Reviews written by 4lex4ndr4

532 results - showing 1 - 50
« 1 2 3 4 5 ... »
Ordering
April 08, 2020
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
1.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
great looks but poor longevity
Summary
Lumene Gel Effect Nail Polish is available in many possible shades - from modest nudes (like 01, 02, 08) to vibrant colours (like 23), and there are additional spin-off for party lovers with shimmer. I used shades No 06 - Bare Landscape and No 08 - Full of Peonies - they are both an embodiment of perfect office make-up. The polish has a convenient packaging with a wide brush, that allows application in just two strokes. Yet only one layer may prove to be uneven and stripey in certain shades, thus for the best results I'd recommend using the polish in 2 to 3 layers. The polish dries fast, which is a plus; it also looks gorgeous on the nails - just like from a salon procedure. However, it does not keep its perfect appearance for long - at the end of the day the polish at ends of the nails looks chipped and uneven, and if it the polish stays for another day it starts flaking. To this end I can recommend this item as a one-night remedy for a nice manicure and taking into account its beautiful shades and affordability.
April 06, 2020 (Updated: April 06, 2020)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
good moisturizer but too pricey
Summary
Gigi Recovery Daily SPF30 Cream is a great treat, especially in the summer. It is has a creamy texture and although upon application has a whit-ish leftover on the skin (as a lot of sunscreens so), the cream absorbs and disappears within minutes. It does not create any kind of film yet it gretly protects the skin from sun rays. It is deeply moisturizing with buildable effect, it also has a certain degree of whitening properties - it decreases the intensiveness of natural pigmentation. The cream has, alas, too high a price and is quite difficult to find in stores, thus I can recommend it with reservations.
April 03, 2020
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
very natural-looking fluid foundation
Summary
Clarins Skin Illusion Hydrating Foundation SPF15 is a lightweight foundation that indeed creates an illusion that you are barely wearing any make up. The foundation is contained in a glass bottle with a high-quality pipette (convenient for drawing up the fluid). It is quite runny though, I had to have some practice before adjusting the procedure of application, and the best way to apply in not the brush, but the fingers. The feeling upon the application is like that of a bb cream or a moisturizing cream - extremely pleasant to the touch. The foundation evens out skin tone and covers minor skin issues so that it looks like has no make-up, very natural. The coverage lasts for about 4 to 5 hours and than begins to fade gradually. In addition the foundation has a light shimmer that adds glow to the face (no need to use a highlighter) and it does not look artificial. I used the shade 105-nude, and there are a lot of other shades for anyone to find their match. In general I can recommend this beauty product.
April 02, 2020
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
2.0
Mildness 
 
