Reviews written by 4lex4ndr4

566 results - showing 1 - 50
1 2 3 4 5 ... »
Ordering
July 14, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Packaging
 
5.0
Long lasting
 
5.0
Well defined lashes
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
5.0
Bestseller from Dior
Summary
Christian Dior Diorshow Mascara still remains one of this TM bestsellers and it lives up to its fame. The mascara tube itself is a hefty one with a concise yet stylish design and large fluffy applicator. The mascara smells faintly of a perfumed rose (elegant and posh scent) which is also nice. If used in one layer it produces natural look, when all the lashes are defined and become more prominent. If you apply two layers you well may end up having a fake lashes look but it still looks dramatic, not vulgar. The mascara is long lasting - both in terms of storage (shelf life) and in terms of staying put upon your lashes - it doesn't flake and doesn't smudge. Actually, I would say that this beauty product is a great choice albeit pricey.
Christian Dior Diorshow Mascara
July 14, 2020 (Updated: July 14, 2020)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Mildness
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
4.0
pricey but worth every penny
Summary
Elemis Peptide4 Plumping Pillow Facial is a great overnight mask. Its texture is more that of a cream - lightweight and almost imperceptible. The mask has a very pale bluish tint, but it is invisible once applied. It smells delicious as well, something that it conducive to fall asleep sooner. To my amazement, it absorbs within seconds and leaves no prints or marks on the pillow. In the morning, it is enough to wash it with a small amount of lukewarm water (or simply lightly rub off with a wet towel). It is deeply moisturising and nourishing. I use the mask once every two days to keep the skin tone balanced, and my skin complexion refreshed. Totally recommend!
July 10, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.9
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Absorption
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
4.5
a pampering beauty item
Summary
Elemis Sea Lavender & Samphire Body Cream has a lot to offer - starting from great looks and ending with great content and deliverables. The cream design is a real apple of one's eye - modern and fascinating. The cream itself is white, non-transparent with a moderately dense texture and pleasant aroma which is a mix between marine scent and a lavender one. The cream is easily absorbed and nicely nourishes even dry skin. it also helps relaxing after a long day of work (if your feet are feeling fatigued and swollen, this cream will lessen the uncomfortable effects of such condition). For me it is more an evening moisturizer than a morning one due to it calming effect. I really enjoy this beauty item and can recommend it.
July 10, 2020
Overall rating
 
3.6
Packaging
 
4.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
3.0
Scent
 
3.0
Value for Money
 
3.0
does its job but with some peculiarities
Summary
Eucerin Sensitive Protect Sun Spray Transparent SPF50 delivers well in terms of its producers promises. It ensures no sunburn providing at the same time nice tan (like that of a freshly baked bread). The bottle has nice ridges at its sides that enables firm grip and convenient niches for the fingers. Yet the dispenser is not so convenient - it feels like it is rusty since it is difficult to push down (takes time and patience to master). Upon pushing down the dispenser provides for fine mist of the substance, the spray is actually so fine that it may be carried elsewhere but not onto your skin if the weather is windy enough. Thus - 'a little goes a long way' is definitely NOT a phrase I would describe this item with. You have to use a lot of it to cover wide area of your body. Once applied it is invisible and I even wouldn't say it is greasy. It has a moderate alcohol-based scent, which at first I didn't like but got accustomed with time. The substance stays put even after a few swims (without feeling oily or any other sensation of uncomfortable) and it actually protects even at the midday sun (but do not push it too far). So, taking into account all its pros and contras I still would recommend it because I like the outcome.
July 07, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.8
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Absorption
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
3.5
Day & Night Moisturisers
part-moisturizer, part-cleanser
Summary
Elemis Dynamic Resurfacing Facial Pads is a beauty item worth trying. The pads are contained in an air-tight packaging (easily opened and shut) and soaked in lactic acid. However, they are quite gentle to the skin, doing their hydrating and exfoliating business on a micro-level. They help with flaking skin and addressing other minor skin issues such as uneven skin tone, old acne marks and fatigue lines. I believe these pads will also do well for sensitive skin since they do not provoke redness or cause any unpleasant sensation. They are not cheap, alas, but once in a while they are a good buy.
July 07, 2020 (Updated: July 07, 2020)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Packaging
 
4.5
Texture
 
5.0
Mildness
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
3.0
Value for Money
 
4.5
nice cleanser with mild peeling effect
Summary
Elemis Tri-Enzyme Resurfacing Facial Wash that has been re-branded as Dynamic Resurfacing Facial Wash is a perfect solution for hot season. It has a creamy texture (being white and semi-transparent) and produces decent foam. It is easily applied and is very gentle to the skin and to removing dead skin cells. The face wash contains some mild SLS but if used occasionally it should do OK. The only qualm that I’ve found with this wash is its scent - it is chemical and may be overpowering. But all and all, it can be tolerated, since the scent is not lingering.
June 23, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.8
Packaging
 
