Reviews written by 4lex4ndr4

434 results - showing 1 - 50
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Ordering
April 10, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
not bad but...
Summary
Emité Make Up Lash Curler has been my first experience in lash curving routine. It is rather easy to use once you get the hang of the tool. It is durable, nicely designed (easy to hold and use without pinching the lids), has removable pads as a bonus. It gives a nice curl which holds all day long. If the curler is heated a bit it acts even more efficiently like a lash 'iron'. However, I have middle length and moderately curved lashes, and after using the lash curler for some time I can say that I would recommend this tool for people who have straight lashes or barely curled lashes, because in my case I could've gone without the tool.

for straight and barely curved lashes

April 06, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
4.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Moisturising 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
glossy and moisturising
Summary
L'Oréal Paris Color Riche Shine Lipstick is a nice mass market beauty item. It glides easily and covers the lips surface evenly without gathering in creases or leaking. It has a slight gloss/shimmer and feels pretty moisturizing. The lipstick holds in place for about 3.5 hours, has a moderate transfer, and fades gradually and evenly. I have a baby pink shade (#112) and it looks nicely upon the lips, adding some vulnerability to the image. The only drawback is that if you order such lipstick online the shade will most probably not match the actual result on the lips.
20190403_145511
April 06, 2019 (Updated: April 06, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Well defined lashes 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
reliable mascara
Summary
Doucce Punk Volumizer Mascara is a good reliable mascara good for daily use. It has a pretty fluffy applicator (a bit too large, but with time one get used to it) and defines lashes well. It does not generate clumps and does not glue lashes together. It will not give you a false lashes look - not much volume here, but it will definitely add length. I have a mini version from a beauty box and it is convenient as a carry on item as well. Can definitely recommend the item!
Doucce Punk Volumizer Mascara
March 24, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Value for money 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
floral feminine perfume
Summary
Viktor & Rolf Flowerbomb Bloom EDT lives up to its 'flowerbomb' name - the scent is indeed very floral, although not stuffy, powdery or overpowering. Its citrus notes go well with freesia and rose ones, adding some space and air to flowery bouquet. The EDT charms upon its first spray. It lasts for 3 to 4 hours, which is very good for an EDT, and can be used on a daily basis. The EDP emanates elegance, confidence and femininity, and to my opinion will be best suited for ladies 27+, rather than teens.
March 24, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
pumping up some volume
Summary
I have middle length hair (falling to my shoulder blades), it is fine and often is flattened by the length, so Philip Kingsley Maximizer has been a welcomed beauty treat. I have a travel version of 60ml, it is extra light and very easy in terms of application. The scent is a bit cloying but it does not linger. I've tried the maximizer both on hair that had just been dried after the shampoo and 'two-day old' hair - in both cases the maximizer indeed provided the needed volume (loss so in the latter case, but still). I wouldn't say that it gives an extreme volume, but it is enough to make the hair look fluffy and not plastered to the scalp. The spray is not sticky and doesn't make the hair become greasier faster. It withstands some nasty weather (like extra humidity in the air), but will not hold if there is a moderate rain or snow. In general, I am satisfied with experience and can recommend the item.
PK_maximizer
March 24, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Moisturising 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
a pencil and a lipstick
Summary
I have Lord & Berry 20100 Maximatte Crayon Lipstick in elegant shade of intimacy #3405 - perfect for daily wear, romantic dates and even evening cocktails. The pencil glides over the lip as a piece of hardened butter and is very easy to apply and to make a nice contour. The pencil may also be used as a lipstick - it will create a neat matte cover and dramatic look. Although in the latter case the lips may feel a bit dry and I would recommend that beauty 'life hack' only in emergencies. The pencil almost does not transfer (it may leave a barely perceptible stain on the cup, but in comparison with regular lipsticks, it is barely visible) and stays put up to 4-5 hours. A small size of the pencil makes it a perfect companion in my purse. It has a neat transparent cap that does not come loose accidentally. The pencil is pricey though, but I believe, it such price is well-deserved.
20190317_151417
March 17, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
in love with this face form palette
Summary
I have Sleek Face Form Contouring & Blush Palette in Light 373 shade and extremely satisfied with it. The design of the packaging is well-tailored and ergonomic, it seals the contents shut and keeps them from breaking or spilling out. The highlighter, bronzer and blush all have natural colours and just enough shimmer to produce a noble glow of the skin. I apply them using a brush, but can easily envisage the situation when a finger will do as well (the packaging doesn't have a built in applicator). The powders do not dust, neither they do produce any clumps or uneven patches. The powders are not very saturated (definitely not for professional use) thus it might take time to build in colour, but for everyday make up it is a perfect tool. I really like the set and already carry it with me at all times.
20190311_162925
March 17, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Mildness 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
2.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Exfoliators and Peelings
deep cleansing but not hydrating and overpriced
Summary
Sea Mud Deep Cleansing Bar by Erno Laszlo is a good solution for those who suffers from excessive face oil and has combination skin with enlarged pores. I've been using the soap every other day for 12 days and have already observed its action. The soap doesn't have a lot of lather, but it is enough to cover the face. It has a bit coarse texture but this coarseness isn't felt while applying to the skin. The scent of the soap is a bit unpleasant - smth muddy or herbal, but it is not lingering. Following the application the pores become cleaner, the black dots in the T-zone have greatly diminished. The skin as a whole also feels very clean. There is a small tightness and dryness after the application (I guess it has to do with the fact that I have normal to dry skin, not exactly the intended type for this soap), but such feeling passes after using moisturiser or cream. However, the soap's price is too high to my opinion, and despite it delivers good results, I believe there are cheaper similar products to use with the same or even better effect (especially for those who have dry skin and need exfoliation).

