Reviews written by 4lex4ndr4

423 results - showing 1 - 50
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Ordering
February 17, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Packaging 
 
4.0
Long lasting 
 
4.0
Well defined lashes 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
never fall prey to unconventional items!
Summary

I purchased YR Vertigo Length Mascara believing that unconventional brush with spiral-like miniscule bristles will be a great solution for my widely spaced apart lower eyelid lashes, alas, that miracle didn't happened. The mascara itself proved to be very runny and upon extracting the applicator from the tube too much...

20190111_150922
February 17, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
great but not lasting enough
Summary
Soap & Glory Supercat Liquid Eyeliner Pen is great eyeliner in terms of everything except for longevity. Following 3-4 hours after the application it fades from the eyelid to a very pale gray and has to be re-applied. Otherwise, it is easy in application, has a liquid enough texture to be modelled into the proper shape, dries within seconds and does not smudge. I've been using it for two months already and expect the item to last as much more.
February 12, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Packaging 
 
4.0
Long lasting 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
solid B nail polish
Summary
I have a no. 500 Collistar Gloss Nail Lacquer Gel Effect (transparent one) which I normally use as a top coat for extra gloss of the other nail varnishes. It is an ordinary basic polish with quite good longevity and a handy brush. Due to the speed of the drying up this lacquer can be used even under time-constrained circumstances, which I personally like taking into account the hectic tempo of modern life. The volume-price ratio could have been better, but at least the price is moderate. There is only one glitch with the packaging, the handle of the brush upon unscrewing separates into too pieces, which is inconvenient at times, but otherwise I can recommend the product.
20190118_100255
February 10, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Well defined lashes 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
well-defined and elongated lashes
Summary
Soap & Glory Thick & Fast HD Mascara is a great beauty tool that can be used both on a daily basis and as a party tool. It has a slightly curved applicator with (as it has seemed to me) different height of brush bristles that allows using one side for short eyelashes of the lower eyelid, while the other - for long ones located on the upper lid. The scent is a bit off-putting if you try to smell the substance, but otherwise, it doesn't linger after the application. The mascara indeed covers every lash as if with dye, it is not clumpy and at the end the lashes look elongated and charcoal black from top to bottom as well as well-defined. The effect is long lasting without any flaking and the overall look of the eyes is totally dramatic. Definitely recommend!
20190210_143757
February 09, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
2.0
Moisturising 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
great presentation, mediocre performance
Summary
I bought this palette last year at half price during Christmas sales since I had been was enticed by its looks and design. The palette had 6 shades and most of them were perfectly wearable to the office on a daily basis. The palette box was lightweight and could be taken as a carry on item on a trip. The lipstick substance itself of each shade was easy to apply thanks to large built-in mirror and handy applicator brush. The longevity of the lipstick, alas, was a different story - following 3 hours after the application it started leaking into the creases and gathering in the corners of my lips, and had to be either re-applied or wiped out entirely. The price-volume ratio of the palette was also a disappointment even at a half cost... Concerning the hydration effect I barely witnessed any - the lipstick didn't moisturize much, but at leas it didn't dry the lips. To sum up, it was an interesting experience in terms of nice shades, but I would not recommend the item due to its high price and rather mediocre performance.
Artdeco The Most Wanted Lip Palette
Artdeco The Most Wanted Lip Palette
January 29, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
nice brow product for natural looks
Summary
Model Co Karl Lagerfeld Eyebrow Pencil is a decent solution for natural-looking brows. It has a mild texture and the colour is buildable - from mid- to dark-brown, so it is an easy task to make the shade needed for the best look. I have quite thick natural brows and this pencil helps to model them in just the right way without making them look cartoonish. I've been using it for a month every other day and it is very sparringly used, it does not need any sharpener and is extracted by turning the other end of the pencil clock-wise. The price is rather high for such thing, but that is the only qualm I got with this item.
January 13, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
dense and handy applicator
Summary
SPA To You Lookfantastic Exclusive Beauty Sponge has been a great addition to the Christmas 2018 Lookfantastic beauty box. It serves well for applying liquid foundations or BB creams. It is denser than standard sponges I used before and this results into less consumption of a foundation. The slanted edge and rounded shape of the sponge allows for a more precise application. The only disadvantage is that for now the sponge is only available as a package deal inside a beauty box.
myspongelookfantastic
January 13, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
creates precise and natural look
Summary
Brow Tint and Precision Pencil from Soap & Glory is a wonderful brow product - it combines the tint and the pencil both with extra fine tips that allow for non-cumberosme application and shades easy merging with natural ones. The saturation of the tint is just high enough to make it visible yet not agressive or artificial. I absolutely love everything about this item and totally recommend it!
Soap & Glory Archery™ Brow Tint and Precision Pencil
January 13, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
wonderful light-textured primer and moisturizer
Summary
Illamasqua Hydra Veil Primer comes in an elegant packaging with a tightly sealed lid. The primer itself is a dense translucent gel that is easy to apply end spread on the face (whether with a special brush, or simply with fingers, the latter method is what I've chosen). The gel is very economical in use and does not create any kind of oily film or mask upon the face, it absorbs well, making even skin tone, hydrating the skin and creating a great base for both liquid and powdery foundations. The applied make up lasts much longer with this veil than it does without a primer, nothing leaks. Moreover, the product does not clog pores and is non-comedogenic, which makes it a perfect addition to the daily routine (even to use just as a daily moisturizer). It is a pricey item, but the result is worth it. I can safely recommend this primer.
myillamasqua
January 07, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Packaging 
 