1.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
burning and oily - not the things i expected....
Summary
I have had a mini version of this product, 30 ml, and it was a struggle to not make the product go to waste. The cleanser is a bi-phase one and once it is shaken, two parts of the substance do not separate in about 10 to 15 minutes. The product indeed nicely removes waterproof make-up, vibrant lipsticks and thick layers of foundation. But due to its design (too large opening of the bottle) it is not sparingly used. Moreover, I found it difficult to use around the eyes - it burns the skin and the eyes, and sometimes leaves red splotches... The cleanser also leaves an oily film which is not very pleasant even at my 'thirsty' dry skin. To top it all, the product is rather pricey for such a poor effect. I can't recommend it.
clinique_cleanser
April 01, 2020
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Body Moisturisers
hydrating and long-lasting lotion
Summary
Payot 24-hr hydrating fluid is a nice way to start the day after taking morning shower. It is extra light, like lotion, smells like apple (or bamboo?), hydrates and awakens the skin. It absorbs rather well however there is a slight powder finish left upon the skin if the amount of fluid is a bit excessive. The dispenser is nice - it is transparent to see the volume inside as well as it is hand in terms of getting just the right amount of the substance. The fluid unfortunately contains alcohol which eventually may lead to dryness of the skin in the long term, so I recommend caution in terms of frequency (2 times a week is quite enough).
payot_white_lait
March 31, 2020
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
xcould have been nice if not for the components
Summary
PAYOT Hydra 24 Corps Hydrating Firming Treatment is an interesting item. On the one hand it indeed provides hydration for the skin (albeit due to the dimethicone in its ingredients) and fast action by prompt absorption, however it smells like an old style powder with crushed rose petals undertone (and I personally find this scent off-putting) and is not very lasting in its effects. The product is more or less OK, it may be used once in a while, but not on a permanent basis.
payot_hydra
March 28, 2020
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
goof moisturizer for dry skin
Summary
Collistar Hydro-Protective Cream Anti-Pollution SPF 20 is a good option for spring/summer season to as as a protector and moisturizer. It has a dense creamy texture and takes some time to absorb, yet it serves as a nice pre-make-up treatment. The cream has some kind of rosy particles (for massaging purposes?) that dissolve upon application and are harmless to the skin. The cream is packed in a sturdy glass jar and has a pleasant cosmetic scent. In general I can recommend this item as a nice moisturizer.
IMG_20200327_202630_172(1)
IMG_20200327_202635_998(1)
March 26, 2020
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Mildness 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
waterproof make-up remover
Summary
L'Oréal Paris Absolute Make-Up Remover has a bi-phase oily structure and is perfect for dry skin owners. It easily deals with waterproof mascara or matte lipsticks and, what most important, it does not irritate skin or eyes. It has a pleasant subtle scent that is not off-putting or lingering. The only drawback which I have discovered with this product is its packaging - the hole in the cap is too big and I regularly got extra volume on the cotton pad, which was a bit irritating. But in time even that disadvantage becomes bearable. To the packaging's credit I can tell that I like its general volume - 125 ml - better for taking on a trip.
March 24, 2020
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
great tool for creative make-upers
Summary
I have used Cyan Navy variety of Oriflame The ONE Dual Drama Kohl Eye Pencil. The pencil is two-sided, each one has a sturdy transparent cap. The pencil's slates as well as the pencil's wood are pliable enough to be easily sharpened without breaking. The items itself smells like a stick (distinct scent of wood). Both its pigmented slates have tiny shimmering particles which is an extra nice touch. The pencil may be used as an everyday make-up tool (navy part), or as a party item (cyan part). I believe this is true for the other three shade combinations of the pencil. It stays put a whole day and can be easily cleaned with a milk or micellar water. In general, it is a good product although, it could have been cheaper.
March 22, 2020
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Mildness 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
gentle cleanser
Summary
Fine Flowers Cleansing Wash is a nice cleanser that will suit even dry and sensitive skin. It has a gel structure and very moderate lather properties, yet it is evenly spread upon the skin. It is sparingly used, yet if you have a thick make up (like heavy mascara, liner and primer) you may need to use the wash twice. The product does not dry the skin and it leaves rather pleasant sensation and a subtle scent of a rose afterwards. It has a sturdy cap and convenient packaging and priced more or less OK, so it is a good mass market choice for a morning/evening cleansing ritual.
March 21, 2020
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
excellent mass market styling item
Summary
This mousse is one of my styling mass market favourites. It is light, it doesn't weight the hair down, and neither it makes the hair greasier. The mousse is evenly spread, it takes a few puffs to cover my middle-length hair. It has a mild cosmetic scent which lingers for about 2 days. I normally apply it to wet hair if I want it in plaited or curled and let it dry (either by itself or using a hairdryer). The effect of curs lasts for a solid day and if there is no kind of extra moist weather, it can last up to 2.5 days. I have been using this product for about 15 years now (the design has been changed but the contents remain the same) and have no qualms about it. A great item!
March 20, 2020
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Value for money 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
does its job perfectly!
Summary
Bepanthen Nappy Care Ointment addresses not only issues related to tender baby skin, but also is of much help if you have extra-dry reddened skin or have a rash/ caused by inconvenient clothing that chafes or even mild forms of dermatitis. I have recently chafed tender breast skin while trying a new bra with coarse material and only this cream could help to remedy the damage (the rash had passed in a mere day). The cream is dense and oily with a slight scent, it absorbs well and greatly diminishes itching as well s the redness. It is sparingly used and have no adverse effects. I would say it is an absolute must to have in one's family care kit.
March 16, 2020
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Cleansing power 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
decent mass market shampoo
Summary
Garnier Botanic Therapy Cranberry Shampoo is a decent mass market shampoo suitable for frequent use. The shampoo has a thick texture and is economical in use, it produces good lather and cleanses well even if used once. It has a pleasant fruity scent that lingers for about a day after the application. It is also cheap and easily available in stores along with other products of this series. I wouldn’t really say that it greatly preserves the colour; however, it indeed makes the hair shine. The only qualm that I have with this shampoo is that it gives extra fluffiness to the hair. Thus I'd recommend always use conditioner and/or mask afterwards.
March 14, 2020
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Value for money 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Eaux de Parfum
amazing floral and oriental perfume
Summary
I am in love with Olympéa EDP; it is a very feminine perfume, not for an every day use, but more for a special occasion. Once sprayed it lasts up to two days without it becoming cloying or too vanillish. The perfume is contained in the bottle that is sort of encompassed in a laurel, which is a really nice touch. The price is rather fair for such type of the product. So I can safely recommend this elegant scent, it is a great product to be used both in warm and cold seasons.
March 12, 2020
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
4.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
uplifting and invigorating body oil
Summary
ESPA Detoxifying Body Oil is a great reviving and rejuvenating product for the body. The oil itself is rather light-textured in nature and once applied absorbs in 10 to 15 minutes without any greasy leftovers or transfer to the clothes. The oil is contained in a glass vial with a heavy cap styled as carved from marble (though I believe it is just a high-quality plastic). The only disadvantage of the design is the opening of the vial or total lack of the dispenser - to that end at first I struggled to have the right amount poured into my palm without any excess liquid. The scent is a mix of citrus and herbs with a definite victory of the herbal component right following the application. Yet the scent is very lasting fading into a barely there one after the absorption. The oil is great for my dry skin and for making it more elastic and invigorated in the morning. It is a good buy, though a bit pricey!
March 08, 2020
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
nice product but dubious anti-wrinkle effect
Summary
I received this Filorga mask in a mini plastic tube that has a convenient small enough opening for squeezing the right amount of the content. The best way to apply the mask - is to use a brush - it ensures the even coverage and more scarce use of the mask. The mask reminds of a dense cream that is easily spread and very gradually dries off - the effect is much better that in the case of clay masks. It has a slight floral scent that lingers a bit even after the mask is gone. The most cumbersome part of the mask is rinsing it off - the best way to do it is to use some kind of dispensable towel or a wet cotton pad, but even in that case it takes several tries. As for the effects of the mask - it is a good item if we are talking about a supportive care like hydration or improving the overall look of the skin (combating the signs of fatigue etc), but in terms of anti-wrinkle treatment - the effects are so miniscule that they have to be studied with magnifying glass.

