Reviews written by 4lex4ndr4

299 results - showing 1 - 50
1 2 3 4 5 6
Ordering
July 02, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Packaging 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
too many contras
Summary
The manufacturer claimed that Syoss Beauty Elixir Oil saturated the hair with vitality and gave it extra shine - that was what did its purchase for me. The oil indeed helped to regain some strength and better condition of my dry dyed tips, but it turned to have more minuses than pluses. The dispenser always delivered too much oil. The oil itself was more a sunflower seed oil (which is one of its main ingredients apart from some silicone-derived ones elements) - greasy, difficult to wash away from my palms after the application, with extremely poor absorption. Scent of the essence was a bit too chemical and verged on the edge of unpleasant. If even a bit overused the oil turned washed and clean tips of the hair into greasy icicles...thus the best use of the oil, as I had discovered, was to apply it prior to the washing. It did delivered better looks especially if the hairdryer was used (the hair stayed protected), but at the end, it had been too much bother to use, so I can't recommend it...
June 29, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Packaging 
 
4.0
Long lasting 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
look fancy but give no real pigmentation
Summary
Being a huge fan of Rimmel mascaras I've dreamt upon trying its eyeshadows for a long time, and finally last March I was lucky enough to buy Sun Safari variety of Rimmel Glam Eyes Quad Eye Shadow at a huge discount rate. The shadow quad box looked very stylish and neat (no mirror, alas, but it was compensated by a large volume of eyeshades). It was sturdy and durable as well. The applicator seemed rather cheap and flimsy but it proved to be OK in the process of application. The shadows however were a different story. They were too tightly compressed so at first getting any amount onto the applicator was a challenge. After the first layer was gone they began to dust a bit. But the worst thing was the saturation or pigmentation. These shadows just refused to build up upon my eyelid, I felt like I had applied at least three layers and they still were barely visible. Needless to say that they stayed put in a similar manner i.e. fading away in mere hours... I still have them and use on occasion if I want make-up au naturelle (since the shadows are not that visible), but for the rest I can not recommend them...

cool design, barely any pigmentation

Rimmel Glam Eyes Quad Eye Shadow
June 29, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Mildness 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
deals with fatigue signs
Summary
Neal's Yard Remedies White Tea Enriching Facial Mask is a nice treat for urban people who would like to have their look 'repaired' overnight. This mask has a dense structure as any clay mask would have; it is of lavender to beige colour and makes your face look a bit ghostly after the application. It dries within seconds or even faster that's why it can be a challenge to spread it evenly. Once put, it produces a minor cooling effect, but no tingling or burning. It may feel as if it constrains the mimics, but this feeling is not an unpleasant one. The scent of this Enriching Facial Mask is of tea oil and to some extent reminds of eucalyptus or a pine tree resin. Personally I am Ok with the scent but some may find it off-putting. The best part in this mask is after it has been washed off with lukewarm water - the skin feels velvety to the touch, like it is a baby skin, some minor wrinkles go away, the overall facial complexion looks much better and healthier. I also have witnessed that majority of black dots on my nose got cleaned. In a nutshell, I can recommend it!
June 29, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
pure delicious heaven
Summary
As an owner of dry skin I am already happy with this product from the first try! It has a light non-sticky texture, no silicones among the ingredients, it absorbs really fast and provides visible outcome efficiently taking care of dry skin patches. It has a nice scent which is far from overwhelming, that lingers on the skin for some time (totally lovely feature I must say). I also have been surprised with the large volume of the lotion, which taking into account the small amount it takes to get the moisturizing job done, will definitely last me for a solid quarter. It has a cute design as well! To sum up - this body lotion is one big plus itself and I am totally glad I was chosen to trial it - it lives up to all my expectations that a perfect body lotion should have.
May 20, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Value for money 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Eaux de Toilette
great EDT for cold season
Summary
Nina Ricci Luna has recently captured my attention due to my former feelings towards Nina Ricci Nina. Luna, being a 2016 creation, is a more confectionary and warmth-generating mixture than it famous predecessor. It starts with caramel later morphing into forest berries and fades into sandal notes. The bottle is the same apple in essence, however this time the creators have overdone a bit with the push button - making it as an apple stem with a rather limited surface to press they made the application ritual is rather cumbersome and sometimes even a bit painful. The EDT itself has a moderate longevity of 3 to 4 hours and after that it has to be reapplied. The scent will be best suited for cold season as well as for the evening time. As for the age restrictions, to my mind, it will compliment in different ways both teens and women.
Nina Ricci Luna EDT
May 20, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
it does moisturize but at what cost...
Summary
I have been using a miniature travel-sized 6ml jar of Garnier SkinActive Moisture Bomb The Antioxidant Super Moisturizer but despite its size the experience of application rather telling. The gel has a light milkish texture and absorbs within seconds making it a good pre-make-up tool. The substance has a strong fresh scent, a chemical one, but not unpleasant, and it quickly fades away once the gel is in contact with the skin. However, as in the case of other Garnier moisturizers this one contributes to a burning sensation as soon as it is applied, which, personally for me, means it is not that good for my skin. It goes away very fast but still. One more disappointing this is the composition, which is as far from natural as one may expect. To summarize, I can say that this gel may be used as an emergency measure since it acts quickly and is a cheap one, however, I would recommend staying away from it on a daily basis due to its ingredients...
Garnier SkinActive Moisture Bomb The Antioxidant Super Moisturizer
May 14, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
nice but thanks
Summary
Elegant Touch Trend Nails have been a definitely interesting experience for me. They have nice girlish design that is both good for a date and a working day at the office. The nails are easy to apply (not a 3 min job, however, but still), they come in different sizes, thus matching the one you need to your finger is a piece of cake. They stay in place for 3+ days and if handled with care will do for 5 solid days. That's all in terms of their pros. As for the contras, despite their elegant embodiment and matte-like texture they still look fake and plastic... They definitely lack realism. One more problem with these nails is that I have found them a bit difficult to get rid of i.e. to remove, they are clingy and not every remover will do its job properly. In a nutshell, having rather pathetic shape of my natural nails and constantly being nagged by my husband on the issue of 'doing smth with them' apart from simply covering with nail polish and shaping at home, I still prefer to have them rather than to use these glued up nails (mostly due to their fake appearance upon fingers).
May 05, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Accessories
glamorous add-on to dramatic look
Summary
These Wispies from Ardell Lashes have been my first experience with false lashes, and at first I had some qualms of how they will fit and stick to my upper eyelids and how not to spoil the overall image. However, these lashes are quite the find. I have pretty long natural lashes and prefer stick to them, but Ardell cuties add volume and density and in that way are good companion to a party or evening celebrations where exceptional look and more profound make-up are required. These lashes are easily applied (as well as taken off) and not vulgar- or cheap-looking ones, to my opinion they will perfectly fit to deeply set eyes. They are also reusable (if taken off with care), which is a great plus. In a nutshell, a great product to have and to use on occasion.
May 05, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
nice moisturizer
Summary
L'Oréal Paris Revitalift Cicacrem Anti-Wrinkle is an excellent beauty item in terms of moisturization, hydration of the skin, adding softness and plumpness to it. I had two samples of the product and they lasted me 7 applications. The cream is a lightweight one, its colour smth between white and ivory, and it is not actually odourless as the producer claims, but its scent didn't bother me being a rather pleasant one. It absorbs well, leaving no greasy traces. In terms of wrinkles or rather their disappearance I have not noticed any major difference. Perhaps it is to do with the fact that I have not used it for a prolonged period of time, but I guess it has more to do that this cream is more a mass market product. In general, the cream is great in terms of a care item, incl. taking into account its volume/price ratio, but it is not the best and not the fastest way to address the skin ageing problem.
April 15, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
love it!
Summary
I have thin middle-length hair dry on the tips, prone to greasiness on the roots, damaged after dyeing, so John Frieda Frizz Ease Miraculous Recovery Conditioner has been just the thing I have been looking for. This conditioner's texture is a bit runny, slightly thicker than shampoo and it has a strong chemical smell of candy (which, btw, I like). It is packed in a convenient and high-quality tube. The conditioner can be easily and quickly distributed upon the hair, and upon rinsing it off it does not leave a feeling of oiliness or greasiness - the hair just feels clean and smooth. It delivers very promptly - it takes just two tries to witness the transformation: the hair changes from exhausted and dull to smooth, glossy and manageable. It also feels stronger to the touch. The conditioner is not a hair-flattener, though. My subtle waves of hair remained as they were, but the frizz was indeed eliminated. The dry tips also looked much healthier after the third try of the conditioner. I have used it following shampooing my hair with other brands, so I bet if you have a complete series of John Frieda's the results will be even more impressive. In general, I am smitten with the product and can recommend it!