will do oily and combination skin, other skin types owners may need a follow up moisturiser but can be asily changed with more budget exfoliators and cleansers

Erno Laszlo Sea Mud Deep Cleansing Bar
March 10, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
4.0
Well defined lashes 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
delivers a lot, but be careful with flaking
Summary
Maybelline Snapscara Mascara is an interesting wax-free novelty. I have decided to give it a try and left pretty satisfied with results. The mascara is neatly designed with a well-advised applicator (spoolie) - the latter deals with even the shortest eyelashes while curling them up the same time. The substance of the mascara is not runny like a normal one should be, but a more plastic one, yet it nicely spreads over the whole lengths of the lashes - it defines, it elongates, it gives texture. The snapscara is also easily removed even with regular water (no going out into rainy or snowy weather though...). The only disadvantage is that once the lashes come in contact with a fringe or bangles or any other item, the mascara may flake (it does not smudge, and is easily flaked off as a fine powder). I guess it has smth to do with its wax-free texture. In any case, I can recommend this product.
Maybelline Snapscara Mascara Very Black
March 10, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Cleansing power 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
perfect for 'dirty hair' emergencies
Summary
Batiste Dry Shampoo Original isn't called no.1 dry shampoo for nothing - it does its job perfectly. Once sprayed it seems to a be watery substance which in moments solidifies as a white residue (looks like hair roots have been covered with a fine starch). Normally, I wait for about two-three minutes letting the starchy powder to soak up hair grease and after that rub it into the roots with my fingers, combing the rest out with a brush. The powder spreads on the hair evenly, its scent (reminiscent of cotton and smth like generic deodorant) does not linger. If this white powder is combed out well, it does not remain in the hair, does not give it an untidy look. This dry shampoo will not give a 100% clean hair look, more like 60 to 70%, but will greatly do in situation when there is absolutely no time to wash and dry the hair. I have both 200ml and travel size miniature of 50 ml. They are not sparingly used though - 200 ml is easily used up upon my middle length hair in 10 to 12 times, travel version lasts up to 4 (5 if I am extra careful) times. In general, I can recommend this item. It is a great beauty solution.
Batiste Dry Shampoo Clean & Classic Original
Batiste Dry Shampoo Clean & Classic Original
February 24, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
accopmanying care
Summary
Biotherm Blue Therapy Red Algae Uplift Cure has a lightweight, almost watery texture which is very quickly absorbed. It faintly smells of the typical marine-related Biotherm products. The packaging is equipped with a built-in dispenser. The trick is to unscrew the cap, turn the bottle upside down and gently press on the rubber bottom. The side of the packaging has a scale of division by days (28 days in total, 6 drops per day). However, even with skin that is prone to dry, the serum had been much sparingly used by me. After the application there is a slightly perceptible stickiness on the skin, but this sensation passes away within a few seconds. The serum doesn't have a shimmer and can be used prior to the make up routine. The results of the serum are moderate. On the one hand it gives the healthy natural glow to the skin, evens the tone, moisturizes. On the other hand, even using it for a prescribed month I have not witnessed much change in terms of firmness to the skin and comabting minor wrinkles. To this end, I can recommend the item as an accompanying care but not as an anti-age solution.
February 17, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Packaging 
 
4.0
Long lasting 
 
4.0
Well defined lashes 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
never fall prey to unconventional items!
Summary

I purchased YR Vertigo Length Mascara believing that unconventional brush with spiral-like miniscule bristles will be a great solution for my widely spaced apart lower eyelid lashes, alas, that miracle didn't happened. The mascara itself proved to be very runny and upon extracting the applicator from the tube too much...