Recommended for general skin care not an item for combating aging signs

March 08, 2020
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
great for contouring and covering under eye circles
Summary
brushworks HD Wonder Sponge is a smartly-shaped beauty item handy in contouring, blending and covering business. Its slanted edge is perfect to work in under eyes area, while its material texture is pleasant to the skin. The sponge has to be dampened before use (it grows by about 30-40% in size when wet) to allow for best results and least use of the product you want to apply. In general, I am very satisfied with this sponge.
March 06, 2020
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
4.0
Moisturising 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
mass market toner-balm
Summary
Nivea Cherry Shine Caring Lip Balm is a nice-looking lip balm with semi-toner effect that is good for cold season. It has a vibrant sturdy packaging and smells a lot like Cherry Coke. Following the application the balm stays intact for about 4 hours slowly and gradually fading but leaving a slight pinkish tint. It is decently moisturizing but for a stronger effect and protection has to be re-applied at least twice during an 8h working day. It is easily located in the bag due to its colour and in general a handy thing to have with you, although quite a generic balm. The price is fair for the item as well as its properties so I can recommend it.
March 03, 2020
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Packaging 
 
1.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Absorption 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
it could have been OK if not for the packaging
Summary

Naobay Gentle Facial Toner arrived to me half-full and the reason for such accident is a strange insufficiently considered design of its cap. It is supposed to look organic and natural but instead it appears to leak profusely, which is actually no fun at all finding the cap thoroughly soaked...

March 01, 2020
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Value for money 
 
3.0
Packaging 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
black currant and oriental scent as I feel it
Summary
Ultraviolet is a good non-generic EDP good for cold season. Despite combining pepper, vanilla, violets, rose and other notes I feel a strong fruity underton very close to black currant or even apricot tree bark. It has a nice longevity (up to 5-6 hours) and it is not of a cloying variety (even with vanilla and pachouli scents in it). It feels like a bit chemical or synthetic as well, but I guess, it is the charm of the perfume. I would recommend it to persons who would like to stand out, since its scent is memorable.
March 01, 2020
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Packaging 
 