great for coloured frizzy hair

April 12, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Moisturising 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
cute and handy
Summary
This lipstick can be both used as a primer or as a stand alone item. It is very concisely designed - elegant and stylish. The variety of shades allows to pick up the one that best matches the complexion. Its texture is buttery, creamy, pleasant. The lipstick is easily applied and is not felt on the lips at all. It stays put for solid 4-5 hours and can withstand a cup of coffee or a light snack. After that, the lipstick fades away. It is not prone to leaks, and looks totally gorgeous on the lips! I have No. 14 Plum Pop, but other shades also look great (depending on the look one wishes to achieve). The one drawback of the lipstick for me is that upon frequent application it may result in slight drying of the lips. To this purpose, I sometimes use a transparent lip balm prior to this lipstick (and apply it only after half an hour).
Clinique Pop™ Lip Colour and Primer
April 02, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
does its job but not very natural in essense
Summary
Clinique Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief is a nice gel cream with a light texture and a barely distinguishable odour. It goes great for dry skin, generating intense miniaturization and keeping the skin plump and supple. It also deals with a web of fine lines due to the fact that the skin becomes more hydrated and 'saturated'/ However, I would recommend using it in the evening since 1) it absorbs rather slowly and will not do as a pre-make up tool, 2) it has no SPF protection to be used during the day especially in summer. It is also a product that is very sparingly used (in fact that is a plus taking into account that it is not cheap). It has silicones among its ingredients, so I would advise alternate it with other similar items i.e. not to use it every day.
April 02, 2018 (Updated: April 02, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
good for de-puffing
Summary
I have a miniature version of Clinique All About Eyes Serum. It is liquid (runny), transparent and odourless. Each roll of the tube produces a small amount of it. The serum is applied easily, it absorbs within seconds, both the roll and the serum produce cooling effect at once. The serum nicely addresses puffy eyes regardless of the time of day (morning or evening), but it does little to anything else i.e. intense hydration, diminishing of dark circles or smoothing the fine lines. Thus, it will best do for young people. It is also very economical in use - 5 ml lasted me about 1.3 months. In addition to the serum I would advise to use under-eye cream to achieve the higher level of miniaturisation (the serum alone was not enough for me) In general, I can recommend it, however, more as an accompanying item than a main one.
Clinique All About Eyes Serum De-Puffing Eye Massage
March 30, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Packaging 
 
