Reviews written by bakesnknits

448 results - showing 1 - 50
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Ordering
June 19, 2020
Overall rating
 
3.0
Packaging
 
4.0
Texture
 
1.5
Mildness
 
1.0
Effectiveness
 
2.5
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
4.0
Value for Money
 
3.0
Contains SLS so very drying
Summary
I have no idea why this is a "cooling scrub" - it doesn't at all. It is a pleasantly-scented fruity scrub without microbeads. It is fairly pricey for a scrub especially as it contains SLS, which I hope more expensive products do without. SLS is the detergent that foams, you don't need a scrub to foam. This makes it more like a scrubby shower gel than a scrub. My skin reacts badly and dries out when using SLS and even with just weekly use this had a negative effect on my skin. At the price I would hope for a glass tub, which is more easily recycled.
June 19, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.4
Packaging
 
4.0
Texture
 
4.0
Absorption
 
4.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
3.5
An expensive treat
Summary
I really enjoyed using this product. I had the advanced ceramide capsules daily youth restoring serum. The twist off top capsules are fiddly but do preserve the product. The serum has the ultra smooth feeling of a silicone product and glides on. You get more than enough product in a capsule. It is very rich feeling and takes a while to absorb. It leaves your skin glowing and very plump. The results last at least all day.
June 19, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.2
Packaging
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
3.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
3.0
A nice SPF top up
Summary
I bought this to use in summer to top up by SPF and cool down. It is effective but definitely a "nice to have" not a "need". I'm not sure whether it really delivers enough coverage to really be an SPF.
June 09, 2020
Overall rating
 
3.0
Packaging
 
4.5
Texture
 
3.0
Absorption
 
1.0
Effectiveness
 
2.5
Ease of use
 
2.5
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
2.5
Very disappointing, leaves a white cast
Summary
This was recommended in a magazine by a beauty editor and I bought it when it was on offer. I was very disappointed in it. I immediately noticed that my under eye foundation and/or concealer was balling up and looking creased with white patches. When I started looking more closely I realised that this cream leaves a heavy white caste like a heavy sun screen. I stopped using this in the morning and just used it as my night eye cream. However, I really didn't notice terrific results; I've used creams that more effectively hydrate, sooth or de-puff.
June 09, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.4
Packaging
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
4.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
3.0
Classic fruity scent but contains SLS
Summary
This was a present and so I used it up although it did dry out my skin quite badly because it contains SLS. I find it surprising that The Body Shop continue to use SLS in their products as they make a point about choosing the best ingredients. The red gel smells strongly and beautifully of strawberries and is a classic Body Shop scent. The bottle is very easy to use with a flip top that stands well on it's head towards the end of the product.
June 03, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.0
Packaging
 
2.5
Texture
 
4.0
Absorption
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
4.0
Ease of use
 
2.5
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
5.0
A decent hyaluronic acid but fiddly packaging
Summary
I put this on par with other single ingredient hyaluronic acids such as those by Superdrug and The Ordinary. I would choose this one if I travelled a lot as the light, plastic bottle is ideal. However, I will buy other brands as I found I went through the product quickly through poorly designed packaging. The flip top cap makes it hard to control how much product is dispensed. I found that as this acid is quite runny, loads of product came out, which is inefficient. It did work though and is easily absorbed.
June 03, 2020
Overall rating
 
3.7
Packaging
 
2.5
Texture
 
3.0
Absorption
 
3.0
Effectiveness
 
4.5
Ease of use
 
2.5
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
5.0
Worked to keep heels in good condition
Summary
These thick balms are tricky to work with. I find that you are best to apply then wear socks over the top, which isn't always convenient. I use a product like this every time I wear socks as I am very prone to cracked heels. I cannot comment on the ability to repair cracked heels as I no longer let my feet get in a poor condition. This one is good value for money and as effective as most. The screw top is a poor design though as it is messy when you have sticky hands.
June 03, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.2
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Mildness
 
