Reviews written by 4lex4ndr4

475 results - showing 1 - 50
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Ordering
October 14, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
high-class primer
Summary
Vita Liberata Beauty Blur Skin Tone Optimizer is a nice primer that does not clog pores but at the same time highlights the face, adding a natural nice-tanned glow. It is easily blendable and buildable, melting into the skin. The optimizer has also a lot of tiny shimmering particles that greatly accentuate cheekbones without being too obvious. It will compliment light tan turning it into a deeper shade. The product is also formulated without nasty ingredients which is a good sign. It is a pricey one, but to its credit it does its optimising and self-tanning job perfectly.
20191006_142306-min
October 14, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
pleasantly scented mass market shower gel
Summary
Le Petit Marseillais Extra Gentle Shower Gel, White Peach & Nectarine is a nice mass market shower gel infused with a fresh peach scent. The gel is packed in a greatly designed rectangular packaging with a convenient dispenser. It lasts for ages, one pea-sized drop allows for generous lather. Despite having some not very natural ingredients the gel is a gentle cleanser with its gorgeous scent that lingers open the skin. I really like the product and can safely recommend it.
October 10, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
fantastic tool but for the price
Summary
Luxie 737 Tapered Highlighting Brush has the softest and the thinnest bristles I've ever tried. It is very comfortable in terms of application. Due to irregular shape of the handle and its rubberdized coverage the brush is easy to manage, while the crown of its bristles prived perfect blending tool. I have used it barely for a month and cleaned it, and no bristles have fallen out which is great news. I really like this product and can totally recommend it.
October 09, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Well defined lashes 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
worth its money
Summary
Christian Dior Diorshow Waterproof Mascara defies rain, snow, flaking and panda eyes. I had this cutie in Brown shade and must admit it creates a gorgeous natural look. The applicator is fluffy (just as I like), it may seem too big at the beginning, but I got used to it very quickly. The desired look is created within one swipe of the applicator - which great in terms of saving lots of time. The mascara stays put dawn till dusk, no flaking or smudging. It withstands any weather surprises such as rain, sleet, drizzle and snow, and is easily removed afterwards with micellar water or any make-up remover for that matter. The mascara is pricey, but it pays off at the end.
my_brown_diorshow
October 09, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Packaging 
 
4.0
Cleansing power 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
may do as an ad hoc measure
Summary
Weleda Wheat Balancing Shampoo is a decent solution for a dry, itchy and flaking scalp (provided that the itchiness and dandruff are not caused by any fungus but just a result of improper drying out with a hair dryer). The shampoo has a runny consistence and is a transparent fluid with barely visible yellowish hue. It is composed of natural ingredients and silicone-free thus do not expect any lather from the item - which, as I found, greatly increases its use. If you have a thin 'porous' hair the shampoo will not do much to improve its condition in terms of glossy looks, since it is mostly silicone-based shampoos that do the trick. Weleda shampoo has a peculiar not quite herbal scent which I found to be a bit off-putting at the first try, but then I got used to it. The shampoo cleanses well, deals with flaky scalp in an efficient manner. For me this item proved to be more an occasional measure rather than a regular thing to have on my bathroom shelf, but I still recommend it for its intended use.
weleda_anti-dandruff
October 08, 2019 (Updated: October 08, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
perfect multitasker
Summary
Bellápierre Heatwave Highlighting Palette is the product loveable at first sight. It has 5 magnificent shades in beige and nude tones that will match almost any complexion. I also believe this palette to be a multitasker in terms that it can be used as a highlighting item and an eyeshadow palette. It has a very tiny shimmering particles that contribute to a natural glow. The highlighter is subtle and easily buildable from barely visible office look to a bright party look. The only disadvantage of the palette is the lack of built-in mirror and of the applicator (there is simply no place for the latter within the box). However, it should not discourage anyone from buying this great make-up treat.
bellapiere_heatwave_cosmetics
October 08, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Mildness 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
organic & nourishing
Summary
Natura Herb Infused Sheet Mask comes in a hefty packaging with an eco-design. It is intended to calm down tired irritated skin, infuse it with moisture. The mask itself is of very thin fabric that is nice to put upon the face, however, the amount of the serum or the liquid it is contained is a bit too much. Upon extracting from the packaging the mask is literally dripping its solution. Even after holding the mask on for solid 20 minutes the liquid left is in excess. The mask has a strong herbal scent that is not off-putting. The outcome of the mask action is radiant, nourished and hydrated skin, thus the mask actually relieves you from other skin-caring routine at least for one day.
October 07, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
refreshing but a bit overpowering at application
Summary
Melvita Organic Rose Floral Water is a nice touch to a thirsty skin. I have a travel version and it is a perfect companion on a hot summer day and in a stuffy indoor time spending. The water is lightweight in its texture, infused with natural ingredients and strongly smelling of crushed rose petals (very vintage scent I would say which somehow differs from the other water of the same brand not in a good way). The spray is rather fine, I normally need 2-3 sprits to cover the entire area of my face. After that the feeling of freshness and hydration persists for 2 solid hours. The scent is luckily not so persistent and it fades away once sprayed. In a nutshell, I can recommend this beauty item.
my_melvita_damask_rose
October 06, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
pleasant and refreshing vintage-scented product
Summary
I have tried a travel version of Melvita Rose Extraordinary Water (28 ml) and it is a really nice item to have, especially in summer hot weather. The water has a very slight feeling of oil, but it works more like a tonic or plumping serum. It hydrates without leaving any oily film upon the skin. The product has a powerful scent of crushed rose petals, really natural one and I would say - an old school one. The bottle is made of thick barely transparent dark-blue plastic with a screw cap, however, it does not have a dispenser in order to just spray the water upon the face (would have been very convenient) - it is either your fingertips or a cotton pad, which does not contribute neither to a green consumption nor to sparse use of the liquid. However, I have been pleased with moisturising and nourishing properties of the item as well as with the fact that it is almost 99% organic and can safely recommend it.
mymelvitaroseextraordinairewater
October 05, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
good result but troublesome application
Summary
Weleda Oat Replenishing Conditioner is an item to have especially if you have a fine dry or damaged hair (like mine). It resembles more a thick cream than a conditioner that instantly absorbs into the hair as if it never been applied. However, it is not a 'leave on' product. I used it as a kind of mask (for ten minutes) and such application makes the best results - the hair felt smooth, shiny and was easily combed and styled. It has a pleasant scent which lingers for some time on the hair. In addition, I like that the conditioner has a lot of natural ingredients. Nevertheless, such a conditioner is not suitable for daily use, since it has to be kept on the hair for some time to produce desirable effect.
20190919_172849-min
October 05, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Moisturising 
 