4.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Moisturising 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
solid B lip tint balm
Summary
Maybelline Baby Lips Pop Art Lip Balm (Blueberry Boom 018) has a nice vivid shade. It is really quite beautiful - something between pink and purple, with a definite cold undertone. It is easy to apply - it sort of melts onto the lips and one layer is enough to make the tint manifest. This balm may well go as a full-fledged lipstick provided you use a lip pencil as well. It has a chemical smell of a sour candy and tastes just as well, but it is not off-putting. It holds for solid couple of hours and even more if you do not eat or drink something, and after that it slowly fades leaving a rosy tint behind. Immediately after application and for a first hour it also has a slight pearly shimmer to it. The balm is not greasy and has minor moisturizing properties. However, it will best do for healthy lips without any problems like dryness, since it accentuates such imperfections. Its major downsides are that the design of the packaging is a bit childish and the cap looks a bit flimsy (I expect it to get loose at some point in future if carried constantly in the purse among other belongings). In general, this lib balm is a nice item for basic lip care and may even do for a party.
March 29, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
excellent!
Summary
This Hand Gel is a package deal - you get both nice hand treatment and bacteria free palms. It is a real luxury item, which at first emits a strong scent of alcohol, but within seconds upon application it is replaced with a subtle aroma of jasmine. The applicator seals the contents inside tightly and at the same time delivers just the right amount to sanitize the hands. Unlike other sanitizers, it does not dry the skin, quite on the contrary, the skin feels hydrated and well cared for. The design of the bottle is stylish and classy and the insubstantial weight of the latter allows carrying it around with no additional burden to the purse. In a nutshell, it is a great must have for a modern lady!
Baylis & Harding Jasmine & Apple Blossom Hand Gel
March 27, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Well defined lashes 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
pricey but effective
Summary
Clinique High Impact Mascara is one of the best mascaras I have tried, although it is quite pricey and has a rather simple clear-cut design (some may find it unappealing). This mascara provides for a natural look, well-defines lashes and a saturated colour. The bristles in its brush are neatly 'packed together', yet they produce no clumps and do not lead to any kind of smudging. This makes Clinique High Impact an every day choice for me. It is not promising extra volume, however, if it is applied in 2 or 3 layers such volume may be achieved. The best feature of this particular mascara is that it dos not flake at all (even at the end of its life cycle). Thus, no panda eyes await you at the end of the day. To this end, I can totally recommend this beauty item.

bestseller proved by experience

March 24, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Value for money 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
absolutely smitten with it!
Summary
Zealous Flower form Bronnley is one of the best perfumes I've tried so far (and this thanks to B.O.T.) - it is mild, sensual and subtle sent that stays on during the whole day. Its longevity is amazing - it beats some of EDPs I have of other famous brands (stays up to 8 hours). The roll-on design allows for easy and environmentally friendly application (no spraying off into the air), and it is a great one as a carry oi item. The scent combines bergamot, pear, rose jasmine and amber making a unique mix. It is a daily fragrance for me, a great one to keep company in the office, totally reccomend this cutie!
Bronnley Zealous Flower EDT Rollerball
March 24, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
a gentle gel-cream with cooling effect
Summary
YR Reviving Roll-On for Eyes is a nice beauty treat for those who suffer from dark circles under the eyes (like me). It has a cute applicator with 3 rolls that by themselves produce cooling effect and may indeed soothe the sensitive skin and bring comfort after a long day. The applied cream which has to be squeezed out of the tube (often it is difficult to squeeze the right amount so you'll end up with extra) is of ivory colour and light texture (something between cream and a gel cream). It does not irritate the skin, no tingling, burning, or redness of any kind involved, neither it contributes to any kind of puffiness. Since the cream is recommended for 25+ do not expect great anti-age effect. This cream is more a nourishing and moisturizing item than that combating fine lines or wrinkles. In general, it is a good supporting measure to keep your eyes free from signs of fatigue, although a pricey one.
Yves Rocher Elixir Jeunesse Reviving Roll-On for Eyes
March 22, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Value for money 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
improver of your healthy looks
Summary
I'm not a big fan of tanners (they usually result in unexpected colouring and over-dried skin), but this one, received from B.O.T., has proved to be just the thing I needed after a long cold winter when skin is so pale and 'bled out' of any decent colour. The tanner has a light transparent texture and is easy to apply. I applied it an hour prior to sleep and in order to keep my fingers clean of the substance I used a make up remover mitt. In the morning my skin had a nice natural looking tan, no uneven stripes or awful orange colouring. The skin also felt moisturized enough and looked heathier than before (I guess, it has to be algae and cucumber extracts as well as hyaluronic acid indicated in the ingredients). The tan lasted for 5 days, which was fine by me. In general, it is one of the best tanners I've tried, and I can recommend it, even if it is a bit pricey.

sun-kissed skin (especially a desired one after a winter time)