4.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
subtle rosiness to your cheeks
Summary
Soap & Glory Glow All Out Luminizing Face Powder is a great thing if you want just a tiny glow to your face. It is subtle enough with miniscule shimmering particles that are difficult to spot yet they provide for so called 'moonlit' complexion. The powder has a neat sturdy and stylish packaging with good built in mirror, but the brush or any other applicator is not included into the powder box per se. The powder is very moderately saturated, it is just a light luminizer, do not expect frost-flushed cheekbones after its application (unless you apply it in 4 or more layers). The Glow All Out would best do for people with pale and cool skin tones (like mine), not a tanned face, which makes it perfect to use during late autumn and winter and even in early spring. The powder stays put for 3 to 4 hours without re-application. It is also more visible and more lasting if used upon primer or liquid foundation cream.
Soap & Glory Glow All Out Luminizing Face Powder
January 07, 2019 (Updated: January 07, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
1.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
good product but its application is too painstaking
Summary
Grow Gorgeous Scalp Detox will probably best suit people who suffer from dry or itchy scalp, but it also has worked up for me. I am not a fan of hair scrubs (I always fear that intense scrubbing may eventually lead to over dried scalp and dandruff), but using such treatment once a month can be actually a good thing. The scrub is of milky colour, not runny in its texture, and heavily peppered with grains of castor oil which reminds me of granulated salt - although these grains do not dissolve upon contact with water. The most difficult part about the scrub is its application - it is supposed to be massaged into the scalp, but it is not distributed easily and if you have at least middle length hair (like mine) the scrub has to be applied to different parts of the head to ensure even coverage. After the part with massaging and distribution is done in fits and starts, the substance produces very slight cooling sensation. Washing the scrub off is even worse ordeal - the grains get tangled in the hair which feels light taught wires to the touch, and it takes a lot of effort and even more of water to get the scrub out. The result, however, offsets the pains with application - the hair indeed looks and remains cleaner for 1 to 2 extra days, it also gets additional volume in the roots and look more fluffy, it also smells of flowers with a bit of chemical bitterness but I like the scent in general. In a nutshell, I can recommend this treatment as an occasional solution, however, the difficulties of application have to be also born in mind while purchasing it.
January 07, 2019 (Updated: January 07, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
nutrition for the eyelids
Summary
I have rather sensitive skin around my eyes and rarely any treatment will do, however, Dr. Botanicals Pomegranate Superfood Brightening Eye Serum has proved to be a good solution for keeping it healthy and nourished at the same time reducing the dark circles under my eyes. I used it on a daily basis for two past weeks and noticed definite improvement in the skin around the eyes - it is moisturized, has more matching tone to the rest of the face and it lost its signs of fatigue and lack of sleep. The serum is closer to oil in its texture, although it is not extra rich or virgin, thus it absorbs relatively quickly leaving no greasy feeling or film behind. It has an oily scent as well, not a pomegranate one. The pipette is quite large one and will be more suitable for the face serums since it always produces more substance than needed for one eye. The best thing about this serum is that it also doesn't cause any adverse effect - no itching, burning, tingling or rash and even if a small amount of it gets very close to my eye, there is absolutely nothing wrong in action. I can safely recommend this treatment.
20190106_123007
20190106_123034
January 01, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
good as an occasional measure
Summary
I've been greatly pleased to discover a 10ml of This Works Deep Sleep Pillow Spray in the beauty box, since due to the work load and constant stress I have had trouble falling asleep lately and had often awakened during the night. I've used this spray on alternate days during the previous two weeks. The spray is extremely easy to apply - one or two spritz on the pillow is enough for the spray to take action. It absorbs fast (5 to 7 mins) and does not stain or irritate the face. The lavender scent it emanates is a bit chemical but yet pleasant in its nature. Upon such regular use my time of falling asleep reduced drastically - while before I could have been tossing and turning for a half an hour at least, now it became less than 7-10 minutes. The lavender scent really takes the mind of unpleasant things and calms any residual anxiety. The only downside of this treatment is that the frequency of its use is in proportion to difficulty to wake up in the morning (at the end of the last week I often felt drowsy though I slept night after night without waking up for solid 7 or 8 hours). To this end I'd recommend it as an occasional solution, for example, on a business trip when getting adjusted to new bed makes it difficult to fall asleep quickly while quality sleep is very much needed.
January 01, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Packaging 
 
