also be used, surprisingly, for softening the elbows. The price is a bit high for the offered volume, and the balm itself has to be re-applied once in two hours, but despite these two downsides the balm is a nice protective beauty treat for the winter.
December 02, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
light moisturiser for very dry skin
Summary
Apart from a strange herbal-like scent Dermedic Hydrain3 Hialuro Deeply Moisturising Cream Gel is a perfect option for those who have dry and dehydrated skin. It is a pale blue gel that absorbs within seconds moisturizing, hydrating and nourishing the skin without any greasy traces. It is quite cheap and a little of the gel goes a long way, prolonging its use. It is not organic, but I have not noticed any adverse effects from using it. Even without an SPF protection it is a good day moisturiser that can be used prior to applying any make up.
December 02, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Mildness 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
could have been a nice product if not for the price
Summary
Gratiae products are so pricey that I'm grateful they provide and sell samples of their goods. I've tried 3 samples, 1.5 ml each that lasted me for 6 applications. The Lifting Facial Mask has a rich and dense texture, and a very faint scent resembling that of a cucumber or an aloe vera, with a bit of sourness to it. Upon application the mask is felt as a cream mixed up with face oil - it looks just as well - white tiny clumps of the cream interspersed with patches of grease-covered skin. The skin may tingle just a little, but the feeling is more a refreshing one than an unpleasant one. The mask does not dry and when rinsed off it is like you are trying to wash up oil from your face - extremely difficult and greasy. There is a definite anti-age effect since already after the second application wrinkles that go from my nostrils to the edge of my mouth have visibly diminished as well as the one between my brows. The skin has obtained a healthier look and felt moisturized. However, taking into account primarily the price, as well as inconveniences with application, I would recommend finding cheaper analogues instead of this mask.
December 02, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
durable and long-lasting sharpener
Summary
I bought this sharpener years ago when I still predominantly used kohl pencils instead of pen liners for my eyes. It deals with both - normal and thick pencils due to the holes it has, and no matter which type of pencil it is (for eyes or for lips) the sharpener delivers great results - smooth surface of the shaved part plus no damage done to the pencil lead. The transparent design of the packaging and the lid that protects from shavings, neatly storing them inside for future disposal - is also a great advantage. The plastic looks flimsy but in reality it is quite durable, it has never cracked in my case. Definitely a great tool to buy for your make-up pencils!
December 02, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Value for money 
 
3.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
strongly reminds of an aftershave
Summary
Giorgio Armani Acqua di Gio Absolu EDP opens in a similar fashion as other Acquas di Gio, however, this sense is fleeting until the marine notes hit - the feeling is similar to being immersed in a bucket of an aftershave. These marine notes are so persistent that they last for a long time and become simply cloying. Woodsy notes are barely felt and the fragrance in general feels not multilayered but rather flat, unremarkable. Definitely not like an EDP priced so high should smell.
December 02, 2018 (Updated: December 02, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
wonderful shower item
Summary
Ecotools Ecopouf Delicate Bath Sponge is a wonderful tool for both cleansing and exfoliating dead skin cells. I have a light turquoise coloured variety of the sponge, but will probably buy a positive yellow one when I'm done using the one. The sponge allows for delicate washing and helps to work out a great lather out of a shower gel or wash. It is a fast-drying as well, and lightweight to take on any business or tourist trip. The only upsetting thing about the sponge is that it looses its neat shape after 1.5 months of use and doesn't look so appealing. Despite that, I can definitely recommend it as my favourite bath item.
December 02, 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Mildness 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
1.0
Scent 
 