James Read Sleep Mask Tan Face
March 19, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
great item for skin without concerns
Summary
Laura Geller Baked Balance-n-Brighten Foundation looks more like an eye shadow than a foundation at first glance, mostly due to its unconventional design. It is stuffed neatly in a sturdy reliable packaging. Upon application the foundation creates a really great and even coverage, perfectly matching the skin tone. It is a decent item even for dry skin since it does not accentuate the fine lines and its light texture allows the skin to breathe and look indeed natural (not covered with a layer of make up). A small built-in mirror is a nice touch, and although it may not do for observing a complete picture but it is a great one to see in detail a certain part of your face. On the other hand, the foundation provides for mild coverage, i.e. if you have skin problems it will be useless in covering them.
Laura Geller Baked Balance-n-Brighten Foundation
March 18, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
a handy multitasker
Summary
Dr. Lipp Original Nipple Balm is a nice multitasker to have in purse at all times. It indeed helps to cure and plump the lips, adds shine to the cheeks (if there is no highlighter at hand), may also be used as a hair styling product. It is quite dense and may be a bit tricky to apply, but on the other hand there is no threat of squeezing extra volume out of the tube. The balm has no odour and upon emerging from the tube it sports a barely olive (or greenish tint) but upon application it is purely transparent. Its non-oily structure helps to use it in any imaginable way you prefer. I also enjoy the design and light weight of the tube that make Dr Lipp Balm a good companion every step of the way. It absorbs OK, and leaves no greasy trail - in fact, I admire how this balm turned my elbows from a 'barren land' to a nice soft skin. It is a good one to use as a pre-make up tool, for example, before applying a matte lipstick (which usually dries the lips). The one downside of this balm is its price. In all else it is just a miracle!
Dr. Lipp Original Nipple Balm
March 18, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
a quick-acting mask for extra gloss of your hair
Summary
I've tried this mask since its intended use was very dry hair. The substance itself is dense, buttery, with a definite addition of L'oreal Oil (and it smells quite the same), it is beige coloured and upon a closer examination you may see shimmering particles in it. It is easy to apply (not as much easy to rinse off completely though). It is to be in action for 2 to 3 minutes which is great if you are pressed for time (I've tried to have it longer on my hair and result is pretty much the same). After the hair has been dried up it definitely looks more luscious, glossier, however, the tips still look almost as dry as they were prior to washing. To the mask's credit, almost nothing I've tried before really made an effect upon the tips. The scent of the mask lingers for a solid day and a half and it is a pleasant feature of the mask as well. The mask is extra cheap in terms of volume/price ratio. If used often one has to be prepared that not only it improves the hair condition, but, due to the oil in its ingredients also makes you wash you hair more often. Despite its downsides, I can still recommend this one.
March 14, 2018 (Updated: March 14, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Mildness 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
contributes to velvety skin
Summary
L'Oréal Paris Pure Clay Glow Face Mask is claimed to be perfect for all skin types but my hunch is it will best do for those who have oily skin and enlarged pores. However, it will not do harm if you have other types of skin. The 50ml packaging states it is to be used 10 times, but in reality, even if you do not spare the substance, it is 20+ and counting. The mask has a dense and a bit oily texture with pronounced scrubbing parts in it. Once applied it takes on a reddish colour with deep beige undertone that makes you feel as if you overused a tanner or spent too much time on the sun. There is also a tingling sensation to the skin, it brinks on an unpleasant one, but fades away quickly. The mask is easily washed off with plain water. Afterwards, the skin looks silky and smooth, velvety to the touch, free from any dead cells. I can definitely recommend this one!
March 14, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
a really nice one
Summary
I have a 7ml version of Balance Me Wonder Eye Cream and it is really a worthy beauty item. I rarely come by something, which does not affect the skin under my eyes in the negative way (starting from tingling or burning and ending up with puffy eyes or redness). This cream however have matched all my expectations in 'brightening' and 'soothing' domain. I used the cream 1.5 h prior to going to bed and each time I marvelled how my skin looked good, rested and healthy in the morning. The cream is rationed scarcely which is good, every time I squeeze I get the right amount. It is light textured and does not contribute to any swelling of the skin under the eyes, rather it is an excellent moisturizer, and I bet will suit even the most sensitive skin. It has a pleasant odour, not an overwhelming one, and I do prefer items that smell good to those that have unpleasant scent or no scent at all, even if the latter may be more beneficial to my skin. As for the diminishing of wrinkles, it produces some effect, but do not expect miracles here. It is also a pricey one, but I can recommend it due to all its benefits listed above.
February 28, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Value for money 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
a refreshing shampoo
Summary
Redken for Men Mint Clean Invigorating Shampoo is one of the shampoos my husband uses. It is a good one, especially for the summer, when the freshness and coolness is what everybody crave. The shampoo greatly improves softness, silkiness and overall look of the hair even if used on a regular basis. It has a pleasant fresh scent and in some sense is very invigorating. The scent lingers for a good day and a half. A little goes a long way in terms of this shampoo so one bottle lasts appr. 4 to 5 months provided it is regularly used. It is not as cheap as one would like it to be, but I can safely recommend this one.
February 28, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
a doubtful wonder
Summary
Wonder Wing Eyeliner is a new creation of Rimmel's aimed at creating impeccable lines. I have been seduced by a loud promo and helped myself to this beauty treat. It does look cool - both the outer design and the tip of the applicator. It is easy to apply as well as the majority of its 'brothers'/'sisters' since it is not liquid and doesn't smear. It has a sharp and not very pleasant chemical smell, although nothing major one can't cope with. But the devil is in the details, namely saturation and longevity. The lines produced by this eyeliner tend to lose their colour (it fades rather quickly) as well as shape - after some time the line begins to blur and leak somewhat... it might be OK for a smoky eyes make up but it will not do for an everyday office routine. All and all, after having a try with this one, I'll stick to my usual eyeliner from another brand.
February 28, 2018 (Updated: February 28, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
4.0
Well defined lashes 
 
1.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
1.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
smear'fully real mascara
Summary
With Rimmel Wonder'fully Real Mascara I've become another victim of an ad campaign and glamorous maroon design. This mascara looks good and promises much, but what it mostly delivers is lots of smearing. Its consistence is extremely runny, taking a long while for it to dry, and while at it, the mascara tends to imprint itself on the upper lid. It is absolutely out of question to use it if you in a hurry. It doesn’t define the lashes and may even create clumps upon them.... I have really expected much more quality product from my favourite Rimmel. It is lasting but for it to last you have forst to wait till it is dry... Do not recommend it. Period.

