Reviews written by lcroberts9

12 results - showing 1 - 12
Ordering
August 10, 2013
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Packaging 
 
1.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Still on the fence
Summary
I was excited to try this product as I love ethical and natural beauty products, and I know from experience that many of them work better for me than their chemical-nasty packed counterparts. When I first saw this product I was a little disappointed by the packaging. I'm not a fan of products that have more style than substance, and maybe as one reviewer suggested they are going for the minimal Clarins-style feel, but I thought the packaging looked a little cheap for a product that isn't pricey but still isn't in the budget range. The texture of the serum is more like a thin fluid than a light gel as most serums are. As i expected when i saw the name of the fragrance, there's very little scent to this product. i think a lovely natural scent would really make the product much less dull. It absorbs into the skin very quickly, and I felt a slight tightening effect immediately. Unfortunately this was the only hint I could see of the product working, over time it made little difference to my skin and I think that had it been winter rather than summer when I tried the product it may even have dried my skin out a little. The product claims to improve skin tone- well I have fairly red cheeks and pigmentation so that's a big ask, but I saw no visible improvements. All in all, I wouldn't recommend this product. Yes it's cheap but for me it was just plain dull and didn't really do anything for my skin.
July 17, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Packaging 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Best product for dry and irritated skin
Summary
This is an amazing product. After just one use my hand eczema looked 50 per cent better, and within 3 days it had improved to a level that I just couldn't believe. It works better than any medicated product I've ever tried, but without the harmful side effects. This is a fabulous natural product, it is light and non greasy and instantly absorbed. My only bugbear is that it absorbs so quickly that you have to use a lot of product on dry skin, meaning that it works out very expensive. The product has a light citrus fragrance that I found pretty pleasant, and the packaging is adequate although like with all tubes you end up struggling to get the last bits out.
March 12, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Packaging 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Get rid of rough patches with this decadent moisturiser
Summary
I've been wanting to try Mu London for ages, and I was lucky enough to trial this for free. The moisturiser comes in a classy little jar with a screw top lid, and when I opened it I was completely overwhelmed by how delicious it smells. It's the first chocolate/cocoa butter scented product I've ever used that doesn't smell even a little synthetic. Imagine a luxurious box of white chocolate bottles, and that's the scent. This product is very thick to the point of being solid, almost like a lip balm. The instructions tell you to melt a little bit on your hands and then apply to your skin. This is sometimes easier said than done, especially if you're cold blooded like me! It's much easier when you've just come out of the shower. However, once you've managed to get it out of the pot, the product spreads quite easily over the skin and sinks in really quickly. I have dry skin on my face with some very rough, scaly patches. After two days' use, these patches have disappeared! It doesn't leave my skin oily at all, although I don't expect that I'll be able to use it in the summer when my skin is generally in much better condition and even a little oily from the factor 50 suncreams that I need to use. I'll definitely be checking out Mu London's other products for summer, and also after reading the reviews below I'll be trying it out on my bad hand eczema and will report back. I honestly think this is the product to finally tempt me away from Liz Earle moisturiser, which I've been using for years!
February 26, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
A classic
Summary
I love this product. From the packaging, which allows you to use up every last bit of the product, to the very gentle scent, it's all good. Leaves my skin smooth and well moisturised, never greasy. Absorbs quickly, not too many chemical nasties, and well priced. My only complaint would be that the dry/sensitive version is a little too heavy for my rather dry skin - it broke me out in spots - but I changed down to this version and it's perfect.
February 08, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Value for money 
 
3.0
Packaging 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
2.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Effective, but scent is just too much
Summary
This is an effective deodorant but the smell just reminds me to much of old ladies! It's soapy and overpowering. Would only recommend in another fragrance
October 20, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Body Moisturisers
Not great for dry skin
Summary
This is pretty average as far as this kind of product goes. It does what it promises, but the colour effect might be too little for anyone who isn't quite pale. Surprisingly for Dove products, which are usually quite moisturising, this left me wit dry skin on my legs
October 17, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Packaging 
 
3.0
Cleansing power 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
2.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Adequate budget shampoo
Summary
I don't really think what shampoo you use makes much of a difference, it's more about the conditioner. The shampoo in this range is perfectly adequate. It cleanses your hair til it feels squeaky clean. Can't say I noticed any extra shine though. However, the conditioner that your supposed to pair it with is terrible. It just doesn't do anything more to my hair than the shampoo so i wouldn't buy the set
October 17, 2011
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Packaging 
 
2.0
Scent 
 
2.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
1.0
Doesn't even work as well as my normal conditioner
Summary
I have thick hair that is prone to knots and tangles. When I apply this, it just seems to sit on the dry hair and barely penetrate. Hence when you rinse it off, the surface of your hair feels as it it has a coating of smoothness but it doesn't seem to have touched your hair deep down.
October 17, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Packaging 
 
4.0
Long lasting 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Must have for eyeliner fans
Summary
I have never ever been able to apply stick liquid eyeliner or eyeliner pencils on my top lids until I bought this, so in a way it's changed my life. It can take a while to learn how to get the right amount on the brush so practice is needed, but once you use this you won't go back. It lasts for ages, and the colour can be quite intense but there are so many available that if black is too strong for you there are lots of nearly black shades on offer
October 17, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Packaging 
 
4.0
Long lasting 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Lovely for giving your skin that special glow
Summary
I finally took the plunge and bought this after seeing people rave about it online. I got it on beige (I have pale skin and red hair) after this colour was recommended to me by the counter assistant. Previously I was skeptical about how much this could do for your skin and it's quite expensive, but it really lights up your skin in a way that no foundation or primer I've ever used has been able to
October 17, 2011
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Packaging 
 
4.0
Long lasting 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Average for Bobbi Brown
Summary
October 17, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Packaging 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Aveda Be curly
Summary
I bought this product because I love Aveda shampoos and conditioners, but I feel slightly let down by their styling products. While it softened my curls a little, style-wise they didn't look very different. I also thought it could have been a little more conditioning
12 results - showing 1 - 12
Results per page:

Connect

My Account

Add

Best Of

Help

Latest

×

Sign up to keep in touch!

Be the first to hear about giveaways and exclusive discounts from BEAUTYONTRIAL and our partners.

Check out our Privacy Policy & Terms of use. You can unsubscribe from our email list at any time.

We have 577 guests and no members online