1.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
revitalizing, but messy and difficult to deal with
Summary
I've tried two 5g samples of Origins RitualiTea Matcha Madness Face Mask, and the first thing that is really good about the mask is that its dried form that allows to keep the substance untarnished even if the pack is open. However, the least great thing about this mask is its matcha scent which brinks on horrible. The mask has to be previously mixed with water (2 teaspoons of each) and only then put onto face (avoiding the eyes are, there it may sting) in an even layer. After the mixing is done the mask resembles a light-green runny paste with grainy particles (for scrubbing). It is easy to apply either by hands (as I do) or using a make up spatula. The mask dries very fast so it is better to act quickly for it to be evenly spread. The scent it emanates while in use is very far from pleasant and difficult to bear. Rinsing off the mask is also the ordeal - it is not washed away completely thus leaving a greenish tint to the skin. The latter looks better in terms of both complexion and texture, and the effect lasts for several days, but the downsides of the mask have outbalanced its good sides for me at the end.
December 01, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
visually whitening but more a decorative product
Summary
Tonymoly Panda Dream White Magic Cream entices with a cute packaging, however it is strange in its effects. It is light-textured, but after the application the skin feels like it has been coated, and it has definite whitening particles that work like a powder or better say flour. Following the application those particles are spread unevenly and the cream itself works not to lighten dark under eye circles or pigmented patches, it is more a masking item, like a BB cream or a liquid extra-light foundation. It's hard to say about moisturizing properties, although some suppleness of the skin is definitely there. The producer has the hand cream branded with the same jar and it is difficult not to mix the too. The jar, perhaps, it the best what this cream can offer, it is cute and even can be used as a toy for the kids...
December 01, 2018 (Updated: December 01, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
my styling friend for the last 5 years
Summary
I discovered Syoss Color Protect Mousse Extra Strong Hold around 5 years ago and it has been my no. 1 styling mousse ever since. The mousse is extra light, fast-absorbing and nicely scented. One puff is enough to cover several hefty locks of hair. I have a wavy and in places unruly hair and this product helps me both: to keep it in shape and in some cases - to straighten my over-curly bangs. On the other hand, if i want moderately curly hair I braid it before going to sleep and apply a puff of mousse to each braid. Such overnight procedure ensures that I have small to medium curls in neat locks in the morning. The effect of the mousse keeps the curls up to three days without them looking glued together or greasy. In addition, this mousse helps to accentuate the dyed hair colour giving it extra shine and gloss.
November 30, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
great relaxing treatment
Summary
Kneipp Lavender Balancing Mineral Bath Salt Crystals work miracles not only on my body but on my soul, so to say. They smell of lavender (not a chemical scent, but a more natural one), and help to ease up tension. Around 15 minutes in a hot bath with a handful of the crystals and a healthy blissful sleep is guaranteed. I also use these crystals for improving the condition of my nails on hands and feet - making a small 'baths' in a tub. For best results I recommend taking such baths once in 2 - 3 weeks.
November 30, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
long lasting hand wash
Summary
Baylis & Harding Sweet Mandarin & Grapefruit Hand Wash is very hard to miss on the sink due to its elegant design. Upon the closer inspection the bottle is of a simple plastic, but still it is a nice addition to a bathroom or a kitchen. The wash is basically a transparent viscous gel with an extremely pale yellow (or rather lemon) colour. It has a pleasant sourly sweet scent of a mandarin. The wash efficient, it lathers well and just one press of the plunger is more than enough to wash your hands thoroughly. It is decent enough to wash the entire body in dire need (I had tried several times and was satisfied with the results). The wash is very cheap and comes in bottles of different sizes - I personally recommend the 500ml bottle which lasts more than 7-7.5 months. The ingredients are not as natural as one would wish them to be, but in all other respects it is a great cleanser and even greater bargain!
November 28, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Absorption 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
an OK cream, but do not expect miracles
Summary
La Roche-Posay Cicaplast Hands Barrier Repairing Cream is a decent hand cream that acts more like a barrier cream than a treatment one. It has a gel-like or glue like texture and no fragrance at all. The absorption could have been faster, but to the cream's credit it does not leave any stickiness or oiliness after it is fully absorbed (which is about 5 to 10 minutes). It is a great treatment in cold weather - the hands are well protected against the harsh cold wind/air and consequent dryness. The cream works as long as it is in use i.e. as soon as you stop the skin returns to its previous condition in a day or two. Still, the cream has its benefits (including those listed above) as well as a convenient packaging; and it indeed delivers its barrier effect, so I can recommend the product.
November 28, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
4.0
Moisturising 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
yummy lipgloss
Summary
Kiko Milano Smart Fusion Lipgloss have enamoured me with its cute packaging, cheap price and vivid colours. In action, this gloss (even in my case of deep strawberry coloured shade 06) does not look phony or artificial on the lips, it gives just the right amount of plumpness, gloss and moisture to make the lips look natural. It is a perfect thing both as a stand alone product or going in tandem with a lipstick of a similar shade. The end of the gloss tube is tapered allowing for easy application while the small opening in the tube makes sure that no extra amount of gloss will be squeezed out. The gloss smells of vanilla (confectionery style), a bit too much for me when applied but the scent is not lingering. The gloss is sticky and if generously applied may be felt heavily on the lips. In general, it is a 'solid B' beauty item that I can recommend.
November 27, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Value for money 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Eaux de Parfum
pure luxury and barely any vanilla
Summary
Despite that Mancera Coco Vanille EDP has in its title 'Vanilla' and 'Coco' which I mostly tolerate in other beauty items, this scent has impressed me with its sophisticated pyramid. It is indeed sweet, I would say even creamy like an ice cream, with an undertone of peach and jasmine. It is not cloying or generic, but has a character to it that speaks of luxury, confidence, independence. One spray of the perfume at the pulse point - and there is no need to worry of its re-application for a very long time. It may be a bit heavy to be worn to the office, I would say that its proper place is an evening gala, or a party, or a date. The price is, unfortunately, not so tempting, but having used my share of 2ml sample I am seriously considering buying a full sized bottle (if not 120ml, than at least 90ml).
November 27, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Packaging 
 
