Reviews written by bakesnknits

367 results - showing 1 - 50
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ordering
March 28, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Not as good for dry skin as raved about
Summary
This foundation is raved about for dry skin but it was too chalky for my very dry skin and I couldn't make it work. I also think the shade range is too narrow and it is hard to find a match.
March 28, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
3.0
Moisturising 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Good satin finish drug store lipstick
Summary
These are a really nice drugstore lipstick: creamy and fairly moisturising and some gorgeous bold shades. However I was disappointed by how quickly went off. I really like how you can see the colour of the lipstick through the transparent bottom of the packaging.
March 28, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Generous size for the price
Summary
Everyone raves about how buttery Wet n Wild shadows are but I found this quad quite chalky. I bought the Hooked on Vinyl colourway and thought it would make a good evening look combined as directed and a couple of the individual shades might be suitable for the day time making it an excellent travelling quad. However I didn't really like any of the shades once I had started playing.
March 28, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Packaging 
 
3.0
Long lasting 
 
4.0
Moisturising 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Excellent for the money
Summary
You can tell this is a cheap lipstick immediately not because it is drying or patchy because it is neither but because of the horrible white plastic tube. The shade ranges are fairly universally flattering and easy to apply.
March 28, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
4.0
Moisturising 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
A really good beginners lipstick
Summary
This is lipstick for beginners, the thin bullet means it is ridiculously easy to apply and it is sheer so messiness doesn't matter. I enjoy this product although for a sheer product I would like it to be more moisturising and more like a balm. The packaging is terrifically chic though.
March 28, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Packaging 
 
4.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Brilliant budget concealer
Summary
Lots of people dislike this concealer as you apply it through a sponge on the stick but I don't mind this. It sits very well on my very dry skin. It is creamy and doesn't crease. It's my favourite concealer in the "drugstore".
March 28, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
4.0
Well defined lashes 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
A decent mascara but I'm not sure it's worth the price
Summary
I feel the promise of this mascara is that it will curl your lashes and hold them that way, which I didn't find to be true. It's a dark black and doesn't flake or smudge. Ultimately I prefer They're Real to this.
March 28, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Packaging 
 
1.0
Long lasting 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
A bargain for the price
Summary
I have a couple of these and I really like the product. Unfortunately it comes in huge cubes which are really impractical for travel or your make up bag on the go. They are well pigmented, not too heavy but a lot of colour. The shades are very natural and easy to use. The cream is very soft.
March 28, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
3.0
Long lasting 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Simple effective product
Summary
I find these shadows lovely for a day time look. They are well pigmented and don't crease. For a high end product though I would like the packaging to look and feel more expensive.
March 28, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Quite sparkly
Summary
I found this too much for use as a primer, as I'm not a disco ball face person. I used it a highlighter on the tops of the cheeks and it worked well. It would last you a long time used like this. The tone is very neutral, not too golden or too cold toned. The product is lovely and gentle on the skin.
March 28, 2019
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Packaging 
 
4.0
Long lasting 
 
2.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Cheap and cheerful but patchy coverage
Summary
These are a great first step in to the potentially expensive realm of eye shadow palettes. I had the Iconic 1, Iconic 2 and Romantic Smoked palettes. I really enjoyed playing with the different shades and it gives you an idea what suits you. I have passed these on now and will purchase any standout shades as single shadows. Ultimately, you don't need all the shades in any of these palettes, the mattes don't have enough colour pay off and the shimmers are quite glittery. The plastic packaging feels quite cheap but the large window means you can see every shade in the palette.
March 28, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
3.0
Moisturising 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Easy to use crayon lip stick/gloss
Summary
I adore these lip crayons, they are my favourite version of this product. I have them in several shades, mostly are very Spring/Summer but there is a nice nude and winter berry shade. These are moisturising for a lipstick and so do need topping up, but this is less of a problem as it's a crayon formula and you don't need a mirror. The formula is smooth, the pigment is medium to sheer and it's not patchy at all. I find these to be an excellent day time product.
March 10, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Mildness 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
A good, fairly effective detoxifying mask
Summary
This wasn't the best detoxifying mask I've ever used (my best is RENS) but a good second. You apply to damp skin and leave for 20 minutes. There are scrub particles to add to the treatment when it's cleaned off. It wasn't too hard to wash off, it didn't stick too much. My pores felt clearer and it would help calm down blemishes somewhat. You have to scoop it out of a pot, which is quite messy.
March 10, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Packaging 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
1.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
There are better hyaluronic acid products out there
Summary
This is supposed to transform other products into something extra hydrating. I added it to aloe vera gel, which was a good carrier product. The combination was easily absorbed and worked well to hydrate skin. It is a fussy process as you have to open it and pump the pipette before getting your other product ready. Overall, the product did hydrate my skin but I would choose other, easier products.
February 20, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Slightly pricey but lovely
Summary
The coconut scent is really nice and biscuity and quite addictive. I haven't tried any of the other flavours. I also only used this on my lips not elsewhere as a salve. It is a little pricey but lasted over a year. It comes in a very fashion-forward designed tube. However this has a screw cap but I was always worried I would lose it down the sinkhole. I kept this in the house as you have to apply it with your finger, which I find unhygienic when out and about. It is a little matte and good under other lip products. I found my lips didn't get dry or chapped whilst using.
February 20, 2019
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Packaging 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Mildness 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
1.0
Ease of use 
 