4.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
perfect basic nude make-up!
Summary
Soap & Glory Eyeshadow Palette Lid Stuff 6 Shades Limited Edition is everything a heart (or better say, an eye) craves for in terms of subtle and sensual nude make-up. The shadows do not produce dust, they are neatly and solidly packed. The packaging itself is nice to the eye, with a large built-in mirror inside, but, alas, no brush. The shadows are not very saturated, but their fine texture allows building up nice deep colours if needed, or just be applied in one layer making a natural or 'no-make-up' make up. The shimmering shades have miniscule particles that perfectly add just a tiny twinkle to the eye. The shadows are rather lasting, they do not get into creases or roll. I am immensely satisfied with the palette and from my experience this creation of Soap & Glory can rival with a number of elite French brands eyeshadow palettes offering the same result at much lower price. Definitely recommend this one!
December 25, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
zingy cooling cream gel
Summary
I regret that I have not been acquainted with L'Occitane Verbena Cooling Hand Cream Gel before; it is definitely to my liking! The gel cream has an invigorating lemon-herbal aroma, light runny texture, cooling and moisturizing properties. After the application the cream gel is absorbed almost instantly, it cools the skin (although this effect is noticeable within 5-7 minutes tops), leaves a pleasant feeling of velvety and comforted skin without oiliness, stickiness or any kind of 'film'. The gel is best used 1-2 times a day, sometimes more often, for one application you need a small pea. It provides great results even for such dry skin as mine, and I can safely recommend it!
December 25, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Moisturising 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
beautiful lip buzz
Summary
Soap & Glory Sexy Mother Pucker Lip Plumping Gloss is unlike any other gloss that I've tested and tried before - it actually makes lips plumper and more pouty by creating a distinct tingling sensation that kicks in after 5 minutes following the gloss' application. The sense reminds of sizzling soda bubbles on the lips or the feel of chilly pepper left on the lips after a good bite of a spicy food, however, 10 minutes in after the application the tingling may become almost unbearable (like burning or stinging) that it is a struggle not to wipe the substance off. However, this extreme buss lasts for 2 to 3 minutes tops gradually fading into a menthol-like sensation. The buzz may re-appear after consuming any beverages but its force will not be the same as it was on the first contact. The lips do look bigger and more accentuated. The gloss is moderately sticky to the extent to stay on the lips for a long time. It has a vanilla-infused scent, more an industrial like than a candy-like. It has a handy applicator that delivers the amount needed. This gloss in its structure reminds me of early 2000 glosses with a multitude of rainbow-coloured shimmering particles, yet not very pigmented to keep the look more natural. I've tested Candy Queen (very pale pink and almost translucent upon the lips) and Plumsup (pale pigmented cerise or punch) and both looked magnificent on my lips. In general, despite the unexpected buzz of the gloss, I can recommend this beauty cutie!
Soap & Glory Sexy Mother Pucker™ Lip Plumping Gloss
December 25, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
3.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
lightweight mattifying foundation
Summary
L'Oreal Paris True Match Minerals Powder Foundation has a stylish design but not very convenient packaging (for such a bulky jar the contents are too little). The foundation itself is of a pleasant light texture with no particular odour (although it has a slight chalky scent while still in a jar). Upon application the foundation covers face entirely and imperceptibly, does not clog into lines or pores, and creates an even tone. A certain variety of shades allows picking the one most matching to the skin tone (it is 1R/1C for me in the winter, while 1D/1W will do great in summer after some tanning experience). The foundation does not have a brush included which is a pity, but considering all its pros such downside may be overlooked.
December 23, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Value for money 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Eaux de Toilette
wonderful fresh scent with a bit of sourness
Summary
Upon spraying Nina Ricci Bella EDT I strongly feel citrus and grassy/green notes. This is rhubarb and in my opinion it is present all the time, until the fragrance fades. Bella's apple is fresh and a bit tart, it does not have an excessive sweetness, which makes the scent more weightless and summery. Freesia, rose and musk notes merge and feel more like a background for grassy scent. The bottle with its green lady bug is absolutely gorgeous and can also serve as a perfect present for a beloved person. Bella EDT is quite a distinct fragrance which definitely gets you noticed. It is also a universal one - good for both office time and a romantic date (however, I'd select something heavier and sweeter for any partying activities). The scent is rather fleeting however, and it has to be re-applied after 3 - 3.5 hours. But it totally lives up to its name - Bella - beautiful - and a great choice of a daily scent to my opinion.
December 23, 2018 (Updated: December 23, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