4.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Moisturising 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
true matte!
Summary
Ruby Rose Liquid Lipstick Matte came to my hand as a bonus from another beauty item purchase and surprisingly it has proven its efficiency. The lipstick is more a lip-gloss applied via convenient brush applicator. The substance strongly smells of a bubble gum or a similar candy, however, the scent does not linger after the application. The lipstick dries within seconds providing for a long-lasting and impeccable matte coverage. It does not accentuates imperfections covering the lips in a one uniform layer, neither it transfers. The lipstick has many shades, and its colour tends to shift into a darker shade upon drying - in this way something akin to a caramel shade (225) which I received in reality became something closer to a rich cocoa. Thus try before you buy wisdom is advised in selecting the proper shade here. Still, I can recommend this item for its perfect longevity and overall looks it delivers.
20181127_231131
November 27, 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Mildness 
 
2.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
didn't work for me
Summary
After finishing another bottle of my favourite oil-infused micellar water or the same brand I decided to give a try with Garnier Fresh Essentials Eye Make-up Remover, that had been in market for years. Well, this creation of Garnier has proven to be a disappointment for me: apart from big volume, cheap price and decent scent, it does little to remove even non-waterproof make up. I had to scrub really hard not to be left with smudges of mascara. In addition, the substance stung my eyes, that made the whole procedure an ordeal. I frankly tried this product several times with different mascaras (neither of them a waterproof one) and the result was the same - very poor cleaning. In the end I gave up and bought again my tried and trusted remover. No way I can recommend this item Garnier Fresh Eye Make-up Remover!
November 25, 2018 (Updated: November 25, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Body Moisturisers
goodbye, dry patches
Summary
I had several hefty Mixa Restoring Body Lotion samples (7ml) to test and was greatly pleased with the results. The lotion is more a cream, since it has dense texture and isn't runny even a bit. It is also fast-absorbing and non-greasy, it leaves no film or stains after the application. It has a sharp perfumed scent which at first seems rather nice, but after it lingers for 3 to 4 hours (even after washing) on the treated places, it becomes cloying. That's perhaps the only downside that I can name with the lotion. On the other hand, I can't praise its efficiency and outcome - in about several days of constant application my elbows and heels look as though they've never been dry before - i.e. soft, moisturized, and healthy, without any dry patches. The effect of such hydration also holds for some time even if the application has been discontinued. A great product that I can safely recommend!
November 24, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Value for money 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
iris and rosy foundant for me
Summary
This year's invention of Narciso Rodriguez is a manifest of sensuality and elegance for me. Upon application the Rouge EDP engulfs everything in powdery and creamy rose that in a half of an hour starts giving way to iris, musk and cedar notes. It may be overpowering at first but in the end it is mild and gentle. It lasts for at least 9 hours and only one spray per a pulse point will do to last it that far. It is an evening fragrance for me - a treat for dates, romantic dinners or special occasions, and it is of a 'warming' fragrance variety - i.e. best suited for the cold weather. It is not a totally unique one, but not a generic either - a good way to stand out in a crowd. I can recommend this one.
November 24, 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Packaging 
 