Panda eyes creator

February 26, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
a peculiar one
Summary
This shower gel has come as a surprise for me in terms of its packaging (like a shaving foam), but it has proven to have its perks. First of all, the foam is rich and has a very strong scent of eucalyptus (and it does have oriental feel to it). It is not feminine at all, and sometimes I think it is not even a strictly unisex one taking into account the shape of the packaging. It lingers both on the skin and in the bathroom for quite a time. The foam produces great lather, even if there is a relatively small volume. Although there may be some non-economic use of the substance, since the dispenser tends to 'spit off' more foam that I actually need. I like the feel of the skin after the bathing; I bet the organic ingredients mentioned in the composition have a lot to do with it. This foam is a nice one to test and try, it will be a good companion for a family trip due to its scent and its lightweight packaging. Despite some minor qualms I can recommend it.
February 20, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
2.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
a fabulous 'one night stand'
Summary
Glitterati series of Barry M is a great way to sparkle and to impress. It is a perfect companion for every party, its vivid and intense colour and fabulous glittering sparkles will drive off any dismal thoughs. The tube have a classy golden cap which is easy to hold to apply the polish. The brush is also of a moderate size and it neatly glides over the nail's surface leaving no spots uncoated. This nail paint is best worn in 2 coats - for more dramatic effect. However, the worst enemy of this nail polish seems to be plain water - even having a simple 5-7 min shower leaves a dent in it i.e. the tips look chipped off and following a more prolong contact with water the polish may be peeled of as a layer of paint... which I have found a bit disappointing. On the other hand, using an polish remover on it produces great results - no glitter remains, and the removal itself does not harm the nails by the mentioned glitter. To summarize, it is a delightful beauty item to be used for one special day, but please do not expect extra longevity here.
February 20, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Packaging 
 
5.0
Cleansing power 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
nice for a change
Summary
Syoss Volume Lift Shampoo with Collagen & Lift is a great shampoo if it is uses from time to time. It has a pearly light texture, is easily lathered and its pleasant perfumed scent lingers for a solid day and a half. It cleanses well, my fine hair gains extra volume and its waves became more pronounced and more curly (thus if you have frizzy hair, this is not the shampoo you should go for). Some brands promising volume usually end up bringing some resemblance of light dandruff to my hair (i.e. they over-dry the scalp somehow), this Syoss is not. The ratio price vs volume is astounding to the shampoo's credit. The only sad thing about it is the composition - too many hidden nasties there, therefore I use it only occasionally.
February 13, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Mildness 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
pleasant cleanser
Summary
I have got Ericson Laboratoire Biopure Phyt'Oxygen Mousse as a present otherwise, I doubt I bought it before since it was a pricey one as a mere cleanser. However, one has to give credit where credit is due and this is indeed one of the mildest cleansers I have ever had. Although it is not a perfect match for my normal skin (it will do better for a combination or an oily one), its foam very gentle, almost imperceptible. The plastic dispenser allows the right amount to be used, so it is very economical. The bottle has to be shaken before use (it is a light one as well, so I have found no qualms with the application procedure). The scent is extremely pleasant and the cleansing itself entails no irritation, tingling, redness or otherwise. This mousse removes the traces of eyeshadow, powder, non-waterproof mascara well, yet it fails in terms of an eyeliner (though I do not normally use a waterproof one). The skin remains soft and not dry, but rather smooth and hydrated. Moreover, such effect is buildable and remains for some time. In general, I can recommend this item if you have some extra cash to spare, although for some of the make up you might probably need additional products.

Mild and gentle cleanser without any adverse effects. Best suited for sensitive, oily or combination skin.

Ericson Laboratoire Biopure Phyt'Oxygen Mousse
February 11, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
totally fabulous brush
Summary
I've got the Wet Brush Naturals Detangler Brush Light Wood very recently and seriously doubted its miraculous ability to address knots and unruly hair in a proper manner. I have been proven wrong. It will not be a lie if I say this is the best comb I've ever tried. It turns a mess of hair into a silken curtain. Two strokes of that brush and my hair looks as it has just been styled at the hairdresser's. I have a middle-length wavy thin hair that can be quite unruly at times. The comb is made of light wood and easy to maneuver. It is nice to the touch, and its bristles provide for a decent massage fro the sculp. In a way it works as a hair straightener bringing much better results that a number of styling items. This is a 5 star comb for me from now on!!!

best comb ever!

February 08, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Mildness 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
perfect for oily skin
Summary
Some may find the method of pulling the blackheads with a strip or a mask off-putting preferring other ways of dealing with this problem, I am always open to many solutions, so trialling Bioré Deep Cleansing Charcoal Pore Strips was an interesting experience. The strips themselves are neatly packed, each in a separate non-transparent packaging. It is a good thing in terms of hygiene and using them, f.e., on a trip. My personal advice is to use the strips after the hot shower or after the skin has been 'steamed out' a bit, otherwise you just waste the product. The skin also should be thoroughly moisturized (wet) to allow the strip to stick neatly to the contours of the nose. The application itself is an easy one, no hidden tricks or obstacles. Peeling off the strip may be far trickier - if the skin has not been moisturized enough before the application, such peeling may irritate it and make it feel scorched (that happened with my left nostril and took some time to heal). In my case, upon peeling off the strip gathered up not more than 1/3 of the blackheads each time I tried it (I bet it is due to the fact that although I have a bunch of these black nasties, they are tiny and the skin is normal and prone to dryness). In case of my husband, who has large pores and oily skin, the success was up to 85% of the blackheads removed. Afterwards, however, there might be a charcoal residue (hard to wash off) which on my nose looked worse that blackheads that I had before the procedure. In general, it is difficult for me either to recommend or not recommend this treatment. It doesn't work for my skin but it obviously does for an oily one. I also believe that although these strips are much more efficient and sanitary (in comparison with squeezing the blackheads with ones' fingers or some cosmetic tool), they are not the solution to the problem in the long run and to my personal belief (misguided or not) they might enlarge the pores if used too often.