1.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
intriguing matte lip stain
Summary
I find Doucce Luscious Lip Stain a rather controversial product. On one hand, it is stylishly made with a convenient applicator; it holds for ages on the lips and does not transfer. On the other hand, the feeling upon application is unpleasant - fist time I tried it, I felt like I was spreading lime or cement-like substance upon the lips (tasteless, with fine particles and feeling like a solid mask). The application after-effect lasts for a minute or two and after that (when the stain is dry) the lips look indeed perfect - as if I used the help of a professional make-up artist. I have a shade of Holiday Getaway (619) and it is bets suited for 'autumn' complexion (light hazel eyes, pale or slightly tanned skin, hazel/chestnut/light-brown hair).
20190912_105546-min
October 05, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Simply adorable!
Summary
Rituals The Ritual of Holi Nourishing Body Cream is a real treasure for dry skin owners. It has a dense non-greasy texture, evenly spread and sparsely squeezed out for the best results. It leaves no film upon the skin once it is absorbed, which is rather quickly. The results of application are revealed almost instantaneously: the skin feels velvety to the touch and loses all signs of dryness. But the best thing about the item is its heavenly scent - sweet but not overpowering with oriental notes. It lingers and it is a pleasure to smell it on my skin. The cream has a mild buildable effect. It can be used both in summer and in winter for caring hydration of the dehydrated skin.
20190904_104314-min
September 27, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
4.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
nice creamy eyeshadow stick but a bit too dark
Summary
Eyeco fat eye stick truly lives up to its 'fat' attributive - it is hefty and solid in its design with similar mechanism as that of lipstick. The shadow itself has a pleasant creamy texture, it is evenly spread on the lid and the colour is easily buildable. The shadow also has miniscule shimmering particles, which is an added bonus. Such item is a perfect solution for a party smokey-eye make up or a dramatic gala look. It can be used solo as well as in company with other shadows/pencils. The only disadvantage which I have found is the colour - it is a bit too dark even for my hazel eyes. Plus do not mistake this product for an eyeliner, it is far from one - it makes blurry lines as shadows are intended to.
eyeco_gilt
August 30, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Packaging 
 