2.0
Long lasting 
 
2.0
Moisturising 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
the price says its all
Summary
My acquaintance with Wet and Wild MegaLast Lip Color has begun with an instant smudging of the lipstick onto its transparent cap - the thing is that up to 4 mm of the lipstick is not hidden inside its 'shell' (I still wonder how I narrowly escaped the situation of simply breaking the outstanding tip with the packaging). I wanted to try a different colour from what I usually wear and went for 24 Carrot Gold. The shade had obviously disagreed with my skin tone and complexion. The lipstick itself is heavy-textured and dense, it is not so easily spread and after the application looks not like a uniform layer, but rather like a 'moon landscape' - emphasizing every imperfection there is on the lips... It is also felt like a dense film which is quite unpleasant. The lipstick is very easily transferred, which is unusual for matte lipsticks. It has barely any scent but somehow reminds me of the lipsticks of the old times (like 90es). In brief, apart from its price the lipstick has been a disappointment for me. I do not recommend it.
20181125_000345
November 23, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Mildness 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
gentle but not for waterproof make up
Summary
Clarins Gentle Eye Make-Up Remover Lotion is a nice lotion in terms of moisturizing, absence of adverse effects, and its nice smell and feel to the skin. In particular I enjoyed the product fragrance i.e. the scent of cornflowers mixed with a rose - it made me think of summer. The lotion also had a nourishing However, for me it is a rather mediocre cleanser if we talk about make-up and especially a waterproof one. Even the same brand products (like eye pencil) it removed on the second and sometimes even a third try. I was tired to rub my eyes too hard and just get rid of the item...