works only with oily skin

February 08, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
a bath treat
Summary
Before trying Bomb Cosmetics Cherry Bathe-Well Bath Blaster I kept in in my room just to feel the vibrant and tasty cherries scent and to enjoy its cup-cake shape. This blaster is a true bath treat, it sizzles in a water and leaves even the sparkling particles that have been covering the top of the cake floating on the surface. The smell is divine, but as soon as the bomb toches the water and starts to fizzle and melt - the scent is barely there. The blaster does not change the colour of the water (except as for a tiny rosy cherry part of its top which dissolves the last) thus there are no stains afterwards which is a good thing. The bomb dissolves relatively fast (appr. 3 to 5 mins) and allows just to enjoy the usual bath saturated with the blaster's components. After finishing such a ritual, the skin is silky and smooth to the touch. In general I liked the experience with this one, the only regret that once used it is gone for good.
February 03, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Value for money 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Eaux de Toilette
lovely floral fragrance
Summary
Gucci Bamboo EDT is a wonderful scent for accentuating one's femininity. Although I can not say it is a unique one (it strongly reminds me of other brand's creations) but it is a worth addition to a perfuming routine. The scent allures with bergamot, orange blossom and an undertone of ylang ylang. Despite its title, there no bamboo in the mix, however, the fragrance is non-obtrusive, light-textured and floral. It is not vanillish at all (to which I am grateful), and being an EDT lasts 4 to 6 hours (impressive!), afterwards it has to be re-applied. It is a good choice for any season. Plus it is subtle enough to be worn to the office on a daily basis. The design of the bottle is elegant, posh and nice item to have on a night stand. I can safely recommend this one.
February 01, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Well defined lashes 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
it withstands any rain/snow!
Summary
Having familiarised myself with a non-waterproof 'sister' of the same brand line before this time I have ventured into the waterproof domain once more with Lancôme Hypnôse Doll Eyes Waterproof Mascara. This mascara retains all the pluses. It is stylish and classy in design, the tube is sealed shut in one swift motion with an audible click. It has a cone-shaped brush allowing for an even coverage for both long and short lashes. It has neither runny, nor stiff consistency and to my utter surprise does not dry out even when the best before date has long been passed. It nicely defines the lashes, lengthening them. The volume, however, is moderate, and not the greatest trait of this product. The mascara stays put for solid 8 hours without any sign of flaking, crumbling and so on. Its waterproofness is totally remarkable - even if you wash the face with soap it won't make a dent into the mascara's coating. But this undisputable advantage has an underside - you'll have a very hard time in removing the mascara completely. Even the best of my removal beauty items failed in full or in part, leaving traces of its mascara behind. Probably, it can be easily removed with related product of the brand (I had once one, but I do not anymore), but I can not say for sure. In general, if you need an outstanding waterproof mascara - this is definitely THE ONE.

it takes the concept of waterproofness to a whole new level!

Lancôme Hypnôse Doll Eyes Waterproof Mascara
February 01, 2018 (Updated: February 01, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
has a strange effect at the long run
Summary
Maybelline Color Definer Waterproof Shadow Stick is a decent one for a try. One cool design perk is that it has a buil-in plastick sharpener, that will keep the point of the stcik always ready to draw a perfect line. The shade itself has a good pigmentation; it is saturated enough. The colour which I have (of beige variety) will greatly compliment brown and hazel eyes. It is convenient to draw along the contour, of an eye, especially good for the lower eyelid - the shadow stick does not crumble, produces a clear line with a pearlescent shine. However, after a couple of hours following the application of the upper eyelid with these shadows, the shadows seem to dry out and even crack a little. If you try to add additional shadow to even the pigmentation - they just roll off the skin like a clay, as if the eyelids are scaly. And in general the effect is that the eyes look aged for a number of years... This fact, actually, overshadows the positives that this beauty item brings.
January 28, 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
2.0
Absorption 
 
1.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
not for my dry skin
Summary
I had a sample of this so called serum but it was enough for me to discourage from buying a full-sized item. The serum was heavy-textured, viscous and greasy. It had a sharp scent of a wild chamomile or scented mayweed, which can probably won't be for everyone's liking (just like in my case). Upon application it had an unpleasant feeling of a film or grease and takes at least 2 hours till it is fully absorbed (even if used in tiny amounts). Once I even gave up and washed it off my face after 30 minutes since the feeling of clogged and 'not breathing' skin was unbearable. In the morning the skin looked better, more soft and decently hydrated, however, after the first cleansing or washing the face such effect was gone. No other super-effects of this concentrate had been witnessed by me. All and all, I will not recommend this one, it is pricey and there can be much cheaper and better moisturizers.

extremely oily and takes ages to absorb

January 28, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
wonderful and working hand moisturiser
Summary
I have got a travel version of Tarocco Orange cream and absolutely love it so far! The cream is a rich textured one, but nevertheless it absorbs within minutes without any greasy leftovers or sheen, leaving behind a tasty smell of a citrus. It works miracles with dry skin and a perfect treat after meddling with water and a plain soap - it nourishes, saturates the skin with moisture, reviving its hydro-balance. In barely a week I already can see the difference. The cream has a convenient packaging, it is a lightweight, nicely designed both in terms of style and intended use. It is easy to take along and to put on a night stand upon its cap/lid. The latter tightly seals the contents inside (another bonus for carrying the cream along). I see no downsides to this product; it is a great hand therapy item.

Absolutely recommend!