1.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
1.0
Uneffective and unrecommended by me
Summary
I was interested to try this as I am a huge fan of the Benefit They're Real mascara. It is notoriously difficult to remove (although I don't find it too bad with a oil-based cleanser). This was created to solve the problem. It is a thick cream, which comes in a tube. I wasn't sure how to use it as I had a mini size with no instructions. I tried using a cotton pad and also removing with a flannel and warm water. Ultimately, I didn't like smearing this into my eyes. I also found it didn't remove They're Real mascara or any other mascara any better than my regular cleansers.
February 20, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
A decent hand cream
Summary
The scents of Body Shop hand creams are always lovely and linger just the right amount. This is easy to squeeze out of the tube, right to the end and simply, elegantly packaged. One criticism of the packaging to that my screw cap flew off down a train when out and was lost. A flip top would be more practical. The cream is quickly absorbed and is reasonably moisturising.
February 20, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Value for money 
 
3.0
Packaging 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
An effective natural product
Summary
I was pleased to receive this product for review as I like products that contain fewer nasty chemicals. First impressions are the gorgeous packaging, in signature blue glass. Although this would be no good and too heavy for travel. The product is applied as a mist. The bottle is quite tall and I found it tricky to hold it in my hand and reach my index finger up the top. The mist is fairly direct and quite wet but dries quickly. The lemon and coriander scent it really nice, possibly the best thing about the product. I found I did sweat (I'm lucky that I'm not a hugely sweaty person day-to-day) but I felt I didn't smell and this is a deodorant rather than an antiperspirant. I wouldn't repurchase as my current product doesn't have any alcohol or aluminium.
January 25, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
A nice light moisturiser
Summary
I tried a small sample of this and was very impressed. It is listed as being for normal skin and I have very dry skin but it still worked really well. Base products apply well over the top. It glided on to skin and was very moisturising. Another great product from Neal's Yard.
January 25, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Mildness 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Not as good as the blue one
Summary
I enjoy the range of Garnier sheet masks. I tried this one but prefer the blue hydrating one over this. These are good for travelling as you can use the mask and then use up the remaining serum over a number of days.
January 11, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Packaging 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Reasonable night cream but I think you can do better for the money
Summary
The tub is quite hard to get into the crevices of but looks quite nice on the shelf. The smell is refreshing if synthetic. There are other night creams I prefer at a similar price.
January 11, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Packaging 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Works really well to keep skin looking great
Summary
You can use this product concentrated but you would get it through really quickly. I added it into Aloe Vera Gel and the combo worked really well on my skin. You need to get into a routine of shaking the bottle and pumping the pipette before opening the mixing product. Ultimately, my skin was well hydrated and "repaired" by this product.
January 11, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Packaging 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Baths and Showers
Really nice body wash but expensive
Summary
This has a strong unisex scent built on essential oils, some people might find this overwhelming but I like it. The SLS-free formula leaves skin feeling soft. My only problem is the screw-top lid, which is tricky and the bottle doesn't stand on end either.
January 11, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
4.0
Well defined lashes 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Very good budget mascara
Summary
I really enjoyed using this mascara. It delivered on nearly every front. It is a little clumpy but can be combed out with a spooley. It is dark black and adds a lot of volume and length. The wand is unique in the drug store as it has a hinge to fold to a right angle. I found this greatly helps application. It has good staying power and did not smudge at all (and I have very smudgy eye lids). At the end of the day, I did find my eyes felt tired and dry which I don't experience with other mascaras.