best for dry skin
Summary
I absolutely fell in love for this hand balm upon the first try. The Rituals The Ritual Of Happy Buddha Jolly Hand Balm has an amazing oriental scent that lingers long after the balm has absorbed. The bottle is equipped with a handy dispenser that delivers just the amount needed to cover both hand. The balm is white in colour and has a runny lotion-like texture that absorbs within seconds. This balm is a true relief for dry skin and it is no wonder it is referred to as a kitchen balm since its best feature is to restore hand moisture balance after long contact with hard water and/or dish cleaners. The balm also has a lasting and buildable effect. The only downside that I could find about it is a bit dark design, however, it may be considered a luxury one. Totally recommend!
December 23, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
pleasant pricey moisturiser
Summary
I've used 5ml sample of Lancôme Absolue Soft Cream in 5 applications - the cream is surprisingly sparingly used. It has a rich texture yet absorbs pretty quickly creating the feeling of supple and velvety skin. The cream smells faintly of a crushed rose petals, sweetly, but the scent is not lingering. It is a great moisturizer, its hydrating effects are visible upon the application. The anti-age effect is slower to appear - only after the 4th application I noticed that my minor wrinkles were diminished. The cream has both natural and silicone-derived ingredients, but I didn't have any adverse effects while using it, on the contrary, my skin had almost glowed. However, the full-sized jar of the cream is extra pricey, and although I have no qualms about the cream itself I can recommend it on the grounds that one has money to spare.
December 16, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Mildness 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
a regular mask for mild effects on dry skin
Summary
A weighty sachet of a mask in 10 ml from Oriflame promises to nourish dry skin. One sachet is too much for a single application, it can easily be divided into two, however, it is a challenge to preserve the leftovers due to a single-use nature of the package. The consistency of the mask is that of a dense cream that does not leak after application. The mask is not particularly absorbed into the skin, it lies heavily on the face. It has a very pleasant aroma, light, not annoying. Both times I used it I left it on my face for solid 15 minutes, when I washed off, I felt decent moisturizing and freshness of the skin. The mask does not treat wrinkles, but it is not supposed to. It will suit even for people aged 20+. Considering the price, and the overall effect I can say it is an OK option, and due to its density I'd rather recommend it for cold weather when skin tends to over-dry.
December 11, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Packaging 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
minor dark circles treatment with a short-lived effect
Summary
Clinique All About Eyes comes in a plastic jar with a screw cap. It is more a gel cream than a cream per se, with light peach colouring. The cream has a very subtle odour which fades away quickly upon application. At contact with the skin it almost melts and is very quickly absorbed, which makes it a useful tool to apply even before a make-up. Following the cream’s absorption the area around the eyes is visually transformed - it looks radiant and smooth, small wrinkles are filled, the dark circles become lighter. I always have a feeling that this cream forms a translucent pearl film, while the skin breathes and feels comfortable and moisturised. However, in a few hours the area around my eyes again becomes as dry as it was before, thus the effect of the cream is not lasting and for renewing of all the above the cream has to be re-applied.
Clinique All About Eyes
December 09, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
great hand cream but hard to find
Summary
I am well into the hand & nail cream series of Clarins and this neroli scented one has also won my heart. The cream is dense enough to be nourishing and great for the cold season yet it is light enough not to be oily or greasy. It is very sparingly used with its effect long lasting and buildable, my hands even with their extra dry skin feel moisturized and pampered long after the cream is absorbed. The cream is of a handy volume to be a carry on item even during the flight, it easily fits into the hand as it is roughly palm sized and has a bit flattened shape for more convenient application. The scent of neroli, is, perhaps, the most prominent its feature - it is pleasant and lingering and not overpowering. The cream is a pricey item, however. And it is also not so easy to find in regular cosmetic stores (I've seen it in duty free stores so far), and often when it is available it goes as a package deal with two other hand creams infused with magnolia an jasmine scents (they are also pleasant, yet if one wishes to buy a single of the three it can be problematic).
December 09, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Well defined lashes 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
clampy and overpriced
Summary