Crabtree & Evelyn Tarocco Orange, Eucalyptus & Sage Hand Therapy
January 25, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
1.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
great effect but messy application
Summary
Upon receiving Elizabeth Arden Shimmer Cream Eyeshadow Bronze Beauty and squeezing the pin-sized contents onto my finger I doubted at first that a shadow that deep (like chocolate) will do for my eyes and look sexy and mysterious instead of plain vulgar. I was wrong. Upon application the shadow is spread more evenly, looking in general much better than powdery shadows. It has a wonderful 'built-in' shimmer and will do amazingly for an evening make-up. It compliments my hazel-brown eyes making them look brighter and warmer like they are 'tea-coloured', which I find totally amazing. I believe, it will also suit people with pale or fair completion - it will create more dramatic effect and put additional accent upon the eyes. The shadow keeps its intensity for longer than its 'powdery sisters'. The problem with these shadows is the process of application: 1) the tube provides more shadow that required 2) there is no easy way to put the shadow on without messing the fingers 3) if you'd like steer clear of using the fingers, then you'll need an additional tool for application. In general, I can recommend these ones, even despite their discontinuation.

will do for fair skin and hazel-to-brown eyes

January 24, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
works its way to a glowing skin
Summary
Lancôme Advanced Génifique Youth Activating Concentrate is an enhanced version of currently discontinued Lancôme Génifique. I have never tried the latter one, but have been lucky enough to dive into trialling the former. The Serum is an opaque, unclear, colorless liquid. It has a very light texture, it is not viscous, and felt almost like water. Upon application it is absorbed almost instantly: within 20-30 seconds the skin literally ‘drinks it up’, so that after a minute and a half there is absolutely no indication that something has been applied to it – no film, no greasiness. It does not contribute to a greasy sheen either, thus there will be no need to powder the face for any matte effect. In fact, it is a wonderful item to use for ‘refreshing’ the skin prior to make-up. It is also a good one for an evening ritual – as a preparatory step for nourishing ritual (prior to any cream). In general, its results are firstly manifested in soothing effect to the skin, plumpness, and hydration and there is a feeling of utter comfort. After 5 to 7 days fine lines go out of the picture as well as dry patches and flaky skin. The serum is extremely economical: 3 drops is enough to cover the most part of the face even with my prone to dryness skin. The serum is, alas, expensive and silicone as its ingredient concerned me some (I’ll probably would alternate between it and other items with a similar effect), but I can recommend this one.
January 24, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
2 in 1 and very convenient!
Summary
WUNDER2 Dual Precision Brush is a nice tool for managing and styling the brows. Having a moderately thick ones, I've enjoyed the experience with this brush (thanks to B.O.T.). It is very convenient one to hold and to apply the gel/mascara or to comb the brows. The spoolie bristles are firm, which I personally like, and they help to manage my sometimes unruly brows into a fashionable shape. The slanted brush is thick with bristles and soft. It is good not only for the brows but for shading the eyelids (with a shadow or even a pencil) as well. The only drawback which I could find was the scent - the item still has a lingering smell of silicone wrappings that kept both the brush and the spoolie intact.
WUNDER2 Dual Precision Brush
January 20, 2018 (Updated: January 20, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
pretty decent moisturiser but with its hidden faults
Summary
I have tried this Plumping Care Day cream from a 5ml sample provided as a 7 to 10 days treatment. Upon first tries the cream behaved extremely well. Its texture is light one, almost melting into the skin. The cream is applied easily, smoothly without any greasiness or stickiness. It is sparingly spent as well and is absorbed in just a minute without leaving a trace. After that, the skin looks plumper, suppler, nourished and remains hydrated throughout the day, if the cream in question is not washed off or in any other way cleansed from the face. Cream serves as an excellent base for make-up - does not roll up or anything the like. It does eliminate fine wrinkles, but the effect is short-lived - once you stop using the cream, the effect will fade as well. Another one item of concern with a cream is that after some time it may cause inflammation of the skin i.e. due to some elements in its composition it seems to be comedogenic. I had several skin issues at the end of trialing the cream and I am unwilling to try it again. That is why I can not recommend it.
Yves Rocher Sérum Végétal Wrinkles & Firmness Plumping Care Day
January 20, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
great product!
Summary
Gatineau Age Benefit Integral Regenerating Cream which I received thanks to B.O.T. is intended for women with mature dry skin, and although my skin is generally prone to dryness it is not yet so mature (like 50+). However, the cream has managed to impress me. It is good to use both for face and neck (in the latter case to deal with wrinkles caused by constant sleeping on not a very small pillow). It has a rich texture, but despite this fact it is quickly absorbed. A bit of the substance goes a long way and it is a great plus taking into account the overall price of the item. The scent of this cream is totally amazing, a perfumed one but subtle and appealing. I have mostly used the cream as an evening ritual, 2 hours prior to going to bed, it works its magic properly and the skin looks even more refreshed in the morning. Following a week long daily application I can admit that my skin looks well cared for, saturated with moisture, healthy, plump and velvety (almost like a baby's bum). No major anti age effect is witnessed in case of my deep 'between-the-eyebrows' wrinkle, although it does tend to minor wrinkles around the eyes and on the forehead. I guess it just needs more time for the effect to kick in. All and all the one ‘off-putting’ thing about this moisturizer is its price, but, in all other aspects is just so good, that I can wholeheartedly recommend it.
Gatineau Age Benefit Integral Regenerating Cream
January 15, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
sort of a placebo
Summary
Yves Rocher Serum Vegetal Wrinkles and Firmness Ultra Plumping Serum has proven to be a wishy washy product for me. I tested a miniature of it (intended for use during 7 days period, but it lasted me more than that) and used it on the spots that sported any signs of wrinkles. The tiny tip of my miniature tube allowed just the right amount of the substance to be squeezed. The serum itself has quite a dense structure, reminding more of a cream. Although, to its credit, it absorbs quite fast. It is a fair enough tool to be used before applying make up since it moisturizes and a bit plumps up the skin. However, if you use it in the evening, after all the make up is gone and sleep in barely 1-2 hours away, you'll end up with a puffy face in the morning, just like I did time and time again. For all the length of the serum trials I did not witness any improvement on part of my wrinkles, they stayed just as they were before. To this end, considering the price of the serum and its overall effects, I can not recommend it, there are cheaper moisturizers for that matter.

useless as a wrinkle treatment, just a pretty moisturizer

ves Rocher Sérum Végétal Wrinkles & Firmness Ultra-Plumping Serum
January 15, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Packaging 
 