2.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Moisturising 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
soft and light yet fragile
Summary
I have a mini-version of Illamasqua Antimatter Lipstick in the shade of Bang (it is a muted pink nude with an undergue of a pale terracotta hue, very OK for everyday use). It really accentuates the colour of my lips, making them look stylish, elegant yet more dramatic at the same time. The lipstick has a creamy texture, it covers the lip area in one swipe and is barely felt on the lips (no oiliness or dryness). It stays put for about 4 hours gradually fading, which I find as a good feature. The most frustrating of the lipstick (apart of its price - full version of 4.15 g is priced at 20 GBP) is its packaging and fragility. The lipstick is incased in a cheaply made though nicely branded stick. Upon opening the whole length of my lipstick just fell off the packaging and I had to fix it back (and still afraid it will do its 'breaking trick' again), it feels extremely fragile and I am extra cautious while applying it.
March 01, 2020 (Updated: March 01, 2020)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
cute item to use once a while
Summary
Project Lip Mask has a very neat and convenient packaging easily used on-the-go. The mask resembles a semi-transparent patch for lips which, to my surprise, holds firm once applied and its large size can cover a decent batch of skin around lip area. The mask has a nice texture and scent but it tingles a lot once in contact with the lips (at times it was on the brink on rather unpleasant sensation, however, no visual adverse effects like a rash or redness were there). The mask indeed recovers the hydro balance of the lips and clears away the effects of a dry air and other nasties. Nevertheless, it is not a magic worker, rather its effects are comparable to a good hygienic lip balm (with an exception of less glycerin I guess). The hydrating substance in the package is in excees so I used it elsewhere on the face and hands, but taking into account that the mask is for a single use it still felt like a bit of a waste of product on non-intended areas. I can recommend this item for those who are frequent traveler, it is an easy to apply product and once in a while does make a difference.
February 15, 2020
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
I Divine in Goodnight Sweetheart 1030 shade
Summary
I-Divine eye shadow palette in shade Goodnight Sweetheart is designed for stunning, dramatic looks at parties, festivities and other evening make-up activities, hence the name. The packaging is nicely done - sturdy, with a convenient large mirror and two-sides applicator. The palette has 7 shimmer shades, 3 duochromes and two matte ones. The shadows are nicely pigmented and demonstrate good longevity. The only downside of this specific variety of I Divine is that majority of shades are rather dark, thus can't be used on a daily basis (some of the shades I do not use at all), to this end I can use it only occasionally and most probably when I am done with the shades that compliment my eyes completely, half of the palette still will be full. Although I definitely can recommend it for those who are more into heavily maked-up eyes.

good for evening or dramatic make up options

February 15, 2020
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
natural-looking fake eyelashes
Summary
I am actually not a fake lashes wearer, my own lashes do just fine, but such things are good if you are having some kind of a celebration with a photo session involved. These lashes look natural enough; they do not make the lid look heavily "lashed". They are reliable - can be worn all day long and will not crumple upon the pillow if you manage to fall asleep wearing them. I also like that they can be re-used a few times, plus the glue is included so I can measure how much I need of it. In general, I can recommend these cuties.
February 15, 2020
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
2.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
dime-a-dozen cream
Summary
YR hand cream with vanilla extract is a pretty generic hand cream, it copies the design of other brands, although I can't say it is a bad thing. It has a nice texture which is not runny and it absorbs well. However, its effects are short lived - when used it has to be re-applied every 3 to 4 hours in order to keep the hands hydrated (maybe, it is the case with my dry skin but still...). The other thing which I do not like about the cream is that its too vanill-ish chemical scent which may be overpowering at times.
February 12, 2020
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
1.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
deeply hydrating but with an off-putting scent
Summary
LRP Lotion is a far cry from a lotion - it is a dense rich cream, although this helps the product to live up to its intended use. It indeed deals perfectly with issues related to dry and extra dry skin, absorbing in mere seconds. The lotion may leave a slight greasy sheen up to 20 minutes but it does not interfere with anything (no easy transfer). Despite what the producer claims in terms of the lotion being a fragrance free product, I can still feel the scent which is a mix between a brand new linoleum and a brand new low-quality plastic - it fades eventually, but for me to better have a potent floral or herbal scent than something akin to the one this lotion emanates. The product is good, especially it will pay off in cold season, but I just can't stand the scent. Thus, even taking into account all the pros, I can recommend the item with caution.