20190111_150922
February 17, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
great but not lasting enough
Summary
Soap & Glory Supercat Liquid Eyeliner Pen is great eyeliner in terms of everything except for longevity. Following 3-4 hours after the application it fades from the eyelid to a very pale gray and has to be re-applied. Otherwise, it is easy in application, has a liquid enough texture to be modelled into the proper shape, dries within seconds and does not smudge. I've been using it for two months already and expect the item to last as much more.
February 12, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Packaging 
 
4.0
Long lasting 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
solid B nail polish
Summary
I have a no. 500 Collistar Gloss Nail Lacquer Gel Effect (transparent one) which I normally use as a top coat for extra gloss of the other nail varnishes. It is an ordinary basic polish with quite good longevity and a handy brush. Due to the speed of the drying up this lacquer can be used even under time-constrained circumstances, which I personally like taking into account the hectic tempo of modern life. The volume-price ratio could have been better, but at least the price is moderate. There is only one glitch with the packaging, the handle of the brush upon unscrewing separates into too pieces, which is inconvenient at times, but otherwise I can recommend the product.
20190118_100255
February 10, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Well defined lashes 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
well-defined and elongated lashes
Summary
Soap & Glory Thick & Fast HD Mascara is a great beauty tool that can be used both on a daily basis and as a party tool. It has a slightly curved applicator with (as it has seemed to me) different height of brush bristles that allows using one side for short eyelashes of the lower eyelid, while the other - for long ones located on the upper lid. The scent is a bit off-putting if you try to smell the substance, but otherwise, it doesn't linger after the application. The mascara indeed covers every lash as if with dye, it is not clumpy and at the end the lashes look elongated and charcoal black from top to bottom as well as well-defined. The effect is long lasting without any flaking and the overall look of the eyes is totally dramatic. Definitely recommend!
20190210_143757
February 09, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
2.0
Moisturising 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
great presentation, mediocre performance
Summary
I bought this palette last year at half price during Christmas sales since I had been was enticed by its looks and design. The palette had 6 shades and most of them were perfectly wearable to the office on a daily basis. The palette box was lightweight and could be taken as a carry on item on a trip. The lipstick substance itself of each shade was easy to apply thanks to large built-in mirror and handy applicator brush. The longevity of the lipstick, alas, was a different story - following 3 hours after the application it started leaking into the creases and gathering in the corners of my lips, and had to be either re-applied or wiped out entirely. The price-volume ratio of the palette was also a disappointment even at a half cost... Concerning the hydration effect I barely witnessed any - the lipstick didn't moisturize much, but at leas it didn't dry the lips. To sum up, it was an interesting experience in terms of nice shades, but I would not recommend the item due to its high price and rather mediocre performance.
Artdeco The Most Wanted Lip Palette
Artdeco The Most Wanted Lip Palette
January 29, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
nice brow product for natural looks
Summary
Model Co Karl Lagerfeld Eyebrow Pencil is a decent solution for natural-looking brows. It has a mild texture and the colour is buildable - from mid- to dark-brown, so it is an easy task to make the shade needed for the best look. I have quite thick natural brows and this pencil helps to model them in just the right way without making them look cartoonish. I've been using it for a month every other day and it is very sparringly used, it does not need any sharpener and is extracted by turning the other end of the pencil clock-wise. The price is rather high for such thing, but that is the only qualm I got with this item.
January 13, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
dense and handy applicator
Summary
SPA To You Lookfantastic Exclusive Beauty Sponge has been a great addition to the Christmas 2018 Lookfantastic beauty box. It serves well for applying liquid foundations or BB creams. It is denser than standard sponges I used before and this results into less consumption of a foundation. The slanted edge and rounded shape of the sponge allows for a more precise application. The only disadvantage is that for now the sponge is only available as a package deal inside a beauty box.
myspongelookfantastic
January 13, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
creates precise and natural look
Summary
Brow Tint and Precision Pencil from Soap & Glory is a wonderful brow product - it combines the tint and the pencil both with extra fine tips that allow for non-cumberosme application and shades easy merging with natural ones. The saturation of the tint is just high enough to make it visible yet not agressive or artificial. I absolutely love everything about this item and totally recommend it!
Soap & Glory Archery™ Brow Tint and Precision Pencil
January 13, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
wonderful light-textured primer and moisturizer
Summary
Illamasqua Hydra Veil Primer comes in an elegant packaging with a tightly sealed lid. The primer itself is a dense translucent gel that is easy to apply end spread on the face (whether with a special brush, or simply with fingers, the latter method is what I've chosen). The gel is very economical in use and does not create any kind of oily film or mask upon the face, it absorbs well, making even skin tone, hydrating the skin and creating a great base for both liquid and powdery foundations. The applied make up lasts much longer with this veil than it does without a primer, nothing leaks. Moreover, the product does not clog pores and is non-comedogenic, which makes it a perfect addition to the daily routine (even to use just as a daily moisturizer). It is a pricey item, but the result is worth it. I can safely recommend this primer.
myillamasqua
January 07, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Packaging 
 