4.0
Effectiveness
 
4.0
Ease of use
 
4.0
Scent
 
4.0
Value for Money
 
3.5
A good gel cleanser but not the best I've tried
Summary
I enjoyed using this cleanser but I will not repurchase. I feel The Body Shop's Camomile Balm or Oil cleansers are a better match for my skin. This is well-packaged though as it comes in a flip top tube, so it's very easy to use. It also runs down the arms less when using. It is a thick amber gel, which quickly melts and emulsifies when water is added. It has a strong scent from the three "precious seed oils": cumin, rosehip, camellia. It's a unisex spa scent. I imagine if you don't like essential oils, this won't be for you. I enjoyed the oils in it. It removed make-up well and didn't sting eyes when removing mascara. Again, in this respect I don't think it was quite as good as the Camomile range.
June 03, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.9
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Absorption
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
4.5
Excellent foot cream
Summary
I had this in Sea Salt and Mint (which I think may have been discontinued and replaced by Sea Minerals and Ginger Root). I really liked this foot cream, in fact it may replace my long-standing go-to Dr Organic Olive Foot Cream. The scent is definitely there but not overpowering. The tube has a flip top cap which makes it very easy to use. I particularly loved it because of how quickly it absorbed. It is completely absorbed after 10-15 minutes (I always moisturise feet at the end of the day, watching TV). You can still feel it in the morning though. I really like the brand but I have only ever found it in Sainsbury's, so is hard to shop for. This is not going to heal cracks and magic away areas of dry skin, there are other products suited for this purpose. However, it's an excellent foot cream.
May 20, 2020
Overall rating
 
3.9
Packaging
 
2.0
Texture
 
3.5
Absorption
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
2.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
5.0
Adore this, makes a big difference to my skin
Summary
I love this product. It gives you skin bounce, hydration and a feeling of plumpness. To a certain extent is helps the appearance of fine wrinkles. The price point is very good value. The bottle is small and plastic so very convenient for travel (and I would take this with me) however I continue to be annoyed by the Inkey List's flip top lid. As the products are so often very liquid, I find you have too little control over how much product comes out, usually far too much.
May 20, 2020
Overall rating
 
3.8
Packaging
 
4.0
Texture
 
5.0
Absorption
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
4.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
0.5
Value for Money
 
3.0
Overly scented but decent
Summary
I wouldn't ordinarily choose a drug store moisturiser as I prefer something without silicones/parabens etc but I was surprised by how effective and easily absorbed this was. I have very very dry skin and this worked well. I don't know why it has an SPF of 10 - what is the point? I wouldn't repurchase as it is hideously overly scented. Scents like this always remind me of the strong scent of fabric conditioners.
May 20, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.8
Value for money
 
4.5
Packaging
 
5.0
Scent
 
4.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Love this, really works
Summary
I love using this rollerball. I leave it in my bathroom and reapply whenever I visit. As soon as I roll it on, I feel perked up. It is quite small and would be easy to carry around in your handbag. The scent is wearable as a perfume, I would say citrussy and minty but very pleasant.
May 01, 2020
Overall rating
 
3.0
Packaging
 
1.0
Texture
 
3.0
Absorption
 
4.0
Effectiveness
 
3.0
Ease of use
 
4.0
Scent
 
3.0
Value for Money
 
3.0
Oily yet not hydrating
Summary
I had a roller ball version of this and I found I had to roll it around and around my face to get enough product on. This is quite dry for an oil and I feel that I had to work hard to make my skin feel hydrated. It has a strong vegetably rose scent which a lot of people will find off-putting I fear. With serums underneath, the product worked as a day moisturiser.
May 01, 2020
Overall rating
 
3.6
Packaging
 
4.0
Texture
 
1.0
Absorption
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
3.0
Ease of use
 
4.0
Scent
 
3.0
Value for Money
 
5.0
A nice enough vitamin C serum but gritty texture
Summary
I like to use a Vitamin C serum as they are so heavily recommended. I trust this is an antioxidant but I have yet to find one that truly delivers glow. This is easy to use but has the horrible gritty typical texture, which I don't like.
May 01, 2020
Overall rating
 
3.9
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Mildness
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
4.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
1.0
Value for Money
 
2.0
New sleeping mask not as good as the original
Summary
I had owned the original Vitamin E sink in mask and loved it. It was excellent prep for skin and worked so well at providing bouncy, smooth skin. This was discontinued and replaced by a sleeping mask. I tried this in case I could use it as a replacement but you cannot apply make-up after using this. I used this as a night cream and it worked very well. My only main gripe is that it went "off" and smelt quite quickly given that you should only be using it once a week or so.
March 31, 2020
Overall rating
 