While I am a huge admirer of Clinique High Impact non-waterproof mascara of Clinique, its Waterproof counterpart is far from my favourites. First of all, it has slightly different brush and much runnier texture, and to this end in the beginning the brush always comes up covered in the substance so much I can barely see its bristles. In this case, clumps are very difficult to avoid and well-defined lashes are more wishful thinking than a reality. Only after some time of use the mascara solidifies enough to be less troublesome in application. To its credit the mascara is not a flaky sort and extremely persistent in terms of being waterproof - even rubbing my face with a handful of water barely made 'a dent' in its coverage, moreover, any snow, sleet or rain is not an issue for this mascara. Yet this durability comes with a price - not every remover is capable of wiping the stuff off (and if the recommended Clinique remover has to be used, it is quite pricey). All things considered, I would rather not recommend this one due to its price and difficulties in application.
Clinique High Impact™ Waterproof Mascara
Clinique High Impact™ Waterproof Mascara
December 08, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Perfect if not for the cost
Summary
True Colour Nail Experts Nail Enamel Remover has a nice minimalistic packaging. The semi-transparent bottle allows being aware of the remover left and a small hole in the packaging prevents from extra liquid spilling out. The remover smells like a normal remover (acetone-related chemical scent) but with a subtle scent of something almond like. It cleanses the varnish much better than other removers. I usually use 1 cotton pad with several drop of remover per hand. It wipes out more subtle varnish shades from the first try; varnishes of very vivid or acid colours or with glitter require second application of the remover. In addition, it does not cause my nails to become weak or my skin to become drier after the application. The only downside of this remover is its higher price in comparison with analogues, but considering the other advantages, I can safely recommend this item.
December 04, 2018 (Updated: December 05, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Absorption 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
shea-infused protection for the lips
Summary
L'Occitane Natural Shea Ultra Rich Lip Balm is a good item to be used in cold season due to its dense texture. The balm itself is a solid stick yet it melts and glides over the lips upon application. The scent is subtly sweet (almond-like) but it is not cloying or distinct so it can be used by both women and men (my husband uses it when his lips start to dry due to a frosty weather). The packaging is neat and durable - not once it had cracked or opened by its own volition. The balm can also be used, surprisingly, for softening the elbows. The price is a bit high for the offered volume, and the balm itself has to be re-applied once in two hours, but despite these two downsides the balm is a nice protective beauty treat for the winter.
December 02, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
light moisturiser for very dry skin
Summary
Apart from a strange herbal-like scent Dermedic Hydrain3 Hialuro Deeply Moisturising Cream Gel is a perfect option for those who have dry and dehydrated skin. It is a pale blue gel that absorbs within seconds moisturizing, hydrating and nourishing the skin without any greasy traces. It is quite cheap and a little of the gel goes a long way, prolonging its use. It is not organic, but I have not noticed any adverse effects from using it. Even without an SPF protection it is a good day moisturiser that can be used prior to applying any make up.
December 02, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Mildness 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
could have been a nice product if not for the price
Summary
Gratiae products are so pricey that I'm grateful they provide and sell samples of their goods. I've tried 3 samples, 1.5 ml each that lasted me for 6 applications. The Lifting Facial Mask has a rich and dense texture, and a very faint scent resembling that of a cucumber or an aloe vera, with a bit of sourness to it. Upon application the mask is felt as a cream mixed up with face oil - it looks just as well - white tiny clumps of the cream interspersed with patches of grease-covered skin. The skin may tingle just a little, but the feeling is more a refreshing one than an unpleasant one. The mask does not dry and when rinsed off it is like you are trying to wash up oil from your face - extremely difficult and greasy. There is a definite anti-age effect since already after the second application wrinkles that go from my nostrils to the edge of my mouth have visibly diminished as well as the one between my brows. The skin has obtained a healthier look and felt moisturized. However, taking into account primarily the price, as well as inconveniences with application, I would recommend finding cheaper analogues instead of this mask.
December 02, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
durable and long-lasting sharpener
Summary
I bought this sharpener years ago when I still predominantly used kohl pencils instead of pen liners for my eyes. It deals with both - normal and thick pencils due to the holes it has, and no matter which type of pencil it is (for eyes or for lips) the sharpener delivers great results - smooth surface of the shaved part plus no damage done to the pencil lead. The transparent design of the packaging and the lid that protects from shavings, neatly storing them inside for future disposal - is also a great advantage. The plastic looks flimsy but in reality it is quite durable, it has never cracked in my case. Definitely a great tool to buy for your make-up pencils!
December 02, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Value for money 
 