4.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Moisturising 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
soft and long lasting
Summary
Bourjois Rouge Velvet Lipstick is a beautiful matte lipstick contained is a stylish engraved tube. I have got it barely 3 days ago (courtesy of B.O.T.) and already enjoy its benefits. The tube is not an easy one to open (plus - it will not open by itself in a bag, minus - I was afraid to damage the lipstick), however, once done this hurdle is easily overcome during subsequent openings. The lipstick is extra soft, and glides upon lips like a butter. The shape of the tube and a slanted edge of the lipstick provide for immaculate application. The lipstick has a pleasant and subtle smell. The biggest advantages of this lipstick are its saturated pigmentation and extended longevity. I had 2 cups of tea before there was any loss of pigmentation (and it happened mainly on the inner side of the lips) and the cup in question showed barely any signs that I wore a lipstick. On the other hand, matte lipsticks (and this one is not an exception) tend to dry lips (more precisely, make them feel dry) and accentuate all their 'nooks and crannies' i.e. wrinkles, dry spots, crevices and so on. This is not obvious from afar, but if you are in close conversation with a person, you will take notice. Personally, I use a transparent or close to a transparent one lip gloss to add an extra layer and to mask the downsides of a matte shade. I have trailed a 02 Flaming' Rose shade, it is a gorgeous one indeed, and definitely will suite people with pale skin and complexion perfectly. These lipsticks will also do for a party, a festive event, or a photo session when it is extremely important to keep the lips rosy and plump.
Bourjois Rouge Velvet Lipstick
Bourjois Rouge Velvet Lipstick
Bourjois Rouge Velvet Lipstick
January 13, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Delicious smell but the ingredients...
Summary
Palmolive Naturals Black Orchid & Moisturising Milk Shower Gel lured me into buying it for the first time back in 2015 due to its magnificent scent. It is so rich and great, that I couldn't just stop smelling the contents of the bottle. This actually is the main reason I keep returning to using it. Having been on and off user of this one for solid 2.5 years, I can say that it is a nice gel, it is cheap and easy to come by in stores, it very economical and produces large amounts of lather. The packaging is neat in terms of design and sturdiness. The only thing that still nags at me is the ingredients... sulphates, namely. I guess it is also the reason why the skin is cleansed (the beautiful scent lingering on it) but is not moisturized properly.... That is why I indulge myself with the gel not on a daily basis alternating between other ones in my bathroom. In general, I can recommend it, but with a reservation not to use it too often.
January 11, 2018 (Updated: January 12, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
2.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
has its perks
Summary
I have recently tested a sample of Nivea Daily Essentials Urban Skin Defence+48h Moisture Boost Day Cream as a part of new product campaign (it is just entering the market). This Urban Skin Defence is, frankly speaking, rather a gel than a cream, a light-textured and a green-coloured one. It is very economical (my sample lasted 3 tries). Upon application and following the absorption (which is not a quick one even if its amount is a miniscule one) the skin feels soft, plump, velvety and decently hydrated. I have not witnessed any 24+ (let alone 48+) hydration though, but 8 hrs for me is quite enough, even taking into account my prone to dryness skin that favours more dense and rich creams. It has an SPF protection, but the inability to sit well with make-up (it produces rolls and clumps) renders this bonus useless in many cases unless you just plan to use it on a holiday. It may be a good item for that very purpose since smells of freshness and summer and contributes to a good mood from the start - just the thing we all need on holidays or days off. Despite its imperfections, I can still recommend it as an additional skin treatment, since it is rather cheap and long lasting in terms of volume.
Nivea Daily Essentials Urban Skin Defence+48h Moisture Boost Day Cream
January 10, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Packaging 
 
4.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Well defined lashes 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
solid B
Summary
Rimmel London Wonder'Full Wake Me Up Mascara is a quite recent addition to my make up. It caught my eye in the shop due to its flashy tube and acid green colour of the tube that seemed a bit preposterous (to its credit it happens to be a very easy one to find in the gloom of my purse). The tube itself is a convenient one, it seals the contents tightly with a slight click and is comfortable to hold and apply the mascara. The brush is fluffy (and those I prefer anytime over silicone ones), but due to its 'hourglass' shape at first it may be tricky to cover the lashes without smudging the lid. The mascara is not runny but it is not solid either. It delivers no clumps or glued up lashes, but... no extra volume either. However, it is a great choice for those who prefer natural looking intense black and well-defined lashes. Its scent may be the most extraordinary one of the bunch. The mascara distinctly smells of cucumbers, and upon the application it may seem that the whole face smells of them. Nevertheless, the scent has some perfume mixed up with it, so it is not a strictly 'salad' scent, and it does not feel unpleasant. In a nutshell, it is solid B mascara - nice, with its pros outweighing the contras.
Rimmel London Wonder'Full Wake Me Up Mascara
January 10, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
wonderful soap bar
Summary
I was introduced to Doxen & Hue French Cade Lavender Lathering Bath Bar a few weeks ago thanks to B.O.T. It is a hefty bar packed in a beautifully designed wrap with the company's insignia. The lavender-infused smell was so potent (not overpowering but pleasant), that before trying the soap I kept it a week among clean linen. The size of the soap bar is something to be truly admired - it takes up the whole hand! It is a great thing on one hand (will last for a long time), but at first is may be too much to maneuver. It lathers well and creates mild and soft foam. Upon lathering the scent becomes more subtle, almost imperceptible. The soap cleanses well, but it is not a cream soap, so do not expect that the skin will be extra moisturized. In general, it is a lovely soap and I can recommend it.
299 results - showing 1 - 50
1 2 3 4 5 6
Results per page:

Connect

My Account

Add

Best Of

Help

Latest

×

Sign up to keep in touch!

Be the first to hear about giveaways and exclusive discounts from BEAUTYONTRIAL and our partners.

Check out our Privacy Policy & Terms of use. You can unsubscribe from our email list at any time.

We have 1180 guests and no members online