November 12, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Sheer, glowy finish
Summary
I really enjoyed using this. It lasted nearly 12 months, a little goes a long way. Application is very easy, which is unusual for me as I have very dry skin. This didn't cling to any dry patches. You are instructed to moisturise skin before use. Then I use 8-10 drops from the squeezy dropper bottle and apply the fingertips. It is very watery. It gives a very very sheer coverage but adds glow and blur. The packaging is excellent for travel.
November 12, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Really effective heel balm
Summary
This nearly held up to my holy grail heel product of Flexitol but as it is more expensive, I won't be repurchasing. It isn't as sticky but you do still need to either put your feet up for a long time or put socks over the top. It works well though.
November 12, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Day Moisturisers
A fab no-nasties moisturiser
Summary
I bought this because I try to stick to no nasty products and apparently Madonna uses it. It smells of rose but strongly and in vegetable way. The cream is very thick and you have to smear it on like a paste. This makes application tricky. It is very moisturising and my dry skin appreciated it. The tube is lux and you can wring it up to get all the product out (but it does make the packaging unattractive).
November 12, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
4.0
Moisturising 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
A nice lip stick - good buy
Summary
I love the gorgeous nanna scent of this. The formula for them is fab, especially for a budget product. I threw one away, Eva's Nude, which flattered me as a shade but I found it to be frosted, which is unflattering and not my style.
November 12, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
3.0
Moisturising 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Brilliant budget gloss
Summary
I had these in two shades: 105 cashmere rose and 420 glorious grapefruit. These give a medium shine, subtle pigment and are easy to apply. They are a dupe for the Clarins Instant Light Natural Lip Perfector. The doe foot applicator makes it easy for on the go application and the tube is sleek and small. I liked them very much but don't wear a gloss often. In the end they went off.
November 12, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Really effective styler - gives beachy waves
Summary
I have naturally wavy hair that needs definition and texture. This gives really good results without leaving my hair greasy looking the day after washing. I spray two pumps into my hand and spread it through the lengths of my hair that way rather than spraying directly onto my hair. The 75ml travel size bottle lasted me a very long time, so it is good value for money. The scent is very subtle, not a big blast of beach.
November 12, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
A hydrating serum that delivers moisture
Summary
I used this at night. It is a pleasant serum with no nasties and a good price, easy to obtain at M&S. The pump action bottle is easy to use and dispenses just the right amount. It delivers moisture and hydration but doesn't alter fine lines or bags.
November 12, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Decent body lotion
Summary
The ingredients list for this lotion is quite simple with no parabens. I have prescription skin care for my body and this didn't quite live up to that, so I couldn't continue to use it after giving it a trial. It has a pleasant scent and is easily absorbed. I decanted it into a pump dispenser to use as a hand cream.
October 08, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Packaging 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Hair Care
Surprisingly good
Summary
I usually use a dry shampoo with powder to soak up oil as I find they are the only effective ones. However, this does come a close second. I found it useful to have for when I was already dressed and didn't want to get dry shampoo all over my clothes.
October 08, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Mildness 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Compares well to more expensive products
Summary
I think this compares well to more expensive products. I find everything struggles to remove waterproof mascara and I use this as a first step. The bottle is light and easy to use.
October 08, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Packaging 
 