3.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
strongly reminds of an aftershave
Summary
Giorgio Armani Acqua di Gio Absolu EDP opens in a similar fashion as other Acquas di Gio, however, this sense is fleeting until the marine notes hit - the feeling is similar to being immersed in a bucket of an aftershave. These marine notes are so persistent that they last for a long time and become simply cloying. Woodsy notes are barely felt and the fragrance in general feels not multilayered but rather flat, unremarkable. Definitely not like an EDP priced so high should smell.
December 02, 2018 (Updated: December 02, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
wonderful shower item
Summary
Ecotools Ecopouf Delicate Bath Sponge is a wonderful tool for both cleansing and exfoliating dead skin cells. I have a light turquoise coloured variety of the sponge, but will probably buy a positive yellow one when I'm done using the one. The sponge allows for delicate washing and helps to work out a great lather out of a shower gel or wash. It is a fast-drying as well, and lightweight to take on any business or tourist trip. The only upsetting thing about the sponge is that it looses its neat shape after 1.5 months of use and doesn't look so appealing. Despite that, I can definitely recommend it as my favourite bath item.
December 02, 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Mildness 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
1.0
Scent 
 
1.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
revitalizing, but messy and difficult to deal with
Summary
I've tried two 5g samples of Origins RitualiTea Matcha Madness Face Mask, and the first thing that is really good about the mask is that its dried form that allows to keep the substance untarnished even if the pack is open. However, the least great thing about this mask is its matcha scent which brinks on horrible. The mask has to be previously mixed with water (2 teaspoons of each) and only then put onto face (avoiding the eyes are, there it may sting) in an even layer. After the mixing is done the mask resembles a light-green runny paste with grainy particles (for scrubbing). It is easy to apply either by hands (as I do) or using a make up spatula. The mask dries very fast so it is better to act quickly for it to be evenly spread. The scent it emanates while in use is very far from pleasant and difficult to bear. Rinsing off the mask is also the ordeal - it is not washed away completely thus leaving a greenish tint to the skin. The latter looks better in terms of both complexion and texture, and the effect lasts for several days, but the downsides of the mask have outbalanced its good sides for me at the end.
December 01, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
visually whitening but more a decorative product
Summary
Tonymoly Panda Dream White Magic Cream entices with a cute packaging, however it is strange in its effects. It is light-textured, but after the application the skin feels like it has been coated, and it has definite whitening particles that work like a powder or better say flour. Following the application those particles are spread unevenly and the cream itself works not to lighten dark under eye circles or pigmented patches, it is more a masking item, like a BB cream or a liquid extra-light foundation. It's hard to say about moisturizing properties, although some suppleness of the skin is definitely there. The producer has the hand cream branded with the same jar and it is difficult not to mix the too. The jar, perhaps, it the best what this cream can offer, it is cute and even can be used as a toy for the kids...
December 01, 2018 (Updated: December 01, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
my styling friend for the last 5 years
Summary
I discovered Syoss Color Protect Mousse Extra Strong Hold around 5 years ago and it has been my no. 1 styling mousse ever since. The mousse is extra light, fast-absorbing and nicely scented. One puff is enough to cover several hefty locks of hair. I have a wavy and in places unruly hair and this product helps me both: to keep it in shape and in some cases - to straighten my over-curly bangs. On the other hand, if i want moderately curly hair I braid it before going to sleep and apply a puff of mousse to each braid. Such overnight procedure ensures that I have small to medium curls in neat locks in the morning. The effect of the mousse keeps the curls up to three days without them looking glued together or greasy. In addition, this mousse helps to accentuate the dyed hair colour giving it extra shine and gloss.
November 30, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
great relaxing treatment
Summary
Kneipp Lavender Balancing Mineral Bath Salt Crystals work miracles not only on my body but on my soul, so to say. They smell of lavender (not a chemical scent, but a more natural one), and help to ease up tension. Around 15 minutes in a hot bath with a handful of the crystals and a healthy blissful sleep is guaranteed. I also use these crystals for improving the condition of my nails on hands and feet - making a small 'baths' in a tub. For best results I recommend taking such baths once in 2 - 3 weeks.
November 30, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
long lasting hand wash
Summary
Baylis & Harding Sweet Mandarin & Grapefruit Hand Wash is very hard to miss on the sink due to its elegant design. Upon the closer inspection the bottle is of a simple plastic, but still it is a nice addition to a bathroom or a kitchen. The wash is basically a transparent viscous gel with an extremely pale yellow (or rather lemon) colour. It has a pleasant sourly sweet scent of a mandarin. The wash efficient, it lathers well and just one press of the plunger is more than enough to wash your hands thoroughly. It is decent enough to wash the entire body in dire need (I had tried several times and was satisfied with the results). The wash is very cheap and comes in bottles of different sizes - I personally recommend the 500ml bottle which lasts more than 7-7.5 months. The ingredients are not as natural as one would wish them to be, but in all other respects it is a great cleanser and even greater bargain!
November 28, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Absorption 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
an OK cream, but do not expect miracles
Summary
La Roche-Posay Cicaplast Hands Barrier Repairing Cream is a decent hand cream that acts more like a barrier cream than a treatment one. It has a gel-like or glue like texture and no fragrance at all. The absorption could have been faster, but to the cream's credit it does not leave any stickiness or oiliness after it is fully absorbed (which is about 5 to 10 minutes). It is a great treatment in cold weather - the hands are well protected against the harsh cold wind/air and consequent dryness. The cream works as long as it is in use i.e. as soon as you stop the skin returns to its previous condition in a day or two. Still, the cream has its benefits (including those listed above) as well as a convenient packaging; and it indeed delivers its barrier effect, so I can recommend the product.
November 28, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
4.0
Moisturising 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
yummy lipgloss
Summary
Kiko Milano Smart Fusion Lipgloss have enamoured me with its cute packaging, cheap price and vivid colours. In action, this gloss (even in my case of deep strawberry coloured shade 06) does not look phony or artificial on the lips, it gives just the right amount of plumpness, gloss and moisture to make the lips look natural. It is a perfect thing both as a stand alone product or going in tandem with a lipstick of a similar shade. The end of the gloss tube is tapered allowing for easy application while the small opening in the tube makes sure that no extra amount of gloss will be squeezed out. The gloss smells of vanilla (confectionery style), a bit too much for me when applied but the scent is not lingering. The gloss is sticky and if generously applied may be felt heavily on the lips. In general, it is a 'solid B' beauty item that I can recommend.
November 27, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Value for money 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Eaux de Parfum
pure luxury and barely any vanilla
Summary
Despite that Mancera Coco Vanille EDP has in its title 'Vanilla' and 'Coco' which I mostly tolerate in other beauty items, this scent has impressed me with its sophisticated pyramid. It is indeed sweet, I would say even creamy like an ice cream, with an undertone of peach and jasmine. It is not cloying or generic, but has a character to it that speaks of luxury, confidence, independence. One spray of the perfume at the pulse point - and there is no need to worry of its re-application for a very long time. It may be a bit heavy to be worn to the office, I would say that its proper place is an evening gala, or a party, or a date. The price is, unfortunately, not so tempting, but having used my share of 2ml sample I am seriously considering buying a full sized bottle (if not 120ml, than at least 90ml).
November 27, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Packaging 
 