2.4
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Mildness
 
1.0
Effectiveness
 
1.0
Ease of use
 
1.0
Scent
 
3.0
Value for Money
 
1.0
Hard to remove and gave no visible effect
Summary
This is a rose-gold peel-off mask which is almost impossible to peel-off. It doesn't set to that satisfying one-go peel as you only apply a thin layer. This means you are scratching about with your fingernails and scrubbing with a flannel. My face was very red after. Then I couldn't see any change to the appearance of my skin or feel any change to it's texture etc.
March 31, 2020
Overall rating
 
2.6
Packaging
 
5.0
Long lasting
 
2.0
Effectiveness
 
1.0
Ease of use
 
4.0
Value for Money
 
1.0
The original but certainly not the best
Summary
I remember when this was the top highlighter - Kylie wore it!!! I can get away with the cool-toned pink shade of it but it still doesn't really show up at all on my skin. What you can see is where it clumps and creases. I really like the application and it goes on very easy and creamy.
March 31, 2020
Overall rating
 
2.8
Packaging
 
4.0
Long lasting
 
3.0
Effectiveness
 
3.0
Ease of use
 
2.0
Value for Money
 
2.0
Very disappointed by this dupe
Summary
This is supposed to be Aldi's dupe for the Naked essentials palette. There were three or four colourways and I had to guess as there wasn't a tester palette out for all of them. I got the white one. The packaging is quite chic but the embossing on the front does look cheap. Inside there is a tiny brush, which you just wouldn't use, a large mirror and six shades. There are three mattes: vanilla (bright base colour), lilac (neutral brown) and charcoal (black). And three shimmers: orchid (champagne), khaki (more gold than green) and champagne (light brown almost glitter). The problem with the palette is that I wouldn't use vanilla, orchid or charcoal. I would use lilac on a daily basis but the colour pay off is atrocious, there colour is almost not there at all. Even with a heavy swatch, whilst pretty khaki and champagne are barely there. It's put me off getting a palette for a while.
March 31, 2020
Overall rating
 
2.0
Packaging
 
3.0
Long lasting
 
1.0
Effectiveness
 
1.0
Ease of use
 
4.0
Value for Money
 
1.0
Smudgy and melted on face
Summary
I love this brand for skincare but I'm yet to find a make-up product I get on with. This eyeliner looked really good upon first application. You can sharpen it to be very precise and it gives a dark, sultry lash line. It's quite a goth effect and easily smudges out. However after a short while there is no product along my lashline, it has all gathered into dark dirty black smudges in my inner and outer corner.
March 14, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.2
Packaging
 
4.0
Texture
 
5.0
Absorption
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
4.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
1.0
Value for Money
 
5.0
Moisturising and exfoliating but brought on my excema
Summary
I have enjoyed using similar products from Dove and Soap and Glory however this one really failed me. The smell is awful, a horrible mix of lime yogurt and cocoa butter. It's very strong and stays on the skin all day. The lotion was effective in reducing KP and dry skin. It is quickly absorbed. The packaging isn't brilliant, the product needs a good shake and often too much comes out. The worst result however was that it quickly triggered a bad bout of excema. I'm not an expert but mine is usually brought on by artificial colouring in food so the scent in this might be artificial.
March 14, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.5
Packaging
 
3.0
Cleansing power
 
5.0
Scent
 
4.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
5.0
An excellent clarifying shampoo
Summary
As with all SLS free shampoo, this doesn't lather up much but it does a little. The clear bottle means you can see how much is left however the domed cap means it can't be turned upside down when getting low. I like a charcoal shampoo as they are kind on my scalp but good at cleaning my oily roots and removing any product build up. This is a good one although it is hard to find in shops.
March 14, 2020
Overall rating
 
3.7
Packaging
 
3.0
Texture
 
4.0
Absorption
 
3.0
Effectiveness
 
3.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
4.0
Value for Money
 
4.0
Not the most effective but very easy to use
Summary
I have this for days when I don't have time to put a thicker, more effective product on. Heel repair products can be very sticky and I use this when I don't have time to wash my hands after use. Like most of these products it is not absorbed quickly and I always wear socks over the top. I find using this regularly stops my heels cracking and keeps them soft.
March 08, 2020
Overall rating
 