4.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
nice natural colours palette
Summary
The Nudes Eyeshadow Palette has been my second palette in such Maybelline series. I like the variety of shadows of this palette - it allows creating nude make up both for very pale complexion and a rather tanned skin. In addition, at least 10 out of 12 shades can be used on a regular basis - not all palettes are such lucky, dark shades sometimes sit untouched in my case while light colours are scrubbed to the shining surface of their container. The packaging is a lightweight one and unlike my previous palette of different Maybelline series this one holds firm and sometimes even it’s difficult to open (i.e. no risk accidental opening in the purse and marring of the adjacent items). The packaging vividly displays all its treasures yet it lacks a mirror which means more item to your travel make-up bag. The shadows are long-lasting, but rather dusty when touched with any kind of applicator be it a brush or a foam one. I can totally recommend this one as an every day mass market beauty item.
maybelline_my_nudes
August 30, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
heavenly scented and works like a tonic for the body
Summary
Revive body gel enchants with its fresh juniper-infused scent that lingers well into 24 hours time span and invigorating properties. It improves the skin condition both from outside by moisturizing it and from the inside by facilitating micro-circulation. The gel has very light texture and is sparingly used. I am personally enamored with this beauty item and have been using it for most problematic areas (f.e. those prone to have cellulites) and indeed witnessed some improvement there however minor one.
Aromatherapy Associates Revive Body Gel
August 30, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
both simple and complex make-up removal item
Summary
GLOV On-The-Go makeup removal tool is a nice fluffy mitten that is pleasant to the touch in both dry and wet condition. It is easy just to wet it with tepid water and slightly rub the cosmetics and make-up off the face. It usually takes me three applications of each side of the mitten (and in between I wash the item with a regular soap just not to see the black smudges of mascara and pastel colours of highlighter and eye shadow) to get all the make up off my face. If I use any kind of primer or foundation it takes more tries. To my utter amazement it does clean the entire make up with nothing but its texture and water. The 'glove' indeed saves a lot of money spent on other products like cleansers or micellar water and especially cotton pads and perfect to be taken on a journey (saves up a lot of extra weight). However, I believe that in the long run constant rubbing may benefit the emergence of small wrinkles. In any case, I can recommend the product.
glov_for_BOT
August 30, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
stylish, convenient, hydrating
Summary
Vitamasques Gold Eye Pads are surprisingly convenient in use as well as nicely moisturizing. They are packed into a sturdy golden foil and upon unpacking are glued together (they are so fine in texture that it may seem it is only 1 eye pad instead of two). The amount of liquid surrounding the item is more than enough to cover not only an under eye area, but its leftovers in the package may also be used for cheeks and other sensitive areas. The pads hold really firm and this is a great thing since you may attach them and go about your business or home routine. They are designed in a gold zebra-like fashion (the underside is a silver one) but there is no information on the point which side of the pads have to be applied - golden one or silver one (I went with silver one being on the inside and gold one being on the outside). The solution the pads have been soaked in is very quickly absorbed and creates barely noticeable tingling cooling effect, and afterwards the skin feels nourished and velvety. After using only one pack its is difficult to say whether there is a substantial firming effect, however, moisturizing and hydrating effects combined definitely combat minor 'crows feet' and other skin irregularities. In general, I am very satisfied with these pads and even despite their rather pricey nature can recommend them.
gold_pad_eye_pack
pad_in_action
August 12, 2019 (Updated: August 12, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
light and efficient cream
Summary
I've been testing Elemis Hydra-Balance Day Cream for 3 weeks already and very satisfied with its action. The cream is very light, non-oily and fast-absorbing. It is barely felt on the skin once applied and at the same time it deeply hydrates and improves the skin condition (even in my case of normal to dry skin it delivered enough moisture into it). I have witnessed the diminishing of minor wrinkles, especially, 'crows feet'. At the same time, the cream is not comedogenic, it does not clog pores, and frankly speaking can be used as a night moisturiser as well. Since no SPF protection is stated upon the packaging thus the cream will be better suited for cold season when sunny days are not frequent visitors. In general, I like the product very much and can recommend it.
20190721_193008-min
July 24, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
3.0
Well defined lashes 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
stylish and fancy but dries up fast
Summary
L'Oréal Paradise Extatic Mascara is a decent mass market item, best matched to long and thin lashes for creating natural look. It is stylishly made and have a handy applicator with a regular fluffy brush. It is easily applied, however, I would advise against using it in 2 or more layers, because the action does not essentially change the volume or the length, but definitely entails further flaking of the mascara at the end of the day. The substance of the mascara is prone to drying, it lasted me barely one month and a half before drying out in the tube. Upon use, the rim of the tube accumulates a lot of extra substance that prevents clean application. In a nutshell, I had an interesting experience with an intricately designed L'Oréal Paradise Extatic Mascara but will not buy this very item in future.
L'Oréal Paradise Extatic Mascara
July 24, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Packaging 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Mildness 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
very gentle cleanser
Summary
Naobay Detox Illuminating Micellar Water is an extremely mild cleanser that will suit even the sensitive skin. To be frank, it is one of the rare cleansers that does not burn my eyes when I remove the make up and does not sting the gentle skin there as well. Its cleansing power is also an admiring one - I require only two cotton pads with few drops of micellar water each to get rid of my everyday make up (eyes, lips and cheeks). The product has a pleasant subtle scent, and an appealing design that allows to see the exact amount of water left. However, the flip top cap loos a bit flimsy and I feel that it may come off upon future use. After application, there is a sensation of a very thin film on the face but it feels like the water has additional nourishing components and acts sort of like post-make-up moisturiser. In general, I am very satisfied with the product and can recommend it.
20190721_192931-min
July 11, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
regular conditioner
Summary
Bottega Verde Argan Oil Conditioner is better used with the shampoo of the same line, but it goes well with other shampoos too. It is not an outstanding conditioner since it does what a regular conditioner of any other affordable brand does - helps to make the hair glossy and more manageable. The conditioner has a nice scent, which lingers for a day and a half, it is sparingly used, and the packaging is rather durable. However, the conditioner has some disadvantages as well. Somehow, even after using the conditioner my thin hair does not lose its fluff. Also, the hair gets greasier faster if I use this conditioner, than if I do not use it at all.
July 10, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Packaging 
 