4.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Moisturising 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
true matte!
Summary
Ruby Rose Liquid Lipstick Matte came to my hand as a bonus from another beauty item purchase and surprisingly it has proven its efficiency. The lipstick is more a lip-gloss applied via convenient brush applicator. The substance strongly smells of a bubble gum or a similar candy, however, the scent does not linger after the application. The lipstick dries within seconds providing for a long-lasting and impeccable matte coverage. It does not accentuates imperfections covering the lips in a one uniform layer, neither it transfers. The lipstick has many shades, and its colour tends to shift into a darker shade upon drying - in this way something akin to a caramel shade (225) which I received in reality became something closer to a rich cocoa. Thus try before you buy wisdom is advised in selecting the proper shade here. Still, I can recommend this item for its perfect longevity and overall looks it delivers.
20181127_231131
November 27, 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Mildness 
 
2.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
didn't work for me
Summary
After finishing another bottle of my favourite oil-infused micellar water or the same brand I decided to give a try with Garnier Fresh Essentials Eye Make-up Remover, that had been in market for years. Well, this creation of Garnier has proven to be a disappointment for me: apart from big volume, cheap price and decent scent, it does little to remove even non-waterproof make up. I had to scrub really hard not to be left with smudges of mascara. In addition, the substance stung my eyes, that made the whole procedure an ordeal. I frankly tried this product several times with different mascaras (neither of them a waterproof one) and the result was the same - very poor cleaning. In the end I gave up and bought again my tried and trusted remover. No way I can recommend this item Garnier Fresh Eye Make-up Remover!
November 25, 2018 (Updated: November 25, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Body Moisturisers
goodbye, dry patches
Summary
I had several hefty Mixa Restoring Body Lotion samples (7ml) to test and was greatly pleased with the results. The lotion is more a cream, since it has dense texture and isn't runny even a bit. It is also fast-absorbing and non-greasy, it leaves no film or stains after the application. It has a sharp perfumed scent which at first seems rather nice, but after it lingers for 3 to 4 hours (even after washing) on the treated places, it becomes cloying. That's perhaps the only downside that I can name with the lotion. On the other hand, I can't praise its efficiency and outcome - in about several days of constant application my elbows and heels look as though they've never been dry before - i.e. soft, moisturized, and healthy, without any dry patches. The effect of such hydration also holds for some time even if the application has been discontinued. A great product that I can safely recommend!
November 24, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Value for money 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
iris and rosy foundant for me
Summary
This year's invention of Narciso Rodriguez is a manifest of sensuality and elegance for me. Upon application the Rouge EDP engulfs everything in powdery and creamy rose that in a half of an hour starts giving way to iris, musk and cedar notes. It may be overpowering at first but in the end it is mild and gentle. It lasts for at least 9 hours and only one spray per a pulse point will do to last it that far. It is an evening fragrance for me - a treat for dates, romantic dinners or special occasions, and it is of a 'warming' fragrance variety - i.e. best suited for the cold weather. It is not a totally unique one, but not a generic either - a good way to stand out in a crowd. I can recommend this one.
November 24, 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Packaging 
 
