Reviews written by bakesnknits

329 results - showing 1 - 50
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Ordering
August 03, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Mildness 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
An effective, mild face wash
Summary
I like to have a face wash for occasional use in the shower and this worked well. It cleansed effectively but gently and my dry skin wasn't left feeling tight.
August 03, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Cleansing power 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Not worth the price
Summary
I have oily roots and this is indicated for normal to dry hair so I'm not the best tester. I disliked that it had sulphates and is quite pricey otherwise I might purchase it. I don't think it performed any better than cheaper drug store shampoos.
August 03, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Mildness 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Definitely improved the appearance of my skin
Summary
This is a product that I have seen real results with - my skin looked clear and bright. It is marketed as a moisturiser but I didn't use it this way. I used it like an exfoliating toner and left it on. E.g. cleanse, eye cream, this product, night cream. This might be enough of a moisturiser if you have oily skin. It is easy to apply and absorbs quickly.
August 03, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
4.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Well defined lashes 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Fab coloured mascara
Summary
I bought this because it looked like dupe for the limited edition Clinique Black Honey mascara that I'd missed out on. It is a dark reddish purple, which you can really see on the wand and when removing but looks almost black/brown on the lashes. It's different but not wacky. A slight difference. The formula is also good. It's a bit clumpy but defines lashes and lasts very well. Mascaras always smudge on me and this didn't.
August 03, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Well defined lashes 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Excellent mascara with no smudging
Summary
This mascara doesn't offer the greatest va va voom but did was a good in-the-middle mascara. It wasn't a day time flutter but not an extreme night look. It's labelled to be lash boosting mascara which I would agree with. Most mascaras smudge on me and this didn't, like Benefit's They're Real but easier to remove. It has a medium sized fibre brush and was easy to apply.
August 03, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Sun Protection
Effective sun block
Summary
This is a traditional thick white sun cream however it spread over my dry skin well. It didn't break me out and it didn't effect application of my base. I can apply this first thing in the morning and it protects me even when I'm out in the sun all day. SPF 30 is a decent in-the-middle level of coverage.
August 03, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Not suitable for my dry skin
Summary
I bought this because it had an SPF of 20, which meant I could choose from a wider range of foundations. However because I have very dry skin, my base clung to dry patches more than normal. It spread over my skin well. I briefly used this just as an SPF when I wasn't wearing foundation but it went off before I could really use it up. A waste of money. The glass bottle makes it heavy for travelling.
August 03, 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
2.0
Absorption 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
1.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
1.0
No SPF and ineffective moisturiser
Summary
I'm surprised this day cream does not have SPF indicated on the tube. It feels like applying a thick SPF, indeed it's hard to spread over skin. I also don't understand the product name if it doesn't protect from the sun. I have very dry skin and this was not moisturising enough for me either.
August 03, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
1.0
Ridiculous price for a novelty shower gel
Summary
This is supposed to cleanse and leave a satin finish to your skin. I didn't notice any shimmer (it has a golden shimmer in the oil) left on my skin. You are supposed to rinse it, so I don't know how this would be possible. I feel this is the USP of the product and it didn't work. Although I don't really want a satin finish or sparkles on my skin. It does lather a little and cleanses well. It doesn't dry out my skin and leaves it soft. The scent is gorgeous.
August 03, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Cleansing power 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Decent SLS free shampoo but a bit pricey
Summary
I only use SLS free shampoos and this one was a bit of a treat. I have oily roots and a sensitive scalp. This did a reasonable job of cleansing but didn't reduce the need for me to wash my hair every other day. It didn't irritate my scalp or dry skin. It lathered better than some SLS free shampoos but wasn't sudsy like normal shampoos. I didn't find it too difficult to diffuse through my hair and washed out well.
April 25, 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
1.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Accessories
A real faff
Summary
I tried with three or four times before binning the product with applications still to go. The mixing etc. is fine but having to smear around your eyelashes with vaseline and not touch the eyelashes is ridiculously tricky. The chemicals did make my eyes water. This did darken the colour of my lashes and I feel if you have naturally thick/long lashes this would be excellent but I have sparse, fine lashes so just darkening them didn't do too much. For me the faff didn't deliver good enough results to keep going. You need to leave it on for the maximum time to achieve a noticable difference.
April 25, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Nice product but clung to dry patches
Summary
Ultimately I binned this product after a few uses as I couldn't make it work for me. I have very dry skin and I couldn't get this not to cling to patches unappealingly. I even went full out with beauty blender and hydrating primer but couldn't make it work. By the end of the day, oils in my skin had evened this out. The shade blended and matched my skin well. It is fairly thick but still quite easy to work with. I enjoyed the tube packaging, light and travel friendly and easy to dispense product. I like the SPF 30 but the with the amount you use, you wouldn't really get a good coverage to protect your skin with this alone. The coverage is light to medium and I was impressed with this.
April 25, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Nothing corrects wrinkles
Summary
This was a nice, slightly plumping moisturiser. I don't believe that wrinkles can be corrected though and my fine lines weren't. The texture and scent are sciency, reflecting the brand. My skin was well hydrated and it worked well for me in my morning skincare routine.
April 25, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Not as good as the original
Summary
I love Aveeno. I have a body moisturiser on prescription because my skin is so dry but when I go away I often take Aveeno as it is an excellent substitute. However the packaging on this one would insinuate that this is beefier than the original green labelled one. Not the case, I find this inferior. The original oaty smell (very nice) has a shea butter element mixed in. And I prefer the original. The packaging is super functional and very easy to use. It's great for travel. The product is easily absorbed.
April 25, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Mildness 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Very good value for money
Summary
This holds it's ground against much more expensive oil cleansers. The only area you can tell it is a budget product is in the scent. There are no aromatherapy oils or such in it. The bottle lasted a long time. The oil is fairly runny yet also quite dry and you don't need much. I would worry about the sturdiness of the bottle for travel but it is very functional otherwise. It did a great job cleansing and I would repurchase.
April 25, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Mildness 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Good for a second cleanse...
Summary
The idea of this is great, you massage into skin until the jojoba beads melt; thus exfoliating and cleansing the skin. It encourages you to really massage and clean deeply. I found that sometimes this worked well, sometimes you didn't get many beads and sometimes you could never get rid of them all. It feels like a very luxurious product and would be good for a second cleanse but it wasn't brilliant at removing make-up and you would need to use a separate eye make up remover.
April 25, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Packaging 
 