3.3
Packaging
 
3.0
Long lasting
 
3.0
Moisturising
 
2.0
Effectiveness
 
4.0
Ease of use
 
4.0
Value for Money
 
4.0
Nice tint but not very moisturising
Summary
I liked having this product in my handbag, it gives a really nice sheer coverage with a slight gloss/satin finish. As a sheer lipstick it is nicely moisturising but I wouldn't say it was a balm, not quite moisturising enough. I felt a short while after application, my lips felt dry and it needed reapplication. The packaging is a metal curved tube, which is very chic however you can only click the lid on when the logo is correctly lined up, which is very fiddly.
March 08, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.0
Packaging
 
3.0
Long lasting
 
3.0
Effectiveness
 
4.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
5.0
An excellent tinted moisturiser
Summary
This reminds me of Glossier Perfecting Skin Tint, it has almost no coverage just a slight "perfecting" or "unifying" effect. I enjoyed using this as I like a lower coverage for day to day wear. It worked very well on my very dry skin and didn't cling to dry patches or look chalky. It gives a little glow to skin. I found it worked best with a primer or else my skin just drank it up.
March 08, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.4
Packaging
 
4.0
Long lasting
 
4.0
Effectiveness
 
4.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
5.0
Very good value for money
Summary
When I swatched this I was afraid that there would be too much sparkle on my face and it would be too much but actually there is just a glowy sheen no sparkle or glitter. If anything, there is not enough flow to this product. As a face primer it was just about moisturising enough but did provide excellent stick for my base products.
March 08, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.4
Packaging
 
4.0
Texture
 
5.0
Absorption
 
4.0
Effectiveness
 
4.0
Ease of use
 
4.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
5.0
Effective and not too sticky
Summary
I found this cream excellent to use. I get very dry skin on my feet and heels especially, which are prone to cracking. I apply a product every time I wear socks, under socks to prevent this. The product is a thick cream and applies very easily. It is fairly quickly absorbed but I still wouldn't walk around without anything over the top. I found it to be very effective. This was very cheap. The packaging lets it down a little as the tube is opaque so you can't see how much is left and I would prefer a flip top rather than screw lid. The branding is also identical to other variants in the range and the replacement I bought is actually a different product.
January 25, 2020
Overall rating
 
3.4
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
4.0
Mildness
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
3.0
Ease of use
 
2.0
Scent
 
2.0
Value for Money
 
3.0
A nice cleansing milk
Summary
The essential oils in this are very relaxing. This looks very good on the bathroom shelf. I don't use a cleansing milk and this was sent to me for trial. I tried it and thought it was a great product but it doesn't fit in my skincare routine. It really is a milk and is the same consistency. You couldn't use this as a hot cloth cleanser. It's not for removing make up either and can't be used near the eyes.
January 25, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.3
Packaging
 
5.0
Long lasting
 
4.0
Well defined lashes
 
3.0
Effectiveness
 
4.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
5.0
Cheap but flakey
Summary
Mascaras all smudge on me and this was no exception. I let this dry out a little and tried again and was still bad to I binned the product. This gave me long, clumpy lashes, which looked great. It's a false lash effect mascara. The packaging does look cheap but I like the rubber insert on the handle to make it extra easy to hold. It has a curved, fluffy brush.
January 25, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.7
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Absorption
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
4.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
4.0
An effective daily serum
Summary
I really liked using this. It kept my skin calm and rosacea at bay. I have very dry and dehydrated skin and this kept it well hydrated. The packaging is functional and easy to use. It is a pump.
January 25, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Absorption
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
5.0
Cheap yet hydrating and performs well
Summary
I love this serum from Superdrug. It's very cheap but this is reflected in the ingredient list. I have very dry and dehydrated skin and this does a good job of helping to hydrate my skin with a night cream. The pump and packaging is very functional.
January 25, 2020
Overall rating
 
3.0
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
1.0
Mildness
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
1.0
Ease of use
 
1.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
3.0
Horrible peeling mask
Summary
This is a mask that rubs off. I think it's supposed to be your own skin that is rolling up into rubbery balls of peel. It feels more like it's just the product itself. I couldn't see any results at all so I stopped using it immediately.
January 25, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.3
Packaging
 
5.0
Long lasting
 
5.0
Moisturising
 
3.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
3.0
The best matte liquid lipstick
Summary
I really like this liquid lipstick. It is easy to apply and lasts a very long time, especially through meals.
January 25, 2020
Overall rating
 