4.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
subtle rosiness to your cheeks
Summary
Soap & Glory Glow All Out Luminizing Face Powder is a great thing if you want just a tiny glow to your face. It is subtle enough with miniscule shimmering particles that are difficult to spot yet they provide for so called 'moonlit' complexion. The powder has a neat sturdy and stylish packaging with good built in mirror, but the brush or any other applicator is not included into the powder box per se. The powder is very moderately saturated, it is just a light luminizer, do not expect frost-flushed cheekbones after its application (unless you apply it in 4 or more layers). The Glow All Out would best do for people with pale and cool skin tones (like mine), not a tanned face, which makes it perfect to use during late autumn and winter and even in early spring. The powder stays put for 3 to 4 hours without re-application. It is also more visible and more lasting if used upon primer or liquid foundation cream.
Soap & Glory Glow All Out Luminizing Face Powder
January 07, 2019 (Updated: January 07, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
1.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
good product but its application is too painstaking
Summary
Grow Gorgeous Scalp Detox will probably best suit people who suffer from dry or itchy scalp, but it also has worked up for me. I am not a fan of hair scrubs (I always fear that intense scrubbing may eventually lead to over dried scalp and dandruff), but using such treatment once a month can be actually a good thing. The scrub is of milky colour, not runny in its texture, and heavily peppered with grains of castor oil which reminds me of granulated salt - although these grains do not dissolve upon contact with water. The most difficult part about the scrub is its application - it is supposed to be massaged into the scalp, but it is not distributed easily and if you have at least middle length hair (like mine) the scrub has to be applied to different parts of the head to ensure even coverage. After the part with massaging and distribution is done in fits and starts, the substance produces very slight cooling sensation. Washing the scrub off is even worse ordeal - the grains get tangled in the hair which feels light taught wires to the touch, and it takes a lot of effort and even more of water to get the scrub out. The result, however, offsets the pains with application - the hair indeed looks and remains cleaner for 1 to 2 extra days, it also gets additional volume in the roots and look more fluffy, it also smells of flowers with a bit of chemical bitterness but I like the scent in general. In a nutshell, I can recommend this treatment as an occasional solution, however, the difficulties of application have to be also born in mind while purchasing it.
January 07, 2019 (Updated: January 07, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
nutrition for the eyelids
Summary
I have rather sensitive skin around my eyes and rarely any treatment will do, however, Dr. Botanicals Pomegranate Superfood Brightening Eye Serum has proved to be a good solution for keeping it healthy and nourished at the same time reducing the dark circles under my eyes. I used it on a daily basis for two past weeks and noticed definite improvement in the skin around the eyes - it is moisturized, has more matching tone to the rest of the face and it lost its signs of fatigue and lack of sleep. The serum is closer to oil in its texture, although it is not extra rich or virgin, thus it absorbs relatively quickly leaving no greasy feeling or film behind. It has an oily scent as well, not a pomegranate one. The pipette is quite large one and will be more suitable for the face serums since it always produces more substance than needed for one eye. The best thing about this serum is that it also doesn't cause any adverse effect - no itching, burning, tingling or rash and even if a small amount of it gets very close to my eye, there is absolutely nothing wrong in action. I can safely recommend this treatment.
20190106_123007
20190106_123034
January 01, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
good as an occasional measure
Summary
I've been greatly pleased to discover a 10ml of This Works Deep Sleep Pillow Spray in the beauty box, since due to the work load and constant stress I have had trouble falling asleep lately and had often awakened during the night. I've used this spray on alternate days during the previous two weeks. The spray is extremely easy to apply - one or two spritz on the pillow is enough for the spray to take action. It absorbs fast (5 to 7 mins) and does not stain or irritate the face. The lavender scent it emanates is a bit chemical but yet pleasant in its nature. Upon such regular use my time of falling asleep reduced drastically - while before I could have been tossing and turning for a half an hour at least, now it became less than 7-10 minutes. The lavender scent really takes the mind of unpleasant things and calms any residual anxiety. The only downside of this treatment is that the frequency of its use is in proportion to difficulty to wake up in the morning (at the end of the last week I often felt drowsy though I slept night after night without waking up for solid 7 or 8 hours). To this end I'd recommend it as an occasional solution, for example, on a business trip when getting adjusted to new bed makes it difficult to fall asleep quickly while quality sleep is very much needed.
January 01, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Packaging 
 