5.0
Long lasting
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
4.0
great beauty item albeit pricy
Summary
Diorshow Maximizer 3D primer looks like white mascara (and smells respectively), yet it is a very handy tool if you want a really thick (almost fake-looking) lashes. Even in one layer it definitely makes a difference. Once applied it is barely seen on the lashes (no 'white frost' effect). The primer is as easy to handle as a usual mascara, and it can be used both with its brand-related products and with other brand's mascaras. In the latter case, it can also contribute to better looks if the mascara fails to deliver enough length or volume. It is a real deal and I can safely recommend it.
Christian Dior Diorshow Maximizer 3D Triple volume plumping lash primer
June 23, 2020
Overall rating
 
3.8
Packaging
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
3.0
Ease of use
 
3.0
Value for Money
 
3.0
not as amazing as its smell
Summary
This Ultimate Blends Hair Food Banana Mask is an OK item, if we are talking about mass-market treatment. It has a great volume/price ratio and usually can be found in many stores. The substance of the mask is a bit too runny and I have had to practice to apply it in order not to use extra and waste the thing. It smells heavenly (and that was 90% reason I bought it), but do not expect deep nourishment or fantastic changes. The mask acts as a good conditioner, contributing to hair gloss and easy brushing. As for addressing dry tips issues, it did relatively nothing. Yet, I can still recommend it due to other advantages (like price, lingering scant and overall OK effect on the hair).
Garnier Ultimate Blends Hair Food Banana 3-in-1 Dry Hair Mask Treatment
June 18, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Absorption
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
5.0
perfect for summer heat!
Summary
Elemis Superfood Kefir-Tea Mist is a great solution for refreshing your face in warm season. The mist is embodied in a convenient plastic tube with a spray dispenser and two spritz are enough to cover the entire face. It is also infused with a fresh bergamot scent and can be used by both men and women. Following the application the mist is quickly absorbed yet it leaves a lasting (up to 2 to 3 hours) reviving and hydrating effect. The mist is rich in antioxidants and upon extended use it improves the complexion of the skin. In case you have a travel version, it is also easy to take into carry on bag. In a nutshell, it is an essential beauty item to have.
Elemis Superfood Kefir-Tea Mist
June 17, 2020 (Updated: June 18, 2020)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Packaging
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
3.0
Value for Money
 
5.0
unusual but efficient
Summary
This mass market body wash has instantly appeal to me due to its composition and intended effect. Surprisingly, it is not oily or greasy and acts as an invigorating and refreshing cleanser. It does not dry the skin and efficiently deals with dirt. It has a strong scent of clay, but personally for me it is not off-putting. I can safely recommend this body wash novelty.
Dove Purifying Detox Body Wash with Green Clay
June 17, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.7
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Absorption
 
4.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
4.0
moisturizing treatment with a pleasant after-effect
Summary
I have a 10ml travel version of Night Recovery Cream-Oil and am very satisfied with the product. It is designed to provide just enough substance without spilling any extra. The oil is more a runny cream in texture, but its slight oiliness is felt after the application. The product indeed acts as a good item for combating fatigue signs and managing minor wrinkles. I can feel its effect even in the evening of the next day following an application - that is even if I had less sleep than I should have the skin looks refreshed and hydrated (not tired or saggy). This night cream-oil is really a good product, albeit pricy.
Elemis Peptide⁴ Night Recovery Cream-Oil
June 11, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.7
Packaging
 
4.0
Texture
 
5.0
Absorption
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
4.5
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
4.0
nourishing and hydrating
Summary
Elemis Pro-Collagen Marine Cream is a nice day supportive care for deep hydration and addressing minor signs of aging. The cream is packed in a good, sturdy looking jar which is protected against frequent exposure to the air (yet it is also difficult to open sometimes since the inner lid that covers the substance fits too firmly). The cream itself is very light in texture and absorbed within seconds It has a peculiar scent between something herbal and something from algae, but it is not an off putting one and does not linger for a long time. In general, I can recommend this beauty item, but beware of its price - it is a bit too high for a daily cream with no SPF.
Elemis Pro-Collagen Marine Cream
June 10, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.5
Packaging
 
5.0
Long lasting
 
4.0
Effectiveness
 
4.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
4.5
marvellous colour
Summary
CND Vinylux Weekly Polish in Pretty Poison 137 is a cross between total black and dark emerald green. It beautifully shines with tiny shimmer sparkles if presented to bright light while it also may remain opaque and seem like greenish-black if the illumination is scarce. The polish has a convenient applicator brush. Once applied it stays intact up to 3-4 days, but no longer (the layer at ends of the nails becomes chipped at that time). No. 137 is a gorgeous solution both for the party time and the office work, and I can safely recommend it.
CND Vinylux Pretty Poison 137 Weekly Polish
CND Vinylux Pretty Poison 137 Weekly Polish
June 07, 2020 (Updated: June 07, 2020)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Mildness
 