3.2
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Mildness
 
1.0
Effectiveness
 
3.0
Ease of use
 
1.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
2.0
Far too intensive
Summary
This AHA was far too strong for my skin and I don't have sensitive skin. It is a clay mask, which you apply for 1-5 minutes "as you can tolerate". The first time I used this I did the full 5 minutes and it stung like crazy and left my skin almost burnt. The next time I did one minute and my skin still felt burnt. Then I binned it. The packaging is functional in a little tub and has a sponge applicator.
January 25, 2020
Overall rating
 
3.5
Packaging
 
4.0
Long lasting
 
4.0
Moisturising
 
3.0
Effectiveness
 
4.0
Ease of use
 
4.0
Value for Money
 
2.0
A classic but too sticky
Summary
I was so proud of owning these once upon a time. However, times move on and I feel they are far too sticky now. I'm not much of a gloss wearer anymore. This is thick and coats the lips and all the different scents are lovely. It also has glitter in it rather than being a more natural shine. The packaging was practical but now looks cheap for a high end brand. It is functional though, as a plastic tube with lip applicator.
January 25, 2020
Overall rating
 
2.7
Packaging
 
4.0
Long lasting
 
4.0
Moisturising
 
1.0
Effectiveness
 
3.0
Ease of use
 
1.0
Value for Money
 
3.0
Doesn't feel nice on the lips
Summary
This does make your lipstick last longer. However I'm not happy to pay the price of how horrible the product is to use. It dries your lips and feels like you are applying a very harsh chemical product. It feels and smells more like something you would use with woodwork. The packaging is retro chic although the glass bottle isn't always practical.
January 05, 2020
Overall rating
 
3.3
Packaging
 
3.0
Long lasting
 
3.0
Well defined lashes
 
3.0
Effectiveness
 
3.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
3.0
Not the best serum I've tried
Summary
I have tried two high street lash serums and I preferred the KIKO offering. This was okay but I felt it wasn't as effective as the KIKO one. This comes in a very thin tube and the lid cracked. The wand is soft and doesn't have any bristles, I felt it didn't coat the lashes well.
January 05, 2020
Overall rating
 
3.9
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Mildness
 
2.0
Effectiveness
 
4.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
3.0
Value for Money
 
3.0
Too stripping for my very dry skin
Summary
This brand and cleanser have a cult following. I only tried a sample, which I was glad of as it didn't suit my skin type. I have very dry skin and I felt this dried it out further and left my face feeling tight. The price point isn't too high, as you can only purchase it through Glossier's website. The texture is nice and it isn't heavily fragranced. It is an effective cleanser and removed eye make up including mascara. It is a simple, easy to use product.
January 05, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.3
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
3.0
Excellent curler
Summary
I really liked these eyelash curlers. They are strong and firm and curled my eyelashes very well. The give a pronounced curl. The design is very simple and sturdy and they have lasted a very long time. Now that you can no longer get them and the rubber inserts in the UK, I have had to move on to a new product. I went for the Kevin Aucoin ones, as he designed the Shu Uemura ones!
January 05, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.4
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Mildness
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
4.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
4.0
Value for Money
 
3.0
A nice hot cloth style cleanser
Summary
I usually use a balm or oil cleanser but I picked this up as a change. I used this as you would a hot cloth cleanser, massaging in to dry skin and removing with a hot, wet flannel. I enjoyed using this product. It worked on mascara and eye make up and cleansed skin well. My very dry skin didn't feel tight after and felt refreshed. The scent is quite strong and some people might find this off-putting. The large tube packaging is chic but I probably didn't get all the product out.
January 05, 2020
Overall rating
 
3.8
Packaging
 
5.0
Scent
 
4.0
Effectiveness
 
4.0
Ease of use
 
4.0
Value for Money
 
2.0
A nice conditioner but not worth the price
Summary
This was as good a conditioner as you can get. However, I believe you can better for cheaper.
January 05, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.8
Packaging
 
5.0
Long lasting
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
4.0
Decent brow gel
Summary
I don't use brow gel but this would be a contender if I did. It didn't show in my brows or go dry and crispy. I prefer an opaque tube, so I don't have to see how grim the inside is getting! But the packaging is chic.
December 16, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
5.0
Absorption
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
4.0
Effective at reducing redness
Summary
I had redness around my nose and over my cheekbones, which was persistent. I wanted to use something to reduce this and this product was recommended by Sali Hughes. It was very easy to use and I didn't notice any adverse effects from stopping using my usual hydrating hyalauronic acid serum. It took several weeks to clearly see and difference but it did reduce areas of redness.
December 16, 2019
Overall rating
 