5.0
Cleansing power 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
totally generic for me
Summary
Bottega Verde Argan Oil Shampoo is cheap but rather ordinary shampoo for dry and damaged hair. The Bottega Verde Italian brand claims that its goods have natural ingredients and so on. After using the brand for half a year I have not witnessed much difference with other mass market shampoos - it has not improved the state of my brittle hair, just acted as a usual cleanser. The item has a nice appealing design, pleasant lingering scent and decent lathering properties. After shampooing and drying off the hair it looks shiny, clean and smells well, but it becomes too fluffy and thin to the touch (even if shampoo is followed by the conditioner). Moreover, it is difficult to find in regular stores of similar goods and is easier just to pick another shampoo of any other mass market brand.
July 07, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
light-textured but solid protection
Summary
SVR Sun Secure Blur Cream is a light cream mousse with matting effect. It helps to retain hydration of the face skin, evens out complexion while protecting from harmful sun exposure. Unlike other creams with a sunscreen effect it is not white, but has a light orange colour. Upon application it immediately melts, is quickly absorbed into the skin, leaves no oily shine. Cream mousse creates the effect of an even skin - it smoothes irregularities and improves the overall complexion. And also this mousse is an ideal base for make-up, which is especially crucial for sup-tropical and tropical climate where some like to go on vacation. It protects the skin well from sun burn and redness, while allowing to obtain light nice golden tan. In general I like the product, although it could've been a bit cheaper to be even more pleasant.
Svr Sun Secure Blur Cream Foam Difuminador Effect Optical SPF50
July 05, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
great for dry skin
Summary
I had L'Occitane Iris Bleu & Iris Blanc Perfumed Hand Cream for quite some time and is a quite nice element of a moisturizing routine. It is neatly and pleasantly designed, has a convenient volume for taking it into the purse. It has very pleasant floral scent (iris, I guess), which lingers for quite a while. The cream absorbs very well and its effect remains even if the hands are washed (at least till they are washed for the second time). The cream unfortunately was often sold not as a separate item, but as a package deal, and now it has been discontinued altogether.
July 05, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Packaging 
 