4.5
Effectiveness
 
3.5
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
4.0
gentle cleanser but may not be enough for cleansing the make up
Summary
Dr Jart+ Dermaclear Micro Foam Cleanser is a good solution for cleansing your skin (even if you have a dry one). It is a cross between gel cream and a mousse - since it turns into the latter once rubbed gently between wet palms. It produces a good thick fine foam, that coats every bit of the face and mildly cleanses it. It is easily applied (one pea-sized amount is enough for the whole face) and is easily rinsed off. The cleanser strongly smells of bergamot, and its scent lingers upon the skin for some time. It has a convenient flattened tube that allows for economic use and its wide lid serves as a good stand. The only real qualm I have managed to discover with this cleanser is that it is not very efficient in dealing with cosmetics (especially a waterproof one). I had to use it at least twice to get rid of non-waterproof mascara and non-waterproof liner. As for the rest it is a great non-comedogenic cleanser for everyday use.
June 01, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.6
Packaging
 
5.0
Long lasting
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
4.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
4.0
very long lasting but may affect the colour of other polishes/varnishes
Summary
CND Vinylux Weekly Top Coat is a great tool for those who like to keep their manicure intact for 7 days without fearing of any chipped ends. The transparent substance is very easily applied due to a narrow brush, it dries within seconds forming a solid cover for the base polish/varnish. It may come into effect with that layer and produce slightly different shade that you had expected (and mainly that feature relates to the CND Vinylux shades, while polishes of other brands seem to be less affected). The top coat allows the nail surface to be glossy for a long time and looking as the nails in question have just been painted. It is a worthy product, although a bit overpriced.
CND Vinylux Weekly Top Coat Nail Varnish
CND Vinylux Weekly Top Coat Nail Varnish
May 30, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.7
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Absorption
 
4.0
Effectiveness
 
4.5
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
4.0
hevenly scented hand wash
Summary
Avon Senses Mystique Daily Hand Wash is a nice convenient wash for both hands and to be used as a shower gel. Despite its ingredients are far from natural, it does not dry the skin. It lathers up in seconds, forming a nicely scented foam and afterwards cleanses well the grime. The scent lingers upon the skin for hours and with time it doesn't become cloying or gets on one's nerves. The only qualm I could find about this wash is it is a bit overpriced while being a generic mass market item.
Avon Senses Mystique Daily Hand Wash
May 26, 2020
Overall rating
 
2.4
Packaging
 
3.5
Texture
 
4.0
Absorption
 
1.5
Effectiveness
 
1.5
Ease of use
 
2.5
Scent
 
3.0
Value for Money
 
1.0
hydrating but not without clogged pores
Summary
Botanical Cream with Grape Water is a typical mass market cream intended to moisturize and hydrate normal to combination skin. It does this function well, but while acting this way it also leaves a thin film upon the skin. It is indeed surprising since the texture of the cream is very light (like a gel), but still... I believe it is the reason that this cream is a comedogenic one. It also rolls into pellets if used even a bit in excess. The scent is a herbal one, it is nice at first, but for me it soon turns off-putting. After the cream hasn't lived up to my expectations upon the face, I use it as a hand cream - there I am satisfied with its effects.
Garnier Skin Naturals Botanical Cream with Grape Water
May 15, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.9
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Absorption
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
4.0
plumping lip balm
Summary
Bioderma Atoderm Lip Stick is a deeply moisturizing lip balm with a slight raspberry scent. Following the application it leaves a slight film upon the lips yet it does not feel uncomfortable. The balm does not wear off for a long time and deeply hydrates the lips. This effect promptly regenerates chapped lips and keep them moisturized. It is especially essential in cold weather. The lipstick lasts for a long time. It is a good purchase, although a bit pricey.
Bioderma Atoderm Lip Stick
May 14, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Packaging
 
5.0
Long lasting
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
5.0
long-wear polish
Summary
CND Vinylux Long Wear Polish has tons of varieties of shades to offer, I used Kiss of Fire (#288) from 2018 Collection. It has an oval-shaped brush applicator, and the polish itself is a mix between a maroon colour (if applied in 2 layers) and a red one (if applied in 3 layers) with tiny sparkles. The polish has an excellent longevity, it stays intact for good 3-4 days without any chipped ends, and I also like its ability to change colour depending on saturation. The bottle of the polish is a big one, but I would say that it is a plus. In general, I am very satisfied with the product and can recommend it.
CND Vinylux Long Wear Polish
CND Vinylux Long Wear Polish
May 10, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.6
Packaging
 