a lotion but not much of a make-up cleanser

November 23, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
3.0
Moisturising 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
nice subtle lip gloss
Summary
Clarins Eclat Minute Instant Light Natural Lip Perfector is a nice and lip-plumping beauty item. I've tried 04 Petal Shimmer (a bit too rosy for me) and 06 Rosewood Shimmer and the last one is a definite favourite - it is a perfect nude, with a light shade of cocoa and beige to it! This lip gloss definitely makes the lips look fuller and plumper, while it is not greasy or sticky. It has just a tiny bit of colour to it (do not mind the intense colour of the packaging - the gloss itself is much more subtle), yet one can build up a colour by putting on a second layer. The gloss does not leak even in hot weather and keeps the lips moderately moisturized. It has a fluffy applicator which is nice to start with but in the end it is not very hygienic. Another downside of the gloss is its longevity - it has to be re-applied every 2 hours to be visible. Nevertheless, I can recommend it, I've enjoyed my experience with the product, and this one is easy to get as a package deal with a good discount buying other Clarins products.
November 22, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Value for money 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
2.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
dry but cloying
Summary
This dry stick deo efficiently addresses the issue of wet armpits and can be used on the hottest summer day. It has a soft texture and doesn't cause any irritation even if applied after shaving or depilation. Two swipes on one armpit is more then enough to live through the day nice and clean. However, perhaps it is me, but the majority of Dove products (deos mostly) have cloying and overly sweet scents. I usually mask them with perfume. These types of antiperspirants also leave yellow stains on clothes with time (despite any promises of the producer to the contrary). Dove Invisible Dry Stick Antiperspirant Deodorant isn't perfect, but it is cheap and efficient, thus I can recommend it despite its two weakest points.
November 22, 2018 (Updated: November 22, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Value for money 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
one of the best after-shave balms
Summary
My husband has been re-purchasing Nivea For Men Sensitive Post Shave Balm for years, the latter has already changed its design, but the former did not changed his preference :) The balm is extra mild, it is a runny pale green milkish substance, that upon application prolongs the feel of freshness (similar to any products that have menthol to them), it is absorbed in 1 to 2 minutes, leaving no tale tell signs of ever being present. It is a good moisturizer as well as prevents any breakouts even on an oily skin. A 100ml glass bottle lasts for 4 to 5 months and is rather cheap. The item still can be found in any cosmetics shop. I'd say it is a tried and trusted product and I definitely recommend it!
November 22, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
will do
Summary
Nivea Shower Silk Mousse (Rhubarb Raspberry scent) is a nice multitasker in the bathroom. For me it is good for washing both hands and the body, as well as even for shaving the legs. The mousse is quite rich and dense, a puff of it is more than enough to be applied to a loofah to produce mounts and mounds of foam. The product does not dry the skin, yet I also can't call it a moisturizer - just another mass market wash. The scent may be cloying - it is not exactly raspberry, but more a bubble gum or a candy in nature and a bit too sweet for my liking. The price and the untended use of this product pretty much sum it up - I can recommend it.
November 21, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
good for dry skin
Summary
Clinique Clarifying Lotion 1 efficiently deals with flaky skin and dead cells, and it is especially good for the dry skin as mine. It is best used in one swipe - both from economical point of view and from the anti-dry effect point of view (extra rubbing in would do more harm than good and the alcohol content may cause dryness of the skin). The lotion is of pale green colour and feels like water, it is a good refresher and revitalizer. It has barely any scent, perhaps just a whiff of something alcohol-related. It also helps to address minor breakouts in T-zone. Using it mornings and evenings has been working out nice for me in that regard.
mycliniquelotion
November 20, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Mildness 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
50/50
Summary
Clinique Liquid Facial Soap is best suited for combination or oily skin, since it has a mattifying effect and dries skin a bit. I wasn't very lucky with this purchase due to my dry skin, however, my husband found it totally great (he has an oily and problematic skin and the soap served him well by diminishing breakouts). The soap is a gel, it does not produce a lot of foam, but it cleanses the face well. The handy dispenser delivers just the right amount of the product. I do not know about odour-free statement of the producer, but this item clearly has a scent, reminiscent of the pharmaceuticals for me. It is neither good, nor bad, just a bit strange. The soap doesn't do much to a waterproof make-up as well. Nevertheless, taking into account the effects that I've witnessed on the oily skin, I can recommend it just for those who have that type of skin.

good for oily / combination skin

mycliniquesoap
November 20, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Mildness 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
very gentle exfoliator
Summary
Clinique 7 Day Scrub Cream Rinse Off Formula is a paste with small particles that is very gentle to the skin, so gentle that it is safe to use it on a daily basis. The scrub is very economical and nicely exfoliates dead cells, it does need the application of the cream or moisturizer afterwards since the skin feels hydrated enough. However, if you suffer from black dots in T-zone the scrub will be of little use. I have a number of those, and only daily application of the scrub helped a bit, but not much. The scrub is also sharply scented, but the scent goes away quickly. In a nutshell, it is a nice scrub although a bit overpriced.
cliniquescrub
cliniquescrub1
November 20, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Packaging 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
super-quick moisturiser
Summary
Last week I bought Holika Holika Aloe 99% Soothing Gel tempted by the approaching Black Friday sales and a promise of deep hydration (just the thing I need at winter when the air is dry). The gel appears to be thick but upon application is soon feels watery, and to my amazement, is absorbed by the skin within milliseconds - a true record time for any moisturizer I've tried. The effect is instantaneous - the skin feels velvety to the touch and supple. However, once I noticed a slight tingling on my cheeks before the gel absorbed, I guess it was due to the fact that the wind was extra harsh that day and they got too weather beaten, and not because the gel had some adverse effect. The packaging looks cute from afar, but at the close examination the plastic is very cheap. The bottle's cap is tightly screwed, so no danger of leakage, and due to a rather small size of 55ml the product can be a carry-on item. In general, I am very satisfied with this beauty product and can recommend it!
myholika
November 20, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
creamy and nourishing
Summary
Alfaparf Precious Nature Almond & Pistachio Mask is a wonderful hair care treatment at a great volume-price ratio. I've bough a travel size of the mask which is embodied in a plastic tube similar to a toothpaste. The substance is rich and creamy and deliciously smells like almonds. It is very sparingly used, after 5 applications I've barely made a dent in the product volume. It is also effective - I have noticed improvement in the shine and glossiness of my hair. The only thing is that I recommend using the mask every other time to avoid the increase of greasiness of the hair, which masks usually tend to do if used too often.
20181118_202010 (1)
November 18, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Packaging 
 