try whether the scent is OK for you before purchase

February 12, 2020
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
gentle shower gel
Summary
LRP Lipikar is a transparent gel (with a barely visible yellowish hue) of a viscous composition and a scent which is pleasant but barely there. The gel lathers perfectly and I believe it is due to SLS and other not very natural components in its ingredients. To its credit, it does not irritate or dry the skin despite its composition. The gel can be used both as a face and a body cleanser, thus it can multitask. The gel marketed in volume of 200ml is at disadvantage to 400ml and 750ml respectfully due to a different bottle shape (the former is designed as a tube which is a downside in terms of excessive usage of the product, while the latter ones have a convenient dispenser). Unlike the majority of mass market shower gels this one provides for more hydration, and it is fairly priced. In general, I am satisfied with the product and can recommend it.
February 05, 2020
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
decent powder for frequent use in cold season
Summary
La Roche-Posay Toleriane Teint Mineral Compact Powder is nicely designed in terms of packaging (sturdy box, large built-in mirror, hidden compartment for a sponge), intended use (for sensitive skin) but has some drawbacks in the context of price, shades and visibility. I have tried shade 11 beige which is light beige with a little rosy tint. The powder itself is easily applied weather with a brush or with a sponge (the latter one is included in the compartment below the powder cell), it neither clog pores, nor provoke any breakouts. However, the shade I used will nicely do only for the untanned skin - in this case it will look natural. If you have even a slight tan the shade 11 will be immediately visible. To this end, the powder is best to be used in cold season.
February 04, 2020
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
pampering, nourishing, heavenly-scented
Summary
Rituals The Ritual of Karma Kitchen Hand Balm is the ephitome of how the perfect hand lotion should look and feel like for me. It starts enchanting with its stylish minty looks and finishes its job with deep hydration and lingering scent of lotus and white tea. It has a convenient dispenser that will ensure you get the right amount without spilling some extra. The texture of the hand balm is more that of a cream than a lotion and a pea-sized amount is enough to cover the area of a palm. It has a very pleasant floral scent which is lingering but not cloying. The balm softens the dry skin in seconds, it is non greasy but at the same time upon application I felt that it creates a sort of protective barrier (which is a good thing if you tend to deal a lot with water at the kitchen sink). Its effects last for a whole day without re-application. I am very satisfied with the product and highly recommend it.
February 04, 2020
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
extra thin and presice
Summary
Eyeko Black Magic Liquid Eyeliner is a product able to make the thinnest line - its tip is as thin as a needle and it is still saturated with pigment. Making lines upon the eyelids with it is just a question of 2-3 strokes. The liner is liquid enough to glide upon the lid yet it does not imprint on the other parts of the lid. It holds its pigmentation for up to 6 hours, after that I had to re-apply it a bit. I have a travel version of the item and its small size makes it a great companion. The price is, however, not that tempting. Nevertheless, the product is definitely worth buying.
January 29, 2020
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Mildness 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Exfoliators and Peelings
gets job done
Summary
Real Chemistry Luminous 3 minute Peel is a really nice and gentle exfoliator. The instruction recommends using it in shower to save time and it is indeed the best way to apply it. The peel is a transparent dense gel with a chemical (not very pleasant scent). It is to be lightly massaged (not rubbed) into the dampened skin for up to 15-20 seconds (and that's when I had some trouble adjusting in terms of what force of massaging should be). At first it might seem that the gel has no effect but in a few moments the results will be noticeable. The dead skin cells will come out as tiny white rolls or pellets and their quantity will depend on how often you exfoliate. Afterwards, the skin will feel as soft as baby's one, very velvety to the touch. The best thing about this peel is that it is safe to use and does not lead to any kind of irritation or breakouts afterwards. I'd recommend it to be used once in 2 weeks though as not to abuse the product.
January 29, 2020
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Day & Night Moisturisers
great for skin 45+
Summary
I trialed a mini version of PRAI PLATINUM Firm & Lift Crème (10ml) for a week and afterwards gave it to my mom since it was too potent for my 35 y.o. skin. The cream has a dense texture, a subtle pleasant scent and is very scarcely used. It may tingle (and even burn a bit for 10 to 15 seconds) in the sensitive areas (under eyes especially) but afterwards it works a sort of "wrinkle eraser". It really delivers firmness and lifting effect - the skin 'evens out' in bare minutes! And after reading more into its components and instruction I am convinced it is better be used for a mature skin (aged 45+) and even very mature skin (aged 60+). The cream is easily applied and leaves skin moisturized, plump and velvety.