5.0
Long lasting
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
4.5
Value for Money
 
3.5
beautifully embodied highlighters palette
Summary
the Balm The Manizer Sisters paletter is a perfect travel companion. It has three options for best addressing all angles and nuances on the face, and at the same time it is implemented in a very travel-friendly package (large mirror, thick cardboard packaging with magnets built into its lid, large round containers for the blushes). The Cindy-Lou Manizer shade is a good rosy-peach blush, very good for a fair complexion, while Mary-Lou Manizer shade is a nice natural highlighter in the essence of this word. They both have a shimmer yet it doesn't look vulgar. As for the bronze shade Betty-Lou Manizer, it is best used on a tan skin since it is very pigmented and very shimmery (or perhaps, in a heavy dramatic evening make up). All the shades are long lasting and their colour is buildable. The palette is quite pricey and there are a lot of fakes, but it is a great beauty product, nonetheless.
the Balm The Manizer Sisters AKA the "Luminizers”
May 09, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.9
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Mildness
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
4.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
5.0
affordable and mild cleanser
Summary
SVR SEBIACLEAR Foaming Gel Cleanser is not the item I bought for myself, it is used by other members of my family who have oily and combination skin, yet I cleanse my T-zone with this gel occasionally if there is a need to get rid of any breakouts. The gel is almost transparent with a slight greenish tint to it. It has a good lather yet the amount of the gel has to be also generous to get that. It acts quite mildly, does not dry the skin, cleanses well and leaves just a barely smelled scent of herbs on the skin. It has a sturdy convenient dispenser and a large volume decently priced. It helps both to prevent breakouts and to deal with already existing onces. In general I can recommend this beauty item, it is worth its money.

best for oily skin, but will do for normal skin as well, good in terms of addressing occasional breakouts

SVR SEBIACLEAR Foaming Gel Cleanser
May 05, 2020
Overall rating
 
3.7
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
4.0
Absorption
 
3.0
Effectiveness
 
4.0
Ease of use
 
4.0
Scent
 
2.0
Value for Money
 
4.0
good for the body, bad for the face
Summary
YR pure calmille cream is known to be as one of the brand's bestsellers and it really has something to 'say' on the matter. The cream is dense, very hydrating. It is designed for the driest of skin spots and it perfectly hydrates them (personally I prefer to use it for my heels and palms). Due to its structure the product takes some time to absorb (up to 5 minutes) and would be best used as an evening moisturiser. It also will be quite heavy for the face, even for dry skin. The cream clog pores and is quite comedogenic if used in that way. The other unsettling thing about this item is its very chemical and very potent scent which lingers for far too long. I would recommend trying it before buying to avoid any hard feeling afterwards. However, if you plan to apply it somewhere very far from your nose (say, like heels or elbows) it is a very decent hydrating beauty item.
May 02, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.9
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Absorption
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
4.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
5.0
really nice mass market hand cream
Summary
Dove cream with matcha is quite a solution for for dry and chapped skin. It has a light runny texture, easily squeezed out of the tube and as easily distributed. The cream absorbs within a minute and its outcome is instantaneously visible - the skin looks supple and hydrated. Moreover, the product doesn't leave any residue so it is safe to carry on with daily activities without the fear of transfer of the cream onto anything. The item is well priced, and would be a 5 star thing if not for the silicone it its ingredients. Yet I can still recommend it.
Dove Nourishing Secrets Hand Cream With Matcha Green Tea For Dry Skin
April 28, 2020
Overall rating
 
3.0
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Absorption
 
2.0
Effectiveness
 
2.0
Ease of use
 
3.0
Scent
 
3.0
Value for Money
 
1.0
more concealing than 'healing'
Summary
This contour eye cream has not lived up to the expectations. Despite having a light texture, nice design and pleasant (although little chemical) scent it does little to improve the condition of eye skin area. And the latter is achieved mainly to silicone in the composition and reflective particles in the substance that act as sort of light concealer. The effect lasts until you wash you face. The product ha no effect on wrinkles, no cumulative effect and it is rather pricey. I believe there are much cheaper and more effective items on the market and cannot recommend this one.
payot supreme jeunesse regard
April 25, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.6
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Absorption
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
3.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
4.0
too light for dry and normal skin
Summary
Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturising Gel is so light that it doesn't even feel like a moisturizer has been applied to the skin. It is best for combination and oily skin, in my case with normal to dry one it is too light to provide enough hydration. The gel is contained in a light-wight bottle with a convenient dispenser. The product is quickly absorbed without leaving a greasy film or shine on the face. It does not cause redness, does not clog pores. The substance has no odour, and usually I do not like odourless products, but in this case it is OK. The effect is not very lasting, but the gel may be a decent beauty item as an occasional treatment.
Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturising Gel
April 24, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.4
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
4.0
Absorption
 