5.0
Cleansing power 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
nice almond-infused shampoo
Summary
I've been enticed into buying a travel version (60ml) of Alfaparf Precious Nature Almond & Pistachio Shampoo due to its cheap price and amazing scent of almonds. The shampoo is available in 3 sizes and the packaging differs from one to another (in design as well), mine has a screw-in cap, while two others have varieties of cap that has to be pushed up in order to be opened. The texture of the shampoo is light and a bit runny, but it never spills extra due to the small opening in the packaging. The best thing is, of course, the scent. Too bad it doesn't linger for more than a day. The shampoo cleanses well but do not expect tons of lather, it is difficult to work out much foam out of it. I would also recommend using a conditioner after the shampoo to achieve not only glossy but also straighter hair. Mine tends to be extra wavy after this shampoo if I do not use a conditioner. The shampoo indeed make the coloured hair look healthier (as it is promised to do) and the colour doesn't wash away so quickly. In a nutshell, it is a good shampoo and I can recommend it.
Alfaparf Precious Nature Almond & Pistachio Shampoo
November 17, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
lightweight serum
Summary
I've bought this serum for my mom as a gift. It is 40+ anti-age treatment. She has been applying serum for several weeks already and positive action of the serum is already visible. The face skin looks and feels saturated, moisturized, there is no dryness, tightness, peeling, irritation and redness. Small wrinkles are gone, the overall tone is more even. The effect is definitely buildable. The skin stays hydrated even after some time the serum is not used, and even after the washing. The glass matte bottle is heavy enough but glass beats plastic any time. The bottle has a very convenient pump which ensures the smallest amount of the serum is squeezed. The serum is not cheap, but I am satisfied with the purchase, it was a good present to treat a beloved person with.
mygigi
November 17, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Moisturising 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
affordable and long-lasting
Summary
Jovial Luxe is a cheap and efficient lip liner that holds its ground for solid 6 hurs. It has a creamy texture and is perfect for contouring. I have 006 Nude and sometimes use its as a base for a lipstick, other, more vivid shades may pass for matte lipstick if used on the whole surface of the lips. The longevity of the liner is really striking - it sits perfectly well for 6 hours. Last but not least, it is cheap as nails - definitely a good bargain! It is also expected to be an eye pencil, and in this part it fails, because it is too bog to make a thin line, so I prefer it as a lip liner only.
myjovial
November 17, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Value for money 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
pleasant and aquatic
Summary
Ralph Lauren Polo Blue Eau de Toilette is rather nice EDT with good longevity and fresh aquatic scent. It's my dad's favourite back from the times it was first placed on the market in 90ies. it is elegant and good for every day and sill easy to find in stores, however, there are a lot of copies and fakes, so one must be mindful when purchasing.
November 17, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Packaging 
 
4.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
prolongs the life of your shadows
Summary
ARTDECO Eyeshadow Base has quite a miniature size, yet it very economical in use - it took me about two years to finish it up, since just a tiny bit of the base is needed to do its job. To get the content, however, you have to put inside either with your finger, or a handle of a makeup brush, which is both not very hygienic way. The texture of the base is very soft, creamy, has small shimmer particles, which does not affect much the subsequent application of an eye shadow. Once the base gets on the fingers it slightly melts and perfectly distributed over the eyelid. In addition to its longevity the base evens out skin tone, hides veins in the eyelid. It also contributes to better color rendering of shadows, increases shadow persistence. With it, you can forget worrying about fading shades at least for 12 hours. Definitely recommend!
November 17, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Value for money 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
decent Anti-Perspirant
Summary
Gillette Arctic Ice 24H Anti-Perspirant was a frequent guest on my husband's shelf in the bathroom 5 or 6 years ago. It had a fresh, almost chilling scent, lasted for hours and kept the sweat at bay. It was a perfect one for a morning run, and was very sparingly used. It had some minor problems like with time it tended to leave stains on the clothes in the underarms. However, it has long been discontinued, and now my husband uses a pretty close analogue of Gillette Clear Gel Arctic Ice Anti-Perspirant in a gel form.