4.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Well defined lashes 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Everything is BIG about this mascara
Summary
Lancôme Monsieur Big Mascara totally lives up to its name - it has a big brush and big thick tube, as well as rather big volume. The tube has a stylish design and sleek surface - the latter is not very practical in terms of ease of application (it slipped several times when I only started using the mascara. The brush is also extra long - longer than the length of the eye, I don't know the reason behind such length, because it does not help with the speed of application but can be not very easy to maneuver instead. The texture of the mascara is neither thick nor runny - just perfect enough for application. It spreads easily and elongates the lashes within mere seconds, the lashes are rather well-defined. However, upon applying in a second layer, I can see tiny clumps or globs and upon closer inspection they create an impression of a slightly messy image. And that is surprising for a mascara of such price and fame. The mascara holds from dawn till dusk, no flaking or smudging under eyes was detected. In general, I am satisfied with this product, although it has some minor negative issues.
my_mr_big
July 03, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Value for money 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
gentle way to gradually get a decent tan
Summary
I would say that MineTan 3 in 1 Tan Lotion can blow one's mind in terms of safe and natural tanning. It is not a generic self tan that may turn you into leopard with horrible dark-yellow spots. This lotion acts slowly but surely. It looks and smells like a regular moisturizer (more a cream than a lotion) and acts like one quickly absorbing into the skin. No adverse effects. It does not require washing off and a little of the substance goes a long way. The results are slow to come and they appear faster on more pale skin (if you have any basic natural tan the outcome will be even slower to manifest).The biggest plus of the lotion is that the tan indeed looks as if you have been exposed to a moderate sun bath (early or mid-spring tan, nothing as aggressive as sun parlor tan or beach tan when the outside temperature is above 30 degrees Celsius). The tan fades away in about five days. The product is safe to use even on the face. I really like this item and apart from very gradual manifestation of the tan, it has no weak points.
MineTan 3-in-1 Invisible Color Everyday Glow Gradual Tan Lotion
June 30, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Moisturising 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
great lip make-up tool - one of the best!
Summary
I have Mellow Cosmetics Gel Lip Pencil in shade Aria - something between terracotta and mocco shade, that will definitely suit people with pale skin and 'autumn' complexion. The pencil is very stylishly designed and easy in application. It reminds of a matte lipstick yet has one undisputable advantage - it does not dry the lips. Moreover, I would even say it gives some hydration. The pencil has a pleasant creamy texture and glides over the lips like butter. It stays put for hours and withstands even interaction with drinks and food - a perfect item for having an impeccable look the whole day. Totally recommend!
mellow_liP_pencil_aria
June 30, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
velvety skin & good nourishment
Summary
Avant Facial Serum is a good additional hydrating treatment for dry and normal skin - I have been using it almost on a daily basis for a month and can say that I like the product. It has a lightweight creamy non-oily texture and is very quick to absorb. It does not clog pores or create the feeling that something is covering the skin It can be used both as a pre-make up item and a good moisturizer before bed. It has a slight, almost imperceptible floral scent which does not linger, but personally it is up to my taste. Following barely a week after daily application the results are visible - velvety even skin and much healthier look. I can't say for sure for its anti-age effect, I believe that lessening of my 'crows feet' or any other wrinkles more has to do with the serum's hydration properties and probably does not have buildable effect in the long term. The only big disadvantage of the serum is that it is very expensive, yet, I still can recommend it.
myavant
June 28, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
cooling, healing, tasty, hygenic
Summary
EOS Medicated Cooling Chamomile Pain Relieving Lip Balm is a salvation for dry and cracked lips. It is deeply hydrating and have a menthol-like cooling sensation that may also relieve the pain temporarily. The balm has a cute egg-shaped lightweight packaging, that safely and neatly seal the balm inside. Due to a spherical shape of the balm there is no need to use any applicator and the bottom half of the 'egg' is easy to hold to apply the product. The item is sparingly used - 1 piece is enough to last good 6 months (provided there is a daily use). The only problem with the balm is that it is a bit pricey and sometimes difficult to find in stores.
my_eos_chamomile
June 24, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Value for money 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
mass market anti-perspirant
Summary
I really like Garnier Mineral Action Control+ Clinically tested Antiperspirant Roll-On for every day to the office. This year we have an extremely hot (+32 C) summer and this antiperspirant helps to tame any nasty sweat consequences. Applied early morning it lasts till the very evening, it suppresses the appearance of moisture as well as masks any scent except for its own. It has a generic mildly sweet scent (may become a bit annoying if used every day for two consecutive months). After application it does not burn or produce any other adverse effect (even if the armpits have been just treated with razor or with depilation cream). It is a lightweight item and can be carried on for a trip, as well as bought on the spot in almost any mass market store. It is cheap as well and will definitely do as a daily sweat-combating routine.