2.0
Long lasting 
 
2.0
Moisturising 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
the price says its all
Summary
My acquaintance with Wet and Wild MegaLast Lip Color has begun with an instant smudging of the lipstick onto its transparent cap - the thing is that up to 4 mm of the lipstick is not hidden inside its 'shell' (I still wonder how I narrowly escaped the situation of simply breaking the outstanding tip with the packaging). I wanted to try a different colour from what I usually wear and went for 24 Carrot Gold. The shade had obviously disagreed with my skin tone and complexion. The lipstick itself is heavy-textured and dense, it is not so easily spread and after the application looks not like a uniform layer, but rather like a 'moon landscape' - emphasizing every imperfection there is on the lips... It is also felt like a dense film which is quite unpleasant. The lipstick is very easily transferred, which is unusual for matte lipsticks. It has barely any scent but somehow reminds me of the lipsticks of the old times (like 90es). In brief, apart from its price the lipstick has been a disappointment for me. I do not recommend it.
20181125_000345
November 23, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Mildness 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
gentle but not for waterproof make up
Summary
Clarins Gentle Eye Make-Up Remover Lotion is a nice lotion in terms of moisturizing, absence of adverse effects, and its nice smell and feel to the skin. In particular I enjoyed the product fragrance i.e. the scent of cornflowers mixed with a rose - it made me think of summer. The lotion also had a nourishing However, for me it is a rather mediocre cleanser if we talk about make-up and especially a waterproof one. Even the same brand products (like eye pencil) it removed on the second and sometimes even a third try. I was tired to rub my eyes too hard and just get rid of the item...

a lotion but not much of a make-up cleanser

November 23, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
3.0
Moisturising 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
nice subtle lip gloss
Summary
Clarins Eclat Minute Instant Light Natural Lip Perfector is a nice and lip-plumping beauty item. I've tried 04 Petal Shimmer (a bit too rosy for me) and 06 Rosewood Shimmer and the last one is a definite favourite - it is a perfect nude, with a light shade of cocoa and beige to it! This lip gloss definitely makes the lips look fuller and plumper, while it is not greasy or sticky. It has just a tiny bit of colour to it (do not mind the intense colour of the packaging - the gloss itself is much more subtle), yet one can build up a colour by putting on a second layer. The gloss does not leak even in hot weather and keeps the lips moderately moisturized. It has a fluffy applicator which is nice to start with but in the end it is not very hygienic. Another downside of the gloss is its longevity - it has to be re-applied every 2 hours to be visible. Nevertheless, I can recommend it, I've enjoyed my experience with the product, and this one is easy to get as a package deal with a good discount buying other Clarins products.
November 22, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Value for money 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
2.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
dry but cloying
Summary
This dry stick deo efficiently addresses the issue of wet armpits and can be used on the hottest summer day. It has a soft texture and doesn't cause any irritation even if applied after shaving or depilation. Two swipes on one armpit is more then enough to live through the day nice and clean. However, perhaps it is me, but the majority of Dove products (deos mostly) have cloying and overly sweet scents. I usually mask them with perfume. These types of antiperspirants also leave yellow stains on clothes with time (despite any promises of the producer to the contrary). Dove Invisible Dry Stick Antiperspirant Deodorant isn't perfect, but it is cheap and efficient, thus I can recommend it despite its two weakest points.
November 22, 2018 (Updated: November 22, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Value for money 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
one of the best after-shave balms
Summary
My husband has been re-purchasing Nivea For Men Sensitive Post Shave Balm for years, the latter has already changed its design, but the former did not changed his preference :) The balm is extra mild, it is a runny pale green milkish substance, that upon application prolongs the feel of freshness (similar to any products that have menthol to them), it is absorbed in 1 to 2 minutes, leaving no tale tell signs of ever being present. It is a good moisturizer as well as prevents any breakouts even on an oily skin. A 100ml glass bottle lasts for 4 to 5 months and is rather cheap. The item still can be found in any cosmetics shop. I'd say it is a tried and trusted product and I definitely recommend it!
November 22, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
will do
Summary
Nivea Shower Silk Mousse (Rhubarb Raspberry scent) is a nice multitasker in the bathroom. For me it is good for washing both hands and the body, as well as even for shaving the legs. The mousse is quite rich and dense, a puff of it is more than enough to be applied to a loofah to produce mounts and mounds of foam. The product does not dry the skin, yet I also can't call it a moisturizer - just another mass market wash. The scent may be cloying - it is not exactly raspberry, but more a bubble gum or a candy in nature and a bit too sweet for my liking. The price and the untended use of this product pretty much sum it up - I can recommend it.
November 21, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
good for dry skin
Summary
Clinique Clarifying Lotion 1 efficiently deals with flaky skin and dead cells, and it is especially good for the dry skin as mine. It is best used in one swipe - both from economical point of view and from the anti-dry effect point of view (extra rubbing in would do more harm than good and the alcohol content may cause dryness of the skin). The lotion is of pale green colour and feels like water, it is a good refresher and revitalizer. It has barely any scent, perhaps just a whiff of something alcohol-related. It also helps to address minor breakouts in T-zone. Using it mornings and evenings has been working out nice for me in that regard.
mycliniquelotion
423 results - showing 1 - 50
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Results per page:

Connect

My Account

Add

Best Of

Help

Latest

×

Sign up to keep in touch!

Be the first to hear about giveaways and exclusive discounts from BEAUTYONTRIAL and our partners.

Check out our Privacy Policy & Terms of use. You can unsubscribe from our email list at any time.

We have 963 guests and one member online