discontinued

November 17, 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Value for money 
 
2.0
Packaging 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
2.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
cloying and artifical
Summary
It is one in a million such cloying and nauseating EDT. My husband tried it and t was leather multiplied by amber and other spicy heavy notes. It was even reminiscent of fragrances like Hugo Boss, popular back in the 90ies and very heavy and mature. It is a very long lasting one, but taking into account its overpowering scent this feature is rather a downside that a plus. The design is supposed to be elegant but it is too garish.
November 17, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Value for money 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
not so Terrible after all
Summary
Jean Paul Gaultier Le Male Terrible EDT opens up with a burst of grapefruit and a slight pepper undertone (not cloying), after a few hours it slides into more elegant notes of lavender and vanilla. It is good to wear both for parties and for office. Its design is supposed to look cool and original, but for me it looks creepy (although my hubby said it is OK and interesting). This EDT is still widely popular although it appeared back in 2010, and is easily found in the stores or at the duty free shops. The greatest downside of the fragrance is that is is very fleeting - has to be re-applied at least twice to last the whole day.
November 17, 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Packaging 
 
3.0
Long lasting 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
messy & runny
Summary
I have not in truth felt the protecting features of Argan oil and Vitamin E of Maybelline Affinitone Perfecting & Protecting Foundation, but the rest of its 'perfecting' arsenal has been on display. The foundation has a light texture, but it is so runny that it is a struggle to make it into desired tone. Once spread it dries quickly, too fast to make a good blending with other parts of the face, in the end it may turned out to be patchy. The glossy lid of the tube and its underside soon become engulfed in foundation creating a real mess... The foundation lasts for just few hours, it gets into wrinkles and creases and clogs them. i am very disappointed with a purchase - a waste of money. Do not recommend.
November 17, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
3.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
natural looking brows
Summary
Rimmel Brow This Way Eyebrow Sculpting Kit is a cool beauty tool, especially now when perfect brows have gained the spotlight. The box is very light, its plastic top is a bit flimsy and will not stay shut, thus I risked loosing the tools inside several times (definitely not a carry-on item). The contents are wax and a shadow - both highly pigmented and odorless. There are two brushes, so it is easy to sculp your brows up to your liking. There are not easily washed off (which is a good thing in a rainy or snowy weather - your brows will not melt), I usually tend to them with a special cleanser. The range of shades is pretty limited - from pale brown to dark brown, so for very intense black brows as well as for reddish pale one it will be difficult to use in order not to create a cartoonish mismatching effect. In general, 003 Dark Brown worked out for me as wearer of dark brown (almost black) brows, I can recommend it.
November 17, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Value for money 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
2.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
re-designed like a pistol handle
Summary
Lynx Dark Temptation Shower Gel is a good cleanser with lots of foam form a few drops, however, it has too much chocolate and red pepper to it, my husband prefers much fresher scents (which can be found in other Lynx shower gel). The old design of the bottle was better and more convenient, new one reminds me too much of a handle of a gun...and seems a bit too brutal. Although in general Lynx' gels are good in all their washing properties, this specific one is scented in a way that is too sweet and overly spicy.
November 17, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Value for money 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
best for babies and children
Summary
I've bought Baby Dove Sensitive Moisture Head to Toe Wash upon the recommendation of my close friend who has two little kids and adores this wash. It is extremely gentle and deeply moisturizing, barely has any scent and produces tons of lather. The composition of the wash is not organic, yet it causes no tightness upon the skin, nor any irritation. The pump dispenser is very convenient to squeeze and it generates exactly the right amount of substance. It is safe for use to all the family.
November 17, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Value for money 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
great for daily use
Summary
Lynx' deodorants are re-branded in my country in terms of their name, but all the rest properties are left in tact. Africa 24hr Deodorant Bodyspray is an intensive spicy-infused masculine deo, great for both any sports and daily use. It keeps the sweat at bay and lasts throughout whole day without re-application. It is also economical in use unlike other famous brands and has an ergonomic design. It is easy to fin? in cosmetics and other stores, so there is no fear of ever running out of it. My husband uses this one daily. The only thing about this deo is with time the scent may become cloying. In this case I advise switching to other scents from the same brand (luckily there is a range to choose from).
November 17, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
great polish but the shade may be too bright
Summary
Wet n Wild 1 Step Wonder Gel is a great cheap nail varnish. I've bought it for the promise of being used as a stand-alone item (no base required) and being as good as a gel polish. It indeed delivers - I've barely finished applying it to the pinky finger while it have already dried on all the rest fingers on my hand. The brush is wide and handy in application. It last long and manifests first signs of chipping on the 4th day the earliest. It will do for a date or a party, not for work since the shade is too vivid and a bit acidic. I plan on trying other, more subtle shades, in the meantime I can recommend it.
mywetandwild
November 17, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
cute make-up pouch
Summary
I've bought this pouch at duty free along with Cath Kidston Grove Bunch Foldaway Overnight Bag of the same design, and it has been my travel companion ever since. The pouch is nicely personalized in addition to a magnificent floral vintage design. It is a high-quality item - no stitch is amiss, and the inner lining is difficult to mar. It has a capacity I need to put all my make-up and related items. It is not cheap (I paid approx £10, the manufacturer has it sold for £12) but it worth every pound paid for it.
November 17, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Packaging 
 