4.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
3.0
Day Moisturisers
good for sensitive skin prone to redness and imperfections
Summary
Payot Crème N°2 Cachemire is intended for malnourished sensitive skin. The cream is rich and a bit oily, it is not a good base for the make up and does not have any SPF protection, thus I recommend to use it more as a night moisturizer. The cream is packed in a wonderfully designed glass jar that has an air-tight lid, which is good for prolonged life of the substance. The product is very sparingly used and has a deliciously sweet floral scent lingering on the skin. The best thing this cream does - it calms the skin, and protects it from being weathered. I advise using it in the cold season - it is a perfect fit for winter skin care.
payot_cachemire_2
April 23, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.7
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Absorption
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
3.0
a pampering night solution
Summary
Payot Roselift Collagène Nuit Sculpting Care is a precious treat and pricey as well, however, I am very satisfied with the product. The cream comes in a air-tight jar with a heartbreaking rosy design. It is rather dense in texture, yet it doesn't leave any oily residue once applied and for such a texture it absorbs surprisingly well. The scent is heavenly and floral (peonies, perhaps?) and it is a real pleasure to feel it linger on the skin. The cream addresses hydration and firmness issues and intended for 30+. It does not have a very lasting effect if you stop applying the cream altogether, yet it indeed combats minor aging issues. In general I can recommend it if you are ready to pay the price.
roselift-collagene-nuit-cream
April 21, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.6
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Absorption
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
4.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
3.0
plumping and hydrating anti-fatigue product
Summary
Payot Blue Techni Liss Filling Serum is good both as a stand-alone item (in hot season) and as a supportive treatment (in cold season). The serum is contained in a beautifully designed glass vial with an efficient dispenser that ensures the exact amount of substance and prevents air from contacting with the serum prolonging life cycle of the latter. Two-three spritz from the dispenser are enough to cover the entirety of the face. The serum is more like a very pale pink cream gel with a subtle aroma. It absorbs fast without leaving any residue or oily film. The serum is quite good in combating the signs of skin fatigue, it leaves the complexion refreshed and well-nourished. It also has a minor effect upon wrinkles, especially fine lines. In general, I am very satisfied with the product. It is very pricey but I have been lucky to get it half-price on sales, so I recommend trying the same.

good product, but try to buy it on sales or promotions - the price literally bites

payot_blue_techni_liss_serum
April 19, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.0
Packaging
 
5.0
Scent
 
4.0
Effectiveness
 
4.0
Ease of use
 
4.0
Value for Money
 
3.0
good result but a bit pricey
Summary
Collistar tricho reconstuction is a decent mask with really low consumption and visible results if you have dry and/or damaged hair. The substance smells of freshly cut grass and has a dense, even a bit oily structure allowing for maximum nourishment. It is easily distributed through hair and afterwards do not lead to its extra weight. The hair feels stronger, glossier (I believe that some of that gloss is due to the silicones in the composition, however, I have not witnessed any adverse effects). The product is a bit pricey and under the current situation is difficult to find in stores, however I can recommend it as a part of hair restorative treatment.
April 17, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.4
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Absorption
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
4.0
Ease of use
 
3.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
4.0
Day & Night Moisturisers
surprisingly nice moisturizer from LRP
Summary
Hydraphase Intense Light has proven to be a good item for my dry skin. It is light-textured, non-oily, reminiscent of the body lotion with the exception that it is for the face. It is rather runny, so beware that you'll always end up with extra amount. The moisturizer has very subtle pleasant cosmetic scent. It is soaked by the skin within bare seconds, leaving it well-hydrated. The effect is long lasting - if used in the evening the next morning and the following day the skin will look and feel moisturized. The upside-down design allows for maximum use of the bottle contents, which is also a plus. The moisturizer has dimethicone high up its list of ingredients so I would advise not to use it on a daily basis. But in all other respects I can recommend it.
April 16, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.6
Packaging
 
4.0
Long lasting
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
4.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
5.0
great mass market palette for both morning and evening make-up solutions
Summary
Revolution Iconic 2 is an affordable beauty tool for make all variety of daily and/or festive make-up. It has shimmer, satin and matte shades, all of which compliment each other and even a novice can make a rather sophisticated look combining them. The shadows are mostly well-pigmented (matte shadows require a base to be highly-pigmented though), long-lasting and easily applied and blended. They are not flaky, chalky and do not roll on the eyelid into any kind of pellets. The container for the shadows isn't a masterpiece, it doesn't sport a mirror, it looks cheap (a bit better in upgraded version, when the shadows are placed in two rows, alas, I had an old one with 12 slim eye shadow rows), and is easily scratched losing its appeal, but to its credit - it is not a flimsy one. The applicator is two sided, however, both sides have sponges, it would be better to have at least one of them as a brush. Nevertheless, it is a very good choice for a palette, I can safely recommend it.
my_make_up_revolution
April 15, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.2
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Absorption
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
4.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
2.0
Value for Money
 