4.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
perfect basic nude make-up!
Summary
Soap & Glory Eyeshadow Palette Lid Stuff 6 Shades Limited Edition is everything a heart (or better say, an eye) craves for in terms of subtle and sensual nude make-up. The shadows do not produce dust, they are neatly and solidly packed. The packaging itself is nice to the eye, with a large built-in mirror inside, but, alas, no brush. The shadows are not very saturated, but their fine texture allows building up nice deep colours if needed, or just be applied in one layer making a natural or 'no-make-up' make up. The shimmering shades have miniscule particles that perfectly add just a tiny twinkle to the eye. The shadows are rather lasting, they do not get into creases or roll. I am immensely satisfied with the palette and from my experience this creation of Soap & Glory can rival with a number of elite French brands eyeshadow palettes offering the same result at much lower price. Definitely recommend this one!
December 25, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
zingy cooling cream gel
Summary
I regret that I have not been acquainted with L'Occitane Verbena Cooling Hand Cream Gel before; it is definitely to my liking! The gel cream has an invigorating lemon-herbal aroma, light runny texture, cooling and moisturizing properties. After the application the cream gel is absorbed almost instantly, it cools the skin (although this effect is noticeable within 5-7 minutes tops), leaves a pleasant feeling of velvety and comforted skin without oiliness, stickiness or any kind of 'film'. The gel is best used 1-2 times a day, sometimes more often, for one application you need a small pea. It provides great results even for such dry skin as mine, and I can safely recommend it!
December 25, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Moisturising 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
beautiful lip buzz
Summary
Soap & Glory Sexy Mother Pucker Lip Plumping Gloss is unlike any other gloss that I've tested and tried before - it actually makes lips plumper and more pouty by creating a distinct tingling sensation that kicks in after 5 minutes following the gloss' application. The sense reminds of sizzling soda bubbles on the lips or the feel of chilly pepper left on the lips after a good bite of a spicy food, however, 10 minutes in after the application the tingling may become almost unbearable (like burning or stinging) that it is a struggle not to wipe the substance off. However, this extreme buss lasts for 2 to 3 minutes tops gradually fading into a menthol-like sensation. The buzz may re-appear after consuming any beverages but its force will not be the same as it was on the first contact. The lips do look bigger and more accentuated. The gloss is moderately sticky to the extent to stay on the lips for a long time. It has a vanilla-infused scent, more an industrial like than a candy-like. It has a handy applicator that delivers the amount needed. This gloss in its structure reminds me of early 2000 glosses with a multitude of rainbow-coloured shimmering particles, yet not very pigmented to keep the look more natural. I've tested Candy Queen (very pale pink and almost translucent upon the lips) and Plumsup (pale pigmented cerise or punch) and both looked magnificent on my lips. In general, despite the unexpected buzz of the gloss, I can recommend this beauty cutie!
Soap & Glory Sexy Mother Pucker™ Lip Plumping Gloss
December 25, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
3.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
lightweight mattifying foundation
Summary
L'Oreal Paris True Match Minerals Powder Foundation has a stylish design but not very convenient packaging (for such a bulky jar the contents are too little). The foundation itself is of a pleasant light texture with no particular odour (although it has a slight chalky scent while still in a jar). Upon application the foundation covers face entirely and imperceptibly, does not clog into lines or pores, and creates an even tone. A certain variety of shades allows picking the one most matching to the skin tone (it is 1R/1C for me in the winter, while 1D/1W will do great in summer after some tanning experience). The foundation does not have a brush included which is a pity, but considering all its pros such downside may be overlooked.
December 23, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Value for money 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Eaux de Toilette
wonderful fresh scent with a bit of sourness
Summary
Upon spraying Nina Ricci Bella EDT I strongly feel citrus and grassy/green notes. This is rhubarb and in my opinion it is present all the time, until the fragrance fades. Bella's apple is fresh and a bit tart, it does not have an excessive sweetness, which makes the scent more weightless and summery. Freesia, rose and musk notes merge and feel more like a background for grassy scent. The bottle with its green lady bug is absolutely gorgeous and can also serve as a perfect present for a beloved person. Bella EDT is quite a distinct fragrance which definitely gets you noticed. It is also a universal one - good for both office time and a romantic date (however, I'd select something heavier and sweeter for any partying activities). The scent is rather fleeting however, and it has to be re-applied after 3 - 3.5 hours. But it totally lives up to its name - Bella - beautiful - and a great choice of a daily scent to my opinion.
December 23, 2018 (Updated: December 23, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