June 12, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
great for fine and unruly hair
Summary
Wella INVIGO Nutri-Enrich Deep Nourishing Mask is best suited for fine dyed hair. It has a creamy texture, which is easily applied to the hair and sort of 'melts' into the hair texture. It is moisturizes, neither weights the hair down afterwards nor makes it greasier. The hair feels soft to the touch and easy to comb even after the first application of the mask. It has a pleasant peculiar fresh scent of goji berry I guess which lingers for a day or a day and a half. The effect of the use is not cumulative. The mask is very sparingly used which is another advantage as well as its affordable price.
my_goji_berry_wella_mask
June 12, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
dense and nourishing, good for dry skin
Summary
Polaar Northern Light Smoothing Cream has a very rich texture, however it does not clog pores and is soaked by the skin completely in 5 to 10 mins. It is too heavy to use in the morning, so I prefer applying it 1 h before sleep. It does wonders to the skin - makes it velvety and soft, well-nourished and hydrated. At the same time it doesn't entail any breakouts afterwards. It has a nice herbal scent. I have a 25ml travel version and it is possible to take it on vacation and proceed with nightly skin hydrating routine. Totally recommend.
20190604_155400(1)-min
20190605_090338(1)-min
June 10, 2019 (Updated: June 10, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Cleansing power 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
gives volume but makes the hair feel sticky
Summary
Batiste Dry Shampoo Heavenly Volume appeared to be not the one to my liking. I was enchanted by another Batiste dry shampoos, but this one disappointed me in two respects. Despite that it gives some volume (not much in comparison with regular shampoo of the same brand), cleanses the hair, easy to come by and very cheap, the latter feels sticky to the touch after the application. Another drawback is the scent. It is too sweet and cloying, and lingers on the hair. It is not as I am against this shampoo, but there are much batter ones of Batiste, that I probably will not recommend this one for the sake of the others.
20190606_150224-min
June 10, 2019 (Updated: June 10, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
does its job but the sensation is off-putting
Summary
skinChemists Rose Illuminating Glow Instant Hydrogel Eye Pads has been my first experience with eye pads, and I have mixed feelings about them. Those pads go in a neat easy to use lightweight packaging (8.5g) and can be used almost anywhere, so I consider them travel-friendly. The texture of the pads is nice to the touch and at first they provide a cooling sensation. However, after appr. 1 min of application they start burning. I do not know whether it is my personal peculiarity, but the sensation (although it does not entail any visible adverse effects) may not be called a pleasant one. I barely lasted through 10 mins of application of the pads. One more disadvantage is they tended to slip down my face each time I tried to take an upright position. Thus, I believe, it is not possible to have them applied and go about your business (time-consuming routine). The scent of the pads reminded me a dry (decaying) rose petals and was quite peculiar). My eyes looked better after the use of the item, the skin felt hydrated and nourished and signs of fatigue were gone. Nevertheless, I have not liked the sensation of the application, and that along with the price urges me not to recommend the item.
20190608_193147-min
June 04, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Value for money 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
sensual and refreshing
Summary
I've encountered Giorgio Armani Emporio Armani Diamonds Rose is a travel set of the brand EDPs and EDTs and have been pleasantly surprised with the item. The EDT opens up with fresh streak of blackcurrant and slowly evolves into lily of the valley and bergamot notes. The scent is very feminine and will be best suited for warm season, however, it is quite universal to be 'worn' in the cold season as well. Its universality also applies to different occasions - romantic date, a day in the office, festive event. It has quite good longevity for an EDT - about 5 hours, afterwards, it has to be re-applied. It is a very pleasant perfume, I can recommend it both as a purchase and as a present.
myarmanidiamondsrose
May 27, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
keeps the haircut intact for long
Summary
Syoss Ceramide Complex Hairspray is a nice mass market styling tool. It is easy in application - dries quickly and does not glue the hair into icicles. It is also easily removed when combing and does not make the hair look greasy, it is colorless (without any residue). It has quite a firm hold upon the hair - I wouldn't say 48 h, but 24 h for sure. It also withstands a hat or a cap, retaining the desired look. As a bonus the product contains panthenol, glycerin and vitamins that protect the hair and scalp from drying out. It has quite a potent scent though and it may not be to everyone's liking. Another little hindrance is that it is more a spray than an aerosol, so one has to get used to it a bit. Nevertheless, it is a reliable hairspray and a great budget option in terms of styling.
May 06, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Value for money 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
vintage femininity
Summary
Twilly d'Hermes EDP comes in a very stylish packaging and after trying feels a lot like a pure tuberose to me. Even sandalwood, that is in the notes, just emphasizes and strengthens tuberose, remaining almost completely in its shadow. The scent is extremely persistent - even late in the evening after a whole day of 'wearing', it smells quite lively and uncorrupted. This EDP is quite a warm one, and for me associated with summer and warmth even on rainy cold days. However, despite it has been designed for young women, it smells like vintage item, reminding of the times long gone, thus may not be to everyone's liking.
May 04, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
nice hand cream for travelling
Summary