best for mature skin

January 29, 2020
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Value for money 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
2.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
bubbly perfume with a teenage design
Summary
Despite being introduced more that 15 years ago Moschino Cheap & Chic I Love Love is still easy to come by at stores. It is light, citrus-infused scent of summer full of optimism and youth, best suited for people aged 16 - 25. It is a nice pick for everyday use, not expensive, not cloying and rather lasting (up to 5 hrs). The only thing that is off-putting for me is a rather peculiar (childish or garish) design of the bottle, but it is a matter of personal taste. In all other respects it is a pleasant scent that can be recommended.
20200123_133716
January 19, 2020
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
good for coloured hair and frequent styling
Summary
I have a travel version of Bumble & Bumble Hairdresser's Invisible Oil (30 ml) and this cutie is indispensible if you are into dying your hair, frequent styling and/or exposing it to the harsh sunshine (like on the beach without a hat). The texture of the item is reminiscent of a runny conditioner. The oil has a sturdy applicator with a transparent cap that holds fast. 5-6 spritz of the oil is enough to cover middle length hair. The oil is easily distributed, without making hair greasy (like icicles) or weighing it down, its soapy scent is not lingering. I would even say that if you have a fluffy hair this oil will make it more manageable and sort of ‘organise' stray locks into thicker curls (like in my case since I have a wavy hair). This oil also extends the life-cycle of a dye - the colour stays more vibrant for longer. The only disadvantage of the item, that it is rather pricey.
January 19, 2020
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Mildness 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Exfoliators and Peelings
eco-cleanser
Summary
So Eco Konjac Face Sponge Charcoal is 100% natural and suits even sensitive skin owners. It comes in a plastic package in a wet condition, which makes it available for instant application. The Sponge has a shape of a giant drop, and designed in a way so that its sharpened end may be used for T-zone, while its rounded end - for cheeks. It exfoliates very gently and diminishes the blackheads. It is a good solution for those who have combination or oily skin and who use face make up extensively (foundations, primers etc.) since the sponge cleanses all the residues that stuck in the pores. Once dry the sponge gets as hard as rock, bacomes flatter, and is easily stored until next time (the only thing you need to "activate" this beauty item is to saturate it with water). It could be hung by a thread that is attached to it in the bathroom. This sponge is a really nice cleansing beauty treat that I can safely recommend!
January 15, 2020
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
worth every penny!
Summary
I am sincerely impressed with this hand mask. Two hand gloves with a solution inside is neatly placed within lightweight packaging. The application is as easy as pie - the gloves are to be put on for 20-30 minutes. Each glove is marked with a letter (L and R respectively) and next to it is a sticker tab that, once fastened, helps to perfectly fix the glove in place. The feeling of having your hands inside such gloves is quite interesting (a bit cooling sensation) though I wouldn't say that it is unpleasant. The solution inside the glove is in generous amount, but to my surprise, it absorbs quickly and the skin of the back of my palms resembled those of a newborn baby! The after-effect is amazing - hands stay hydrated enough for three solid days even in cold season and with exposure to dry air and regular soap without any additional creams or lotions - it is truly a record for my dry skin. Totally recommend the mask!
January 09, 2020
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Packaging 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
nourishing multi-tasker
Summary
Nuxe Huile Prodigieuse® Riche is a nice multi-functional product for dry skin as well as for dull hair. The oil is as greasy as any other similar oil, but is absorbs rather fast (although the greasy sheen will still be visible for some time). My personal experience with the product is rather successful. As for the skin (face and body), I, even having a dry skin, must admit that the oil is better to be used after the evening shower and at least 30 minutes before bed (to avoid transfer of the product). The oil has buildable effect, hydrates the skin and keeps it well-moisturised and its aroma lingers on the skin for some time, acting also as a calming scent. As for the effects on the hair (and I like those even better), following the application hair becomes softer, more obedient, easier styled, shines and smells heavenly. Two drops of oil spread between the palms are enough to cover the shoulder-length of my hair without making it look like greasy icicles. I can recommend the product, it is indeed a nice one, despite its price and the feeling that it may be substituted with a cheaper similar item.
January 07, 2020
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Body Moisturisers
one of the best body butters!
Summary
Espa Smooth & Firm Body Butter is not as dense as a regular body butter and fast absorbing, which is good in terms that it can be used daily even in the morning. The butter has a texture of a dense white cream infused with lavish patchouli and mandarin scents. It may leave a slight shiny residue following the application but this effect is short lived. The bitter works wonders on dry skin hydrating and revitalising it. I am also glad of having a travel-sized tube of it which is handy in terms of taking the butter on a short trips. The product would best serve the needs of dry skin and due to its richness is better be used in cold season.
January 02, 2020