3.0
basic nourishing cream with bizzare scent
Summary
I had Yves Rocher Pur Arnica Moisturizing Hand Cream specially branded for 60th YR anniversary that came as a package deal to other YR product. The cream itself is rather nice, it has dense but non-oily texture. It is easily applied and spread, although it is non-economical in its use. The cream absorbs rather fast and is great even for dry skin. The only thing which is annoying about the product is its scent. It is difficult to say whether it is chemically enhanced arnica, but the smell is so cloying and overpowering that it takes painful 5 to 8 minutes to endure while the cream is fully absorbed and the perfume is no longer lingering. Thus I can recommend this hand moisturizer if you are OK with its scent.

it is a great cream if you can stand the scent

my_YR_arnica
April 12, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
5.0
great for lip make-up and makeover
Summary
NYX Professional Makeup Pro Lip Brush is not a rocket science item, it is pretty ordinary lip brush yet it is marvelously convenient to use. The brush has a densely packed synthetic bridles that nicely take on lipstick substance and due to the brush shape it is easy to evenly spread the product upon the lips. Plastic handle has a firm grip to it, it does not slide in the hand, making the process of application sure and steady. The brush is easily cleaned despite the density and serves for about a year. I can totally recommend this product, it is worth buying.
April 08, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.0
Packaging
 
5.0
Long lasting
 
2.0
Effectiveness
 
4.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
4.0
I call it French manicure for the lazy
Summary
This nail pencil is a good helper if you want to make a quick work of achieving the resemblance to French manicure. The design of the product is efficient - I like that the cap has a sharp point - I usually use it to scratch under the nails to even their shape and also to draw back the cuticle. The pencil lead is just pliable enough to make easy application, yet it is not crumbly. The product 'whitens' the tips of the nails, but it is not a fake white, rather it makes them look natural white. The effect, however, is fleeting - it lasts barely several hours. This beauty item is cheap and one pencil can last for years. Unfortunately I can't seem to find it in stores anymore and looks like Rimmel TM has discontinued it.
April 08, 2020
Overall rating
 
3.0
Packaging
 
5.0
Long lasting
 
1.0
Effectiveness
 
3.0
Ease of use
 
3.0
Value for Money
 
3.0
great looks but poor longevity
Summary
Lumene Gel Effect Nail Polish is available in many possible shades - from modest nudes (like 01, 02, 08) to vibrant colours (like 23), and there are additional spin-off for party lovers with shimmer. I used shades No 06 - Bare Landscape and No 08 - Full of Peonies - they are both an embodiment of perfect office make-up. The polish has a convenient packaging with a wide brush, that allows application in just two strokes. Yet only one layer may prove to be uneven and stripey in certain shades, thus for the best results I'd recommend using the polish in 2 to 3 layers. The polish dries fast, which is a plus; it also looks gorgeous on the nails - just like from a salon procedure. However, it does not keep its perfect appearance for long - at the end of the day the polish at ends of the nails looks chipped and uneven, and if it the polish stays for another day it starts flaking. To this end I can recommend this item as a one-night remedy for a nice manicure and taking into account its beautiful shades and affordability.
April 06, 2020 (Updated: April 06, 2020)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Absorption
 
4.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
3.0
good moisturizer but too pricey
Summary
Gigi Recovery Daily SPF30 Cream is a great treat, especially in the summer. It is has a creamy texture and although upon application has a whit-ish leftover on the skin (as a lot of sunscreens so), the cream absorbs and disappears within minutes. It does not create any kind of film yet it gretly protects the skin from sun rays. It is deeply moisturizing with buildable effect, it also has a certain degree of whitening properties - it decreases the intensiveness of natural pigmentation. The cream has, alas, too high a price and is quite difficult to find in stores, thus I can recommend it with reservations.
April 03, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.2
Packaging
 
5.0
Long lasting
 
4.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
3.0
Value for Money
 
4.0
very natural-looking fluid foundation
Summary
Clarins Skin Illusion Hydrating Foundation SPF15 is a lightweight foundation that indeed creates an illusion that you are barely wearing any make up. The foundation is contained in a glass bottle with a high-quality pipette (convenient for drawing up the fluid). It is quite runny though, I had to have some practice before adjusting the procedure of application, and the best way to apply in not the brush, but the fingers. The feeling upon the application is like that of a bb cream or a moisturizing cream - extremely pleasant to the touch. The foundation evens out skin tone and covers minor skin issues so that it looks like has no make-up, very natural. The coverage lasts for about 4 to 5 hours and than begins to fade gradually. In addition the foundation has a light shimmer that adds glow to the face (no need to use a highlighter) and it does not look artificial. I used the shade 105-nude, and there are a lot of other shades for anyone to find their match. In general I can recommend this beauty product.
April 02, 2020
Overall rating
 