I love L'Occitane 30ml travel size hand creams for their ergonomic design and overall effect. This Neroli and Orchid variety has charmed me into trying it by its scent - it is truly delicious floral one. It has a non-greasy texture, reminiscent more of body milk than a cream, quickly...

May 04, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
only as an emergency beauty item
Summary
I've bough L'Oréal Magic Retouch Instant Root Touch Up in Dark Brown for covering few strands of gray roots that appeared after I seized dying my hair blond and turned to natural dark brown colours. This product is good if there is no time to properly dye the hair yet you have to attend any official event or celebration. It is rather easy to apply, however it takes some time to get hold of the procedure - first few times I had to clean the skin near the intended spot of application following the spraying of the item. The product will not do in cold season - it easily transfers onto the cap or hat and generally is not a long lasting thing. The hair once it has been sprayed with the product looks and feels a bit greasy although finely dyed. After trying this temporary dye I believe it is better to either dye the hair or use some kind of temporary toning item (lasting for several washes of the head) than to smear everything with this L'Oréal product...
L'Oréal Magic Retouch Instant Root Touch Up
May 01, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Packaging 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
heavenly scented body wash
Summary
I stumbled upon a travel 24ml version of Crabtree & Evelyn Verbena and Lavender de Provence Shower gel while staying at the Hilton chain and I really enjoyed the product. The gel is runny, with a pale greenish tint and delicious fresh verbena scent - very energizing especially in the morning. The gel produces decent lather (not lots of foam but enough to feel comfortable) and leaves afterwards feeling of cleanliness. Its biggest disadvantage is its price, which is rather high for such products even taken into account its excellent quality. However, I still recommend the product, it really makes a showering time full of amazing scent and sensation.
May 01, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Cleansing power 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
pleasant scent and decent result
Summary
Natural & Light Bare variety of Batiste TM definitely bests other such shampoos in terms of its scent (subtle, cotton-ish, non-cloying), yet it is not that efficient as the Original one. In all other respects it lives up to its expectations: it is very easy to use almost anywhere, delivers quick result, much improves the look of the hair in about several minutes, and is very cheap. It is not economical, thus be ready that a 200ml bottle will be used up in about 12 applications. Since I tried Batiste shampoos, I definitely can say that they are a no.1 dry shampoos (and each one can find a variety to her or his taste) and I can recommend it.
April 10, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
not bad but...
Summary
Emité Make Up Lash Curler has been my first experience in lash curving routine. It is rather easy to use once you get the hang of the tool. It is durable, nicely designed (easy to hold and use without pinching the lids), has removable pads as a bonus. It gives a nice curl which holds all day long. If the curler is heated a bit it acts even more efficiently like a lash 'iron'. However, I have middle length and moderately curved lashes, and after using the lash curler for some time I can say that I would recommend this tool for people who have straight lashes or barely curled lashes, because in my case I could've gone without the tool.