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
efficient natural moisturizer
Summary
I have tested a travel 30 ml version of Dr. Botanicals Hemp Infused Natural Nutrition Moisturiser and found it quite a nice pick for daily skin hydrating routine. The cream is light-textured and non-oily of a pleasant pistachio hue (which disappears instantly upon application). It absorbs instantly creating a short-lived 'mask' effect (or matte effect). The cream indeed is a perfect moisturiser, it does not clog pores yet insures the healthy look of the skin. Due to its quick absorption and texture, it may be used before application of make up. It does not have SPF though, thus I'd wager that this cream is better solution for the cold season where sunny days are few and far between. It is also economical in use, thus the tube volume may last for ages. In general, I like the cream and can recommend it.
dr_botanicals_hemp
December 17, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
gentle body nourturing milk
Summary
L'Occitane Jasmin & Bergamote Body Milk is a nice, although a bit expensive daily moisturising body product. It has a branded l'occitane packaging with a flip top, which is handy in use although due to the rigidity of the bottle once the milk is at its end it will be difficult to get its remains from the bottle. The product has a light runny texture; it is easily spread and quickly absorbed into the skin, leaving it soft and smooth. The effect is buildable to some extent. The milk smells of bergamot, however, the scent is not lingering. This product is available as a travel version of 30 ml, which is great, although it is not so easy to come by, especially in such a volume. In general, I like the product and can safely recommend it.
November 23, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
natural & nourishing
Summary
Hand and Nail Cream is one of Caudalie's bestsellers and it really lives up to its fame. The cream is neither dense, nor runny, just of medium density. It is easily distributed on the skin, without leaving an oily film in its wake. The cream has a subtle scent, not a perfumed one, but more a natural one, reminiscent of a sweet grapefruit. The cream absorbs in 1-2 minutes. It deeply nourishes and what is even more important has a buildable effect - once a day is enough to keep the skin on my hands hydrated, well-cared for and velvety to the touch. I would say that it has a bit of anti-age effect to it, since the minor wrinkles on the back of my hand is barely visible now, following a month of its use. It is a bit pricey but totally worth it.
November 21, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
great facial and body soap
Summary
L'Occitane Milk Shea Butter Extra Gentle Soap is a love at first sight. I have a mini-version of 25g (great for travel) and that is probably the rare bar soap that does not dry the skin. The soap produces a gentle lather so reminiscent of the foam of boiling milk. It cleanses well leaving a subtle floral scent on the skin. It also deals efficiently even with a moderate make-up and is still easy to come by in l'Occitane stores in different sizes (50g, 100g, 250g). The only thing that dampens the virtues of this soap is its price, but I can recommend it as a good cleansing item.
loccitane_gentle_soap
November 17, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
1.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
not sensitive at all
Summary
I do not have a sensitive skin around the eyes but somehow la Roche-Posay Hydraphase Intense Eyes gel has managed to irritate it. The gel is light-textured but sticky. It is transparent and odourless. A little bit goes a long way, but even such a little bit has an adverse effect for the eyes in terms of slight burning. At the same time, following the application I have not witnessed any specific lessening of puffiness or of dark under-eyes circles. This gel has proved to be a wishy washy item for me. I can't recommend it.
November 09, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
2.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
to be used for dry and extra dry skin
Summary
Being a fan of more citrus- and floral-scented hand creams I nevertheless found this herbal product compatible with the needs of my dry skin. It has a slightly off-putting scent that does not linger once the cream is applied. The cream has indeed a rich dense texture that is not very easily absorb, and thus will not do for a hydration-on-the-go procedure, however, it works wonders to dry skin making it supple and velvety to the touch. This product may easily be acquired in any Body shop and is still widely available at a moderate price which is another plus to its advantages. I'd say it is best used in the evening 1 - 1.5 hours prior to going to bed (in that way it will absorb completely and will not create an impression of oily hands).
November 09, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Well defined lashes 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
an OK product
Summary
Maybelline Puma x Maybelline Smudge-Resistant Mascara comes is a tube of girly shade of violet. It is very conventional in terms of shape and the applicator - no surprises, which makes it an easy and familiar product. The mascara is a rich shade of black and nicely compliments my natural eyelash colour. It is not runny and gets the job done with one swipe. However, if used in two or more layers, it tends to glue the lashes a bit and leave crumbs in its wake. This mascara is more a volumising product, than an item contributing to the length of the lashes. It is also of moisture-resistant sorts that is great to be worn in mists or slight drizzles, but it is not completely water-resistant. In general, this mascara is an OK product with its pros and contras and I can recommend it for an everyday use.
October 31, 2019 (Updated: October 31, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
previos version of Maybelline was better
Summary