2.2
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
1.0
Absorption
 
2.0
Effectiveness
 
2.0
Ease of use
 
1.0
Scent
 
3.0
Value for Money
 
1.0
Not worth the money
Summary
I really didn't enjoy using this eye cream. I found it to be too thick, with an almost paste-like texture and it sometimes left a white crust around my eye. It didn't feel very moisturising.
December 16, 2019
Overall rating
 
2.7
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
3.0
Mildness
 
2.0
Effectiveness
 
1.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
2.0
Value for Money
 
1.0
Not very effective
Summary
I have enjoyed using other Garnier masks. This mask is marketed towards enlarged pores and is purifying, hydrating and pore-tightening. I found that it didn't do anything to change the appearance of my pores.
December 16, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.2
Packaging
 
4.0
Texture
 
5.0
Absorption
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
1.0
Value for Money
 
4.0
A decent moisturiser but the scent is horrible
Summary
I tried this as an alternative to other body lotions containing AHA/BHA acids to act as an exfoliater. The exfolilating quality was decent although it only contains AHA where others contain both. It was non-greasy and easily absorbed. The packing is basic and you have to do quite a lot of shaking, although you can stand it upside down. I found the scent to be off-putting. It might have been the olive oil ingredient but it was quite vegetative.
October 23, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.7
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
4.0
Value for Money
 
5.0
A really fab little brush
Summary
I was really pleased to receive this as a gift as I have the full size Wet Brush and really rate it. It does glide through wet hair and can be used on dry hair. This mini size is not uncomfortable to use but not quite as good as the full size. The weight and size difference is not so different that this one is really necessary. However it will be put to good use - I shall have one in the bathroom and one in the bedroom.
October 23, 2019
Overall rating
 
3.8
Packaging
 
5.0
Long lasting
 
2.0
Effectiveness
 
4.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
3.0
Beautiful but not very long lasting
Summary
I was gifted this shadow and was very excited to try a product from the rated The Balm. It is also very on trend, both the shade Red Handed and the foil effect. It applies well and looks good as a topper to other shadows and on it's own. However it didn't last very long. It didn't crease and there wasn't any fall out but it just didn't stick about. I will keep trying it with primers and other products to see if I can improve that as I love the look. The cardboard packaging is very practical and I think you could decant it to a magnetic palette.
October 23, 2019
Overall rating
 
3.4
Packaging
 
5.0
Texture
 
4.0
Absorption
 
4.0
Effectiveness
 
1.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
3.0
Value for Money
 
2.0
Too glittery
Summary
I hadn't tried an EOS lip balm before I was gifted one and I was intrigued to try it. I like the little bubble ball containing it and I found the round shape easy to use and apply. It feels lovely in the hand. I have read that the main ingredients aren't as premium as the price would suggest. This is a new shade and is tinted and glittery. I felt the glitter was more suitable for a tweenie than a grown up. The tint is definitely there and I would have liked it more without the shimmer. It does feel moisturising but not long lasting.
October 23, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Value for Money
 
5.0
Decent brush and for a good cause
Summary
I was gifted this brush and I enjoy using it. It is not too big for my hooded lids and provides even coverage. The handle does seem very long. A decent brush and I would purchase further brushes from this company.
October 23, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.7
Packaging
 
4.0
Texture
 
5.0
Absorption
 
5.0
Effectiveness
 
5.0
Ease of use
 
5.0
Scent
 
4.0
Value for Money
 
5.0
My new favourite day cream...
Summary
I love this cream and wear it all year round. It is £3.99 from Aldi and is trying to be a dupe for L'Oreal. The scent is very functional but not unpleasant. I find this makes my very dry skin very bouncy, it is quite a rich cream and I apply it in light layers for maximum effect. The SPF is high and I have not had any burning etc. I haven't needed to top up. The packaging is fairly chic with a red glass jar and white plastic lid. It's not the best for travel.
448 results - showing 1 - 50
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Results per page:

Connect

My Account

Add

Best Of

Help

Latest

×

Sign up to keep in touch!

Be the first to hear about giveaways and exclusive discounts from BEAUTYONTRIAL and our partners.

Check out our Privacy Policy & Terms of use. You can unsubscribe from our email list at any time.

We have 1128 guests and no members online