best for dry skin
Summary
I absolutely fell in love for this hand balm upon the first try. The Rituals The Ritual Of Happy Buddha Jolly Hand Balm has an amazing oriental scent that lingers long after the balm has absorbed. The bottle is equipped with a handy dispenser that delivers just the amount needed to cover both hand. The balm is white in colour and has a runny lotion-like texture that absorbs within seconds. This balm is a true relief for dry skin and it is no wonder it is referred to as a kitchen balm since its best feature is to restore hand moisture balance after long contact with hard water and/or dish cleaners. The balm also has a lasting and buildable effect. The only downside that I could find about it is a bit dark design, however, it may be considered a luxury one. Totally recommend!
December 23, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
pleasant pricey moisturiser
Summary
I've used 5ml sample of Lancôme Absolue Soft Cream in 5 applications - the cream is surprisingly sparingly used. It has a rich texture yet absorbs pretty quickly creating the feeling of supple and velvety skin. The cream smells faintly of a crushed rose petals, sweetly, but the scent is not lingering. It is a great moisturizer, its hydrating effects are visible upon the application. The anti-age effect is slower to appear - only after the 4th application I noticed that my minor wrinkles were diminished. The cream has both natural and silicone-derived ingredients, but I didn't have any adverse effects while using it, on the contrary, my skin had almost glowed. However, the full-sized jar of the cream is extra pricey, and although I have no qualms about the cream itself I can recommend it on the grounds that one has money to spare.
December 16, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Mildness 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
a regular mask for mild effects on dry skin
Summary
A weighty sachet of a mask in 10 ml from Oriflame promises to nourish dry skin. One sachet is too much for a single application, it can easily be divided into two, however, it is a challenge to preserve the leftovers due to a single-use nature of the package. The consistency of the mask is that of a dense cream that does not leak after application. The mask is not particularly absorbed into the skin, it lies heavily on the face. It has a very pleasant aroma, light, not annoying. Both times I used it I left it on my face for solid 15 minutes, when I washed off, I felt decent moisturizing and freshness of the skin. The mask does not treat wrinkles, but it is not supposed to. It will suit even for people aged 20+. Considering the price, and the overall effect I can say it is an OK option, and due to its density I'd rather recommend it for cold weather when skin tends to over-dry.
December 11, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Packaging 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
minor dark circles treatment with a short-lived effect
Summary
Clinique All About Eyes comes in a plastic jar with a screw cap. It is more a gel cream than a cream per se, with light peach colouring. The cream has a very subtle odour which fades away quickly upon application. At contact with the skin it almost melts and is very quickly absorbed, which makes it a useful tool to apply even before a make-up. Following the cream’s absorption the area around the eyes is visually transformed - it looks radiant and smooth, small wrinkles are filled, the dark circles become lighter. I always have a feeling that this cream forms a translucent pearl film, while the skin breathes and feels comfortable and moisturised. However, in a few hours the area around my eyes again becomes as dry as it was before, thus the effect of the cream is not lasting and for renewing of all the above the cream has to be re-applied.
Clinique All About Eyes
December 09, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
great hand cream but hard to find
Summary
I am well into the hand & nail cream series of Clarins and this neroli scented one has also won my heart. The cream is dense enough to be nourishing and great for the cold season yet it is light enough not to be oily or greasy. It is very sparingly used with its effect long lasting and buildable, my hands even with their extra dry skin feel moisturized and pampered long after the cream is absorbed. The cream is of a handy volume to be a carry on item even during the flight, it easily fits into the hand as it is roughly palm sized and has a bit flattened shape for more convenient application. The scent of neroli, is, perhaps, the most prominent its feature - it is pleasant and lingering and not overpowering. The cream is a pricey item, however. And it is also not so easy to find in regular cosmetic stores (I've seen it in duty free stores so far), and often when it is available it goes as a package deal with two other hand creams infused with magnolia an jasmine scents (they are also pleasant, yet if one wishes to buy a single of the three it can be problematic).
December 09, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Well defined lashes 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
clampy and overpriced
Summary