2.4
Packaging
 
3.0
Texture
 
2.0
Mildness
 
1.0
Effectiveness
 
3.0
Ease of use
 
3.0
Scent
 
3.0
Value for Money
 
2.0
burning and oily - not the things i expected....
Summary
I have had a mini version of this product, 30 ml, and it was a struggle to not make the product go to waste. The cleanser is a bi-phase one and once it is shaken, two parts of the substance do not separate in about 10 to 15 minutes. The product indeed nicely removes waterproof make-up, vibrant lipsticks and thick layers of foundation. But due to its design (too large opening of the bottle) it is not sparingly used. Moreover, I found it difficult to use around the eyes - it burns the skin and the eyes, and sometimes leaves red splotches... The cleanser also leaves an oily film which is not very pleasant even at my 'thirsty' dry skin. To top it all, the product is rather pricey for such a poor effect. I can't recommend it.
clinique_cleanser
April 01, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.6
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Absorption
 
4.0
Effectiveness
 
4.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
4.0
Body Moisturisers
hydrating and long-lasting lotion
Summary
Payot 24-hr hydrating fluid is a nice way to start the day after taking morning shower. It is extra light, like lotion, smells like apple (or bamboo?), hydrates and awakens the skin. It absorbs rather well however there is a slight powder finish left upon the skin if the amount of fluid is a bit excessive. The dispenser is nice - it is transparent to see the volume inside as well as it is hand in terms of getting just the right amount of the substance. The fluid unfortunately contains alcohol which eventually may lead to dryness of the skin in the long term, so I recommend caution in terms of frequency (2 times a week is quite enough).
payot_white_lait
March 31, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.2
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Absorption
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
3.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
3.0
Value for Money
 
3.0
xcould have been nice if not for the components
Summary
PAYOT Hydra 24 Corps Hydrating Firming Treatment is an interesting item. On the one hand it indeed provides hydration for the skin (albeit due to the dimethicone in its ingredients) and fast action by prompt absorption, however it smells like an old style powder with crushed rose petals undertone (and I personally find this scent off-putting) and is not very lasting in its effects. The product is more or less OK, it may be used once in a while, but not on a permanent basis.
payot_hydra
March 28, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.6
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Absorption
 
4.0
Effectiveness
 
4.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
4.0
goof moisturizer for dry skin
Summary
Collistar Hydro-Protective Cream Anti-Pollution SPF 20 is a good option for spring/summer season to as as a protector and moisturizer. It has a dense creamy texture and takes some time to absorb, yet it serves as a nice pre-make-up treatment. The cream has some kind of rosy particles (for massaging purposes?) that dissolve upon application and are harmless to the skin. The cream is packed in a sturdy glass jar and has a pleasant cosmetic scent. In general I can recommend this item as a nice moisturizer.
IMG_20200327_202630_172(1)
IMG_20200327_202635_998(1)
March 26, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.4
Packaging
 
4.0
Texture
 
5.0
Mildness
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
3.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
4.0
waterproof make-up remover
Summary
L'Oréal Paris Absolute Make-Up Remover has a bi-phase oily structure and is perfect for dry skin owners. It easily deals with waterproof mascara or matte lipsticks and, what most important, it does not irritate skin or eyes. It has a pleasant subtle scent that is not off-putting or lingering. The only drawback which I have discovered with this product is its packaging - the hole in the cap is too big and I regularly got extra volume on the cotton pad, which was a bit irritating. But in time even that disadvantage becomes bearable. To the packaging's credit I can tell that I like its general volume - 125 ml - better for taking on a trip.
March 24, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.8
Packaging
 
5.0
Long lasting
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
4.0
great tool for creative make-upers
Summary
I have used Cyan Navy variety of Oriflame The ONE Dual Drama Kohl Eye Pencil. The pencil is two-sided, each one has a sturdy transparent cap. The pencil's slates as well as the pencil's wood are pliable enough to be easily sharpened without breaking. The items itself smells like a stick (distinct scent of wood). Both its pigmented slates have tiny shimmering particles which is an extra nice touch. The pencil may be used as an everyday make-up tool (navy part), or as a party item (cyan part). I believe this is true for the other three shade combinations of the pencil. It stays put a whole day and can be easily cleaned with a milk or micellar water. In general, it is a good product although, it could have been cheaper.
March 22, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.7
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Mildness
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
4.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
4.0
gentle cleanser
Summary
Fine Flowers Cleansing Wash is a nice cleanser that will suit even dry and sensitive skin. It has a gel structure and very moderate lather properties, yet it is evenly spread upon the skin. It is sparingly used, yet if you have a thick make up (like heavy mascara, liner and primer) you may need to use the wash twice. The product does not dry the skin and it leaves rather pleasant sensation and a subtle scent of a rose afterwards. It has a sturdy cap and convenient packaging and priced more or less OK, so it is a good mass market choice for a morning/evening cleansing ritual.
March 21, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Packaging
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
5.0
excellent mass market styling item
Summary
This mousse is one of my styling mass market favourites. It is light, it doesn't weight the hair down, and neither it makes the hair greasier. The mousse is evenly spread, it takes a few puffs to cover my middle-length hair. It has a mild cosmetic scent which lingers for about 2 days. I normally apply it to wet hair if I want it in plaited or curled and let it dry (either by itself or using a hairdryer). The effect of curs lasts for a solid day and if there is no kind of extra moist weather, it can last up to 2.5 days. I have been using this product for about 15 years now (the design has been changed but the contents remain the same) and have no qualms about it. A great item!
March 20, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Value for money
 