Maybelline Hyper Precise All Day Wear Liquid Eyeliner is a redesigned version of MB master precise, and if the latter succeeded in terms of more stylish design and thinner tip, it has not be so successful in terms of longevity: the applicator dries extremely fast - 1.5 months of use...

October 27, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
good product for the hair
Summary
Despite that the producer claims that Melvita Organic Argan Oil may be used on face, body and hair, I mainly applied to the latter, namely, to the ends of my hair which are extremely dry and lifeless. The oil has a relatively thick texture and 100% organic. That means it has a peculiar oil scent with a whiff of bitterness, no artificial perfumes; the scent is not a pleasant one, but once applied I couldn't smell it at all. The oil absorbs quite fast and it is very economical in use - barely two-three drops is enough to cover the entirety of the ends of my hair. After application the hair looks glossy and less damaged, at the same time without looking greasy or dirty. In general my experience with Melvita oil has been successful, and although the oil has not solved all the issues with my hair, but it has much improved its condition.
October 26, 2019
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Packaging 
 
4.0
Long lasting 
 
3.0
Well defined lashes 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
did not like it
Summary
Avon True Colour SuperShock Volume Mascara is a disappointment of the year in mascara's domain for me. Apart from good packaging and well-defined lashes after the application it possesses everything that good mascara should not: its spiky applicator-brush is not convenient, the mascara once applied easily transfers to the lids, and it lacks volume. If you try applying the mascara in 2 layers, the lashes look like curved stalagmites - mascara sticks to them in clumps. On top of that all the mascara dried our completely in a tube after only a month of its use. Do not recommend this one.
October 26, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
pink cuties
Summary
I have indulged in using Paese Blush with Argan Oil in shade #51. It is a mix of peach and pink colour and look very natural on the apples of my cheeks. The blush is packed into a neat packaging with a sturdy seal and had never once opened of its own accord in my purse. Once applied, it stays up to 5 hour without further re-application. The texture of the blush is not chalky, it has just a very tiny shimmer to it, small reflective particles, and has a slight creamy scent. The blush is non-comedogenic and does not clog pores, it looks very natural and the shade can be built from barely visible to a rather dramatic one (f.e. for a party look). I have been using this beauty product for 8 solid months and still have enough in the box. It is a great beauty item that I can recommend!
20190225_190653
October 24, 2019
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
2.0
Moisturising 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
1.0
Value for Money 
 
1.0
too gimmicky in application and messy afterwards
Summary
I have Maybelline Color Sensational Vivid Hot Lacquer Liquid Lipstick in shade 62 Charmer. This lip gloss repeats the majority of similar Maybelline products in its packaging and applicator design, which is handy and utilitarian. The substance is a different story, I'm afraid. The gloss is sticky and it takes a real effort to apply it without staining the teeth. The best solution for me after rather painstaking trials was to keep the mouth firmly shut while applying the product and to blot the lips with a soft napkin immediately after application. The lipstick has a chemical confectionary scent and looks nice on the lips, but it lasts barely several hours. Moreover, if you have a long hair that you wear loose and there is any gust or wind outside, the hair immediately sticks to the lips and then transfers the gloss all over the face. In a nutshell, I have not gone crazy for this product in the slightest.
20190614_100137
532 results - showing 1 - 50
« 1 2 3 4 5 ... »
Results per page:

Connect

My Account

Add

Best Of

Help

Latest

×

Sign up to keep in touch!

Be the first to hear about giveaways and exclusive discounts from BEAUTYONTRIAL and our partners.

Check out our Privacy Policy & Terms of use. You can unsubscribe from our email list at any time.

We have 1089 guests and no members online