While I am a huge admirer of Clinique High Impact non-waterproof mascara of Clinique, its Waterproof counterpart is far from my favourites. First of all, it has slightly different brush and much runnier texture, and to this end in the beginning the brush always comes up covered in the substance so much I can barely see its bristles. In this case, clumps are very difficult to avoid and well-defined lashes are more wishful thinking than a reality. Only after some time of use the mascara solidifies enough to be less troublesome in application. To its credit the mascara is not a flaky sort and extremely persistent in terms of being waterproof - even rubbing my face with a handful of water barely made 'a dent' in its coverage, moreover, any snow, sleet or rain is not an issue for this mascara. Yet this durability comes with a price - not every remover is capable of wiping the stuff off (and if the recommended Clinique remover has to be used, it is quite pricey). All things considered, I would rather not recommend this one due to its price and difficulties in application.
Clinique High Impact™ Waterproof Mascara
Clinique High Impact™ Waterproof Mascara
December 08, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Perfect if not for the cost
Summary
True Colour Nail Experts Nail Enamel Remover has a nice minimalistic packaging. The semi-transparent bottle allows being aware of the remover left and a small hole in the packaging prevents from extra liquid spilling out. The remover smells like a normal remover (acetone-related chemical scent) but with a subtle scent of something almond like. It cleanses the varnish much better than other removers. I usually use 1 cotton pad with several drop of remover per hand. It wipes out more subtle varnish shades from the first try; varnishes of very vivid or acid colours or with glitter require second application of the remover. In addition, it does not cause my nails to become weak or my skin to become drier after the application. The only downside of this remover is its higher price in comparison with analogues, but considering the other advantages, I can safely recommend this item.
December 04, 2018 (Updated: December 05, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Absorption 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
shea-infused protection for the lips
Summary
L'Occitane Natural Shea Ultra Rich Lip Balm is a good item to be used in cold season due to its dense texture. The balm itself is a solid stick yet it melts and glides over the lips upon application. The scent is subtly sweet (almond-like) but it is not cloying or distinct so it can be used by both women and men (my husband uses it when his lips start to dry due to a frosty weather). The packaging is neat and durable - not once it had cracked or opened by its own volition. The balm can also be used, surprisingly, for softening the elbows. The price is a bit high for the offered volume, and the balm itself has to be re-applied once in two hours, but despite these two downsides the balm is a nice protective beauty treat for the winter.
December 02, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
light moisturiser for very dry skin
Summary
Apart from a strange herbal-like scent Dermedic Hydrain3 Hialuro Deeply Moisturising Cream Gel is a perfect option for those who have dry and dehydrated skin. It is a pale blue gel that absorbs within seconds moisturizing, hydrating and nourishing the skin without any greasy traces. It is quite cheap and a little of the gel goes a long way, prolonging its use. It is not organic, but I have not noticed any adverse effects from using it. Even without an SPF protection it is a good day moisturiser that can be used prior to applying any make up.
December 02, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Mildness 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
could have been a nice product if not for the price
Summary
Gratiae products are so pricey that I'm grateful they provide and sell samples of their goods. I've tried 3 samples, 1.5 ml each that lasted me for 6 applications. The Lifting Facial Mask has a rich and dense texture, and a very faint scent resembling that of a cucumber or an aloe vera, with a bit of sourness to it. Upon application the mask is felt as a cream mixed up with face oil - it looks just as well - white tiny clumps of the cream interspersed with patches of grease-covered skin. The skin may tingle just a little, but the feeling is more a refreshing one than an unpleasant one. The mask does not dry and when rinsed off it is like you are trying to wash up oil from your face - extremely difficult and greasy. There is a definite anti-age effect since already after the second application wrinkles that go from my nostrils to the edge of my mouth have visibly diminished as well as the one between my brows. The skin has obtained a healthier look and felt moisturized. However, taking into account primarily the price, as well as inconveniences with application, I would recommend finding cheaper analogues instead of this mask.
December 02, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
durable and long-lasting sharpener
Summary
I bought this sharpener years ago when I still predominantly used kohl pencils instead of pen liners for my eyes. It deals with both - normal and thick pencils due to the holes it has, and no matter which type of pencil it is (for eyes or for lips) the sharpener delivers great results - smooth surface of the shaved part plus no damage done to the pencil lead. The transparent design of the packaging and the lid that protects from shavings, neatly storing them inside for future disposal - is also a great advantage. The plastic looks flimsy but in reality it is quite durable, it has never cracked in my case. Definitely a great tool to buy for your make-up pencils!
December 02, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Value for money 
 