5.0
Packaging
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
does its job perfectly!
Summary
Bepanthen Nappy Care Ointment addresses not only issues related to tender baby skin, but also is of much help if you have extra-dry reddened skin or have a rash/ caused by inconvenient clothing that chafes or even mild forms of dermatitis. I have recently chafed tender breast skin while trying a new bra with coarse material and only this cream could help to remedy the damage (the rash had passed in a mere day). The cream is dense and oily with a slight scent, it absorbs well and greatly diminishes itching as well s the redness. It is sparingly used and have no adverse effects. I would say it is an absolute must to have in one's family care kit.
March 16, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.7
Packaging
 
5.0
Cleansing power
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
3.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
5.0
decent mass market shampoo
Summary
Garnier Botanic Therapy Cranberry Shampoo is a decent mass market shampoo suitable for frequent use. The shampoo has a thick texture and is economical in use, it produces good lather and cleanses well even if used once. It has a pleasant fruity scent that lingers for about a day after the application. It is also cheap and easily available in stores along with other products of this series. I wouldn’t really say that it greatly preserves the colour; however, it indeed makes the hair shine. The only qualm that I have with this shampoo is that it gives extra fluffiness to the hair. Thus I'd recommend always use conditioner and/or mask afterwards.
March 14, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Value for money
 
5.0
Packaging
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Eaux de Parfum
amazing floral and oriental perfume
Summary
I am in love with Olympéa EDP; it is a very feminine perfume, not for an every day use, but more for a special occasion. Once sprayed it lasts up to two days without it becoming cloying or too vanillish. The perfume is contained in the bottle that is sort of encompassed in a laurel, which is a really nice touch. The price is rather fair for such type of the product. So I can safely recommend this elegant scent, it is a great product to be used both in warm and cold seasons.
olympea_mine
March 12, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.7
Packaging
 
4.0
Absorption
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
4.0
uplifting and invigorating body oil
Summary
ESPA Detoxifying Body Oil is a great reviving and rejuvenating product for the body. The oil itself is rather light-textured in nature and once applied absorbs in 10 to 15 minutes without any greasy leftovers or transfer to the clothes. The oil is contained in a glass vial with a heavy cap styled as carved from marble (though I believe it is just a high-quality plastic). The only disadvantage of the design is the opening of the vial or total lack of the dispenser - to that end at first I struggled to have the right amount poured into my palm without any excess liquid. The scent is a mix of citrus and herbs with a definite victory of the herbal component right following the application. Yet the scent is very lasting fading into a barely there one after the absorption. The oil is great for my dry skin and for making it more elastic and invigorated in the morning. It is a good buy, though a bit pricey!
March 08, 2020
Overall rating
 
3.9
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Absorption
 
4.0
Effectiveness
 
2.0
Ease of use
 
3.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
3.0
nice product but dubious anti-wrinkle effect
Summary
I received this Filorga mask in a mini plastic tube that has a convenient small enough opening for squeezing the right amount of the content. The best way to apply the mask - is to use a brush - it ensures the even coverage and more scarce use of the mask. The mask reminds of a dense cream that is easily spread and very gradually dries off - the effect is much better that in the case of clay masks. It has a slight floral scent that lingers a bit even after the mask is gone. The most cumbersome part of the mask is rinsing it off - the best way to do it is to use some kind of dispensable towel or a wet cotton pad, but even in that case it takes several tries. As for the effects of the mask - it is a good item if we are talking about a supportive care like hydration or improving the overall look of the skin (combating the signs of fatigue etc), but in terms of anti-wrinkle treatment - the effects are so miniscule that they have to be studied with magnifying glass.

Recommended for general skin care not an item for combating aging signs

566 results - showing 1 - 50
1 2 3 4 5 ... »
Results per page:

Connect

My Account

Add

Best Of

Help

Latest

×

Sign up to keep in touch!

Be the first to hear about giveaways and exclusive discounts from BEAUTYONTRIAL and our partners.

Check out our Privacy Policy & Terms of use. You can unsubscribe from our email list at any time.

We have 1447 guests and no members online