3.0
Long lasting 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
A lovely product but too dark/orange for fair skin
Summary
I'm not very fair but I used the fair shade and it just about matched me after a spell in the sun. I was reluctant to use this as it was a little orange on me. I do have very dry skin though and this was a pleasure to use. It is creamy and didn't cling to dry patches. The bottle looks very cheap but is functional.
October 08, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Mildness 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Very soothing but not as good as a micellar water
Summary
I thought I could use it as my main cleanser but it is not effective enough so I used it before my main cleanse where I would use a micellar water. It feels soothing and cooling on the skin but it wasn't effective enough for it to replace them.
October 08, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Packaging 
 
2.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Acceptable balm but nothing exciting
Summary
This was a reasonable lip balm but I think there are more hydrating products on the market. What really puts me off this product is the shape, which just didn't fit my lips at all.
October 08, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Packaging 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Mildness 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Exfoliators and Peelings
A good exfoliator, gives me clear, glowing skin
Summary
Since discovering them, I would not be without an exfoliating toner in my skincare routine, using one every other day. I find they really do deliver benefits to my skin. Liquid Gold is a good one. You do need to leave it to dry to be effective which feels like a faff when you just want to get your skincare done. I can't fault it.
August 03, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Mildness 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
An effective, mild face wash
Summary
I like to have a face wash for occasional use in the shower and this worked well. It cleansed effectively but gently and my dry skin wasn't left feeling tight.
August 03, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Cleansing power 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Not worth the price
Summary
I have oily roots and this is indicated for normal to dry hair so I'm not the best tester. I disliked that it had sulphates and is quite pricey otherwise I might purchase it. I don't think it performed any better than cheaper drug store shampoos.
August 03, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Mildness 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Definitely improved the appearance of my skin
Summary
This is a product that I have seen real results with - my skin looked clear and bright. It is marketed as a moisturiser but I didn't use it this way. I used it like an exfoliating toner and left it on. E.g. cleanse, eye cream, this product, night cream. This might be enough of a moisturiser if you have oily skin. It is easy to apply and absorbs quickly.
August 03, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
4.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Well defined lashes 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Fab coloured mascara
Summary
I bought this because it looked like dupe for the limited edition Clinique Black Honey mascara that I'd missed out on. It is a dark reddish purple, which you can really see on the wand and when removing but looks almost black/brown on the lashes. It's different but not wacky. A slight difference. The formula is also good. It's a bit clumpy but defines lashes and lasts very well. Mascaras always smudge on me and this didn't.
August 03, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Well defined lashes 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Excellent mascara with no smudging
Summary
This mascara doesn't offer the greatest va va voom but did was a good in-the-middle mascara. It wasn't a day time flutter but not an extreme night look. It's labelled to be lash boosting mascara which I would agree with. Most mascaras smudge on me and this didn't, like Benefit's They're Real but easier to remove. It has a medium sized fibre brush and was easy to apply.
August 03, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Effective sun block
Summary
This is a traditional thick white sun cream however it spread over my dry skin well. It didn't break me out and it didn't effect application of my base. I can apply this first thing in the morning and it protects me even when I'm out in the sun all day. SPF 30 is a decent in-the-middle level of coverage.
August 03, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Not suitable for my dry skin
Summary
I bought this because it had an SPF of 20, which meant I could choose from a wider range of foundations. However because I have very dry skin, my base clung to dry patches more than normal. It spread over my skin well. I briefly used this just as an SPF when I wasn't wearing foundation but it went off before I could really use it up. A waste of money. The glass bottle makes it heavy for travelling.
August 03, 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
2.0
Absorption 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
1.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
1.0
No SPF and ineffective moisturiser
Summary
I'm surprised this day cream does not have SPF indicated on the tube. It feels like applying a thick SPF, indeed it's hard to spread over skin. I also don't understand the product name if it doesn't protect from the sun. I have very dry skin and this was not moisturising enough for me either.
August 03, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
1.0
Baths and Showers
Ridiculous price for a novelty shower gel
Summary
This is supposed to cleanse and leave a satin finish to your skin. I didn't notice any shimmer (it has a golden shimmer in the oil) left on my skin. You are supposed to rinse it, so I don't know how this would be possible. I feel this is the USP of the product and it didn't work. Although I don't really want a satin finish or sparkles on my skin. It does lather a little and cleanses well. It doesn't dry out my skin and leaves it soft. The scent is gorgeous.
August 03, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Cleansing power 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Decent SLS free shampoo but a bit pricey
Summary
I only use SLS free shampoos and this one was a bit of a treat. I have oily roots and a sensitive scalp. This did a reasonable job of cleansing but didn't reduce the need for me to wash my hair every other day. It didn't irritate my scalp or dry skin. It lathered better than some SLS free shampoos but wasn't sudsy like normal shampoos. I didn't find it too difficult to diffuse through my hair and washed out well.
April 25, 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
1.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Accessories
A real faff
Summary
I tried with three or four times before binning the product with applications still to go. The mixing etc. is fine but having to smear around your eyelashes with vaseline and not touch the eyelashes is ridiculously tricky. The chemicals did make my eyes water. This did darken the colour of my lashes and I feel if you have naturally thick/long lashes this would be excellent but I have sparse, fine lashes so just darkening them didn't do too much. For me the faff didn't deliver good enough results to keep going. You need to leave it on for the maximum time to achieve a noticable difference.
April 25, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Nice product but clung to dry patches
Summary
Ultimately I binned this product after a few uses as I couldn't make it work for me. I have very dry skin and I couldn't get this not to cling to patches unappealingly. I even went full out with beauty blender and hydrating primer but couldn't make it work. By the end of the day, oils in my skin had evened this out. The shade blended and matched my skin well. It is fairly thick but still quite easy to work with. I enjoyed the tube packaging, light and travel friendly and easy to dispense product. I like the SPF 30 but the with the amount you use, you wouldn't really get a good coverage to protect your skin with this alone. The coverage is light to medium and I was impressed with this.
367 results - showing 1 - 50
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Results per page:

Connect

My Account

Add

Best Of

Help

Latest

×

Sign up to keep in touch!

Be the first to hear about giveaways and exclusive discounts from BEAUTYONTRIAL and our partners.

Check out our Privacy Policy & Terms of use. You can unsubscribe from our email list at any time.

We have 1625 guests and no members online