3.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
strongly reminds of an aftershave
Summary
Giorgio Armani Acqua di Gio Absolu EDP opens in a similar fashion as other Acquas di Gio, however, this sense is fleeting until the marine notes hit - the feeling is similar to being immersed in a bucket of an aftershave. These marine notes are so persistent that they last for a long time and become simply cloying. Woodsy notes are barely felt and the fragrance in general feels not multilayered but rather flat, unremarkable. Definitely not like an EDP priced so high should smell.
December 02, 2018 (Updated: December 02, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
wonderful shower item
Summary
Ecotools Ecopouf Delicate Bath Sponge is a wonderful tool for both cleansing and exfoliating dead skin cells. I have a light turquoise coloured variety of the sponge, but will probably buy a positive yellow one when I'm done using the one. The sponge allows for delicate washing and helps to work out a great lather out of a shower gel or wash. It is a fast-drying as well, and lightweight to take on any business or tourist trip. The only upsetting thing about the sponge is that it looses its neat shape after 1.5 months of use and doesn't look so appealing. Despite that, I can definitely recommend it as my favourite bath item.
December 02, 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Mildness 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
1.0
Scent 
 
1.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
revitalizing, but messy and difficult to deal with
Summary
I've tried two 5g samples of Origins RitualiTea Matcha Madness Face Mask, and the first thing that is really good about the mask is that its dried form that allows to keep the substance untarnished even if the pack is open. However, the least great thing about this mask is its matcha scent which brinks on horrible. The mask has to be previously mixed with water (2 teaspoons of each) and only then put onto face (avoiding the eyes are, there it may sting) in an even layer. After the mixing is done the mask resembles a light-green runny paste with grainy particles (for scrubbing). It is easy to apply either by hands (as I do) or using a make up spatula. The mask dries very fast so it is better to act quickly for it to be evenly spread. The scent it emanates while in use is very far from pleasant and difficult to bear. Rinsing off the mask is also the ordeal - it is not washed away completely thus leaving a greenish tint to the skin. The latter looks better in terms of both complexion and texture, and the effect lasts for several days, but the downsides of the mask have outbalanced its good sides for me at the end.
December 01, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
visually whitening but more a decorative product
Summary
Tonymoly Panda Dream White Magic Cream entices with a cute packaging, however it is strange in its effects. It is light-textured, but after the application the skin feels like it has been coated, and it has definite whitening particles that work like a powder or better say flour. Following the application those particles are spread unevenly and the cream itself works not to lighten dark under eye circles or pigmented patches, it is more a masking item, like a BB cream or a liquid extra-light foundation. It's hard to say about moisturizing properties, although some suppleness of the skin is definitely there. The producer has the hand cream branded with the same jar and it is difficult not to mix the too. The jar, perhaps, it the best what this cream can offer, it is cute and even can be used as a toy for the kids...
December 01, 2018 (Updated: December 01, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
my styling friend for the last 5 years
Summary
I discovered Syoss Color Protect Mousse Extra Strong Hold around 5 years ago and it has been my no. 1 styling mousse ever since. The mousse is extra light, fast-absorbing and nicely scented. One puff is enough to cover several hefty locks of hair. I have a wavy and in places unruly hair and this product helps me both: to keep it in shape and in some cases - to straighten my over-curly bangs. On the other hand, if i want moderately curly hair I braid it before going to sleep and apply a puff of mousse to each braid. Such overnight procedure ensures that I have small to medium curls in neat locks in the morning. The effect of the mousse keeps the curls up to three days without them looking glued together or greasy. In addition, this mousse helps to accentuate the dyed hair colour giving it extra shine and gloss.
November 30, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
great relaxing treatment
Summary
Kneipp Lavender Balancing Mineral Bath Salt Crystals work miracles not only on my body but on my soul, so to say. They smell of lavender (not a chemical scent, but a more natural one), and help to ease up tension. Around 15 minutes in a hot bath with a handful of the crystals and a healthy blissful sleep is guaranteed. I also use these crystals for improving the condition of my nails on hands and feet - making a small 'baths' in a tub. For best results I recommend taking such baths once in 2 - 3 weeks.
November 30, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
long lasting hand wash
Summary
Baylis & Harding Sweet Mandarin & Grapefruit Hand Wash is very hard to miss on the sink due to its elegant design. Upon the closer inspection the bottle is of a simple plastic, but still it is a nice addition to a bathroom or a kitchen. The wash is basically a transparent viscous gel with an extremely pale yellow (or rather lemon) colour. It has a pleasant sourly sweet scent of a mandarin. The wash efficient, it lathers well and just one press of the plunger is more than enough to wash your hands thoroughly. It is decent enough to wash the entire body in dire need (I had tried several times and was satisfied with the results). The wash is very cheap and comes in bottles of different sizes - I personally recommend the 500ml bottle which lasts more than 7-7.5 months. The ingredients are not as natural as one would wish them to be, but in all other respects it is a great cleanser and even greater bargain!
November 28, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Absorption 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
an OK cream, but do not expect miracles
Summary
La Roche-Posay Cicaplast Hands Barrier Repairing Cream is a decent hand cream that acts more like a barrier cream than a treatment one. It has a gel-like or glue like texture and no fragrance at all. The absorption could have been faster, but to the cream's credit it does not leave any stickiness or oiliness after it is fully absorbed (which is about 5 to 10 minutes). It is a great treatment in cold weather - the hands are well protected against the harsh cold wind/air and consequent dryness. The cream works as long as it is in use i.e. as soon as you stop the skin returns to its previous condition in a day or two. Still, the cream has its benefits (including those listed above) as well as a convenient packaging; and it indeed delivers its barrier effect, so I can recommend the product.
November 28, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
4.0
Moisturising 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
yummy lipgloss
Summary
Kiko Milano Smart Fusion Lipgloss have enamoured me with its cute packaging, cheap price and vivid colours. In action, this gloss (even in my case of deep strawberry coloured shade 06) does not look phony or artificial on the lips, it gives just the right amount of plumpness, gloss and moisture to make the lips look natural. It is a perfect thing both as a stand alone product or going in tandem with a lipstick of a similar shade. The end of the gloss tube is tapered allowing for easy application while the small opening in the tube makes sure that no extra amount of gloss will be squeezed out. The gloss smells of vanilla (confectionery style), a bit too much for me when applied but the scent is not lingering. The gloss is sticky and if generously applied may be felt heavily on the lips. In general, it is a 'solid B' beauty item that I can recommend.
November 27, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Value for money 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Eaux de Parfum
pure luxury and barely any vanilla
Summary
Despite that Mancera Coco Vanille EDP has in its title 'Vanilla' and 'Coco' which I mostly tolerate in other beauty items, this scent has impressed me with its sophisticated pyramid. It is indeed sweet, I would say even creamy like an ice cream, with an undertone of peach and jasmine. It is not cloying or generic, but has a character to it that speaks of luxury, confidence, independence. One spray of the perfume at the pulse point - and there is no need to worry of its re-application for a very long time. It may be a bit heavy to be worn to the office, I would say that its proper place is an evening gala, or a party, or a date. The price is, unfortunately, not so tempting, but having used my share of 2ml sample I am seriously considering buying a full sized bottle (if not 120ml, than at least 90ml).
434 results - showing 1 - 50
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Results per page:

Connect

My Account

Add

Best Of

Help

Latest

×

Sign up to keep in touch!

Be the first to hear about giveaways and exclusive discounts from BEAUTYONTRIAL and our partners.

Check out our Privacy Policy & Terms of use. You can unsubscribe from our email list at any time.

We have 1427 guests and no members online