4.0
Cleansing power 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
2.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
grass on your head
Summary
Collistar Perfect Hair Restoring Shampoo has both good sides and not so good ones. I've bought it expecting the same stunning results and my mom had from another line of this Collistar brand, but this revitalizing shampoo has lived up not to all expectations. It is indeed fine and thorough cleanser, makes the fine hair fluffy (and in order to avoid extra fluffiness it should be followed by a conditioner), it provides volume and glossy shine to the hair damaged by dyeing or colouring. On the other hand its grassy (or, better say, bamboo) scent is off-putting for me. It lingers on the hair which makes the situation worse. Actually this fact and the price have made me discontinue using it and never purchase again.

I've discontinued using it mostly due to the scent

mycollistarrestoring
November 17, 2018 (Updated: November 17, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Packaging 
 
4.0
Cleansing power 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
lessens the hair loss
Summary
I acquired Collistar for my mom in order to save her poor head from the 'hairfall', generated by one professional shampoo that seemingly damaged her hair. It has an unassuming packaging, but it is efficient in use. The shampoo's scent is really very pleasant, the consistency is not very thick, and the lather is really not very strong, so it may seem un-economical at first. It indeed diminishes the quantity of lost hair - it is visible and proven by the reduced quantity of hair on the hairbrush. I'd also recommend follow this shampoo with conditioner, and in the cases of severe hair-loss problem - with special vitamins of the same brand.

Great for fair, long and damaged hair

mycollistarhairloss
November 17, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Value for money 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
soft and universal
Summary
Collistar Multi-Active 24 Hour Deodorant Cream With Rice Milk is perfect for those who have tender skin and at the same time is opposed to strong scents. I've been using this deo cream a while and it has never given me any rash or irritation. Once dry and soaked into the skin it doesn't give any unpleasant feelings and at the same time acts as a great anti-perspirant. Its scent does not interfere with that of a perfume, which is also great. It doesn't stain clothes and keeps sweat at bay from dawn till dusk. I wish it could be cheaper, in all other respect it is a wonderful deo cream.
mycollistardeocream
401 results - showing 1 - 50
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Results per page:

Connect

My Account

Add

Best Of

Help

Latest

×

Sign up to keep in touch!

Be the first to hear about giveaways and exclusive discounts from BEAUTYONTRIAL and our partners.

Check out our Privacy Policy & Terms of use. You can unsubscribe from our email list at any time.

We have 595 guests and one member online