for straight and barely curved lashes

April 06, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
4.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Moisturising 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
glossy and moisturising
Summary
L'Oréal Paris Color Riche Shine Lipstick is a nice mass market beauty item. It glides easily and covers the lips surface evenly without gathering in creases or leaking. It has a slight gloss/shimmer and feels pretty moisturizing. The lipstick holds in place for about 3.5 hours, has a moderate transfer, and fades gradually and evenly. I have a baby pink shade (#112) and it looks nicely upon the lips, adding some vulnerability to the image. The only drawback is that if you order such lipstick online the shade will most probably not match the actual result on the lips.
20190403_145511
April 06, 2019 (Updated: April 06, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Well defined lashes 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
reliable mascara
Summary
Doucce Punk Volumizer Mascara is a good reliable mascara good for daily use. It has a pretty fluffy applicator (a bit too large, but with time one get used to it) and defines lashes well. It does not generate clumps and does not glue lashes together. It will not give you a false lashes look - not much volume here, but it will definitely add length. I have a mini version from a beauty box and it is convenient as a carry on item as well. Can definitely recommend the item!
Doucce Punk Volumizer Mascara
March 24, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Value for money 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
floral feminine perfume
Summary
Viktor & Rolf Flowerbomb Bloom EDT lives up to its 'flowerbomb' name - the scent is indeed very floral, although not stuffy, powdery or overpowering. Its citrus notes go well with freesia and rose ones, adding some space and air to flowery bouquet. The EDT charms upon its first spray. It lasts for 3 to 4 hours, which is very good for an EDT, and can be used on a daily basis. The EDP emanates elegance, confidence and femininity, and to my opinion will be best suited for ladies 27+, rather than teens.
March 24, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
pumping up some volume
Summary
I have middle length hair (falling to my shoulder blades), it is fine and often is flattened by the length, so Philip Kingsley Maximizer has been a welcomed beauty treat. I have a travel version of 60ml, it is extra light and very easy in terms of application. The scent is a bit cloying but it does not linger. I've tried the maximizer both on hair that had just been dried after the shampoo and 'two-day old' hair - in both cases the maximizer indeed provided the needed volume (loss so in the latter case, but still). I wouldn't say that it gives an extreme volume, but it is enough to make the hair look fluffy and not plastered to the scalp. The spray is not sticky and doesn't make the hair become greasier faster. It withstands some nasty weather (like extra humidity in the air), but will not hold if there is a moderate rain or snow. In general, I am satisfied with experience and can recommend the item.
PK_maximizer
March 24, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Moisturising 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
a pencil and a lipstick
Summary
I have Lord & Berry 20100 Maximatte Crayon Lipstick in elegant shade of intimacy #3405 - perfect for daily wear, romantic dates and even evening cocktails. The pencil glides over the lip as a piece of hardened butter and is very easy to apply and to make a nice contour. The pencil may also be used as a lipstick - it will create a neat matte cover and dramatic look. Although in the latter case the lips may feel a bit dry and I would recommend that beauty 'life hack' only in emergencies. The pencil almost does not transfer (it may leave a barely perceptible stain on the cup, but in comparison with regular lipsticks, it is barely visible) and stays put up to 4-5 hours. A small size of the pencil makes it a perfect companion in my purse. It has a neat transparent cap that does not come loose accidentally. The pencil is pricey though, but I believe, it such price is well-deserved.
20190317_151417
March 17, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
in love with this face form palette
Summary
I have Sleek Face Form Contouring & Blush Palette in Light 373 shade and extremely satisfied with it. The design of the packaging is well-tailored and ergonomic, it seals the contents shut and keeps them from breaking or spilling out. The highlighter, bronzer and blush all have natural colours and just enough shimmer to produce a noble glow of the skin. I apply them using a brush, but can easily envisage the situation when a finger will do as well (the packaging doesn't have a built in applicator). The powders do not dust, neither they do produce any clumps or uneven patches. The powders are not very saturated (definitely not for professional use) thus it might take time to build in colour, but for everyday make up it is a perfect tool. I really like the set and already carry it with me at all times.
20190311_162925
March 17, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Mildness 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
2.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Exfoliators and Peelings
deep cleansing but not hydrating and overpriced
Summary
Sea Mud Deep Cleansing Bar by Erno Laszlo is a good solution for those who suffers from excessive face oil and has combination skin with enlarged pores. I've been using the soap every other day for 12 days and have already observed its action. The soap doesn't have a lot of lather, but it is enough to cover the face. It has a bit coarse texture but this coarseness isn't felt while applying to the skin. The scent of the soap is a bit unpleasant - smth muddy or herbal, but it is not lingering. Following the application the pores become cleaner, the black dots in the T-zone have greatly diminished. The skin as a whole also feels very clean. There is a small tightness and dryness after the application (I guess it has to do with the fact that I have normal to dry skin, not exactly the intended type for this soap), but such feeling passes after using moisturiser or cream. However, the soap's price is too high to my opinion, and despite it delivers good results, I believe there are cheaper similar products to use with the same or even better effect (especially for those who have dry skin and need exfoliation).

will do oily and combination skin, other skin types owners may need a follow up moisturiser but can be asily changed with more budget exfoliators and cleansers

Erno Laszlo Sea Mud Deep Cleansing Bar
March 10, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
4.0
Well defined lashes 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
delivers a lot, but be careful with flaking
Summary
Maybelline Snapscara Mascara is an interesting wax-free novelty. I have decided to give it a try and left pretty satisfied with results. The mascara is neatly designed with a well-advised applicator (spoolie) - the latter deals with even the shortest eyelashes while curling them up the same time. The substance of the mascara is not runny like a normal one should be, but a more plastic one, yet it nicely spreads over the whole lengths of the lashes - it defines, it elongates, it gives texture. The snapscara is also easily removed even with regular water (no going out into rainy or snowy weather though...). The only disadvantage is that once the lashes come in contact with a fringe or bangles or any other item, the mascara may flake (it does not smudge, and is easily flaked off as a fine powder). I guess it has smth to do with its wax-free texture. In any case, I can recommend this product.
Maybelline Snapscara Mascara Very Black
475 results - showing 1 - 50
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Results per page:

Connect

My Account

Add

Best Of

Help

Latest

×

Sign up to keep in touch!

Be the first to hear about giveaways and exclusive discounts from BEAUTYONTRIAL and our partners.

Check out our Privacy Policy & Terms of use. You can unsubscribe from our email list at any time.

We have 949 guests and no members online