3.0
Cleansing power 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Very heavy
Summary
I always buy shampoo without SLS, so this was a brand to try for me. I have medium-thick hair with dry ends and an oily scalp and this was too heavy for me. I couldn't get away with second day hair with this. It lathered very well, smelt okay. The packaging scored low as I couldn't see how much was left or stand the bottle upside down.
April 25, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
A decent eye cream, very rich
Summary
I'm very skeptical that any eye cream could fade dark circles; fortunately I don't really have any so I can't report whether this is brightening. However, I felt it did help hydrate, sooth and smooth the under eye area. It is rich yet easily absorbed. I felt that this was a high end product. The art deco style tub is lovely to look at but it was tricky to get product out from under the rim.
April 25, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
A good exfoliating toner
Summary
I'm not sure I sufficiently soaked my cotton wool pads enough with this to give a tingly, thorough exfoliation; enough to give a glow anyway. I did notice that my patches of dry skin reduced with use and I much prefer using this to a manual exfoliator. The 250ml bottle lasted a very long time and the packaging is very chic. I felt this was an excellent introduction into chemical exfoliators.
February 14, 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Packaging 
 
5.0
Long lasting 
 
1.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
1.0
No staying power
Summary
This is a shimmery, glittery neutral brown. It is flattering and good for night or day. It blended well. However by halfway through the day it was gone.
February 14, 2018
Overall rating 
 
1.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
1.0
Absorption 
 
1.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
1.0
Scent 
 
1.0
Value for Money 
 
1.0
Too sticky
Summary
I gave this a couple of goes. As it is a foot creme, I thought it would be like a lotion but is a sticky, syrup consistency. Syrup is the best comparison. The directions say to apply it before retiring and covering with cotton socks. I found that when used with socks it was too runny and was absorbed more by the socks than by the feet. The product also separated into thick gunk and a thin liquid.
February 14, 2018
Overall rating 
 
1.3
Packaging 
 
1.0
Texture 
 
1.0
Absorption 
 
1.0
Effectiveness 
 
1.0
Ease of use 
 
1.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
1.0
Yuck
Summary
I was sent this for consideration. The tin looks dated and not in a retro way. I dislike products where you dip your fingers in to apply to the lips, so this was never going to be a big hit for me. First impression is that the coral shade is pretty and the taupe is crazy. I don't want to wear dirty brown on my lips or cheeks. The texture is very tacky. I guess it would look dewy on the cheeks and the pigment is just about right for cheeks but doesn't show up on the lips. It isn't moisturising either so no real point to putting it on your lips. It's just so sticky.
February 14, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Packaging 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
A decent night cream
Summary
The packaging claims this is a corrective facial for all skin types and is skin retexturising. It says it is ideal for every day use, so I used it as a night cream rather than a face mask, which I had initially assumed it was. I have dry skin, so I would normally avoid anything for all skin types but this didn't leave my skin to suffer. Whilst it wasn't plumper or glowing, it didn't miss my usual hydrating products so it must be a good at this. My skin does feel smooth but I started using this in conjunction with returning to an acid toner post partum and I suspect the toner is what has made the difference. It has an earthy rose scent, which is pleasant and no nasties.
February 14, 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Packaging 
 
1.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
2.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Reasonable serum but didn't see any instant firmness!
Summary
I have two small sample or travel size tubes of this that I have worked through. I used it in the serum stage of my morning skincare as it says to apply 2 or 3 drops before your moisturiser and you can pat it in to your skin over make-up to top up. It was a nice enough serum but I don't keep anymore young or beautiful for using it and neither did I see any instant changes to my skin. It is a very liquid texture which made it easy to apply but it came out of the tubes in too great a quantity to a lot of the product was wasted. It was quickly absorbed and has no scent.
January 22, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Packaging 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
1.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
The jury's out on whether this works
Summary
This lotion contains Lactic Acid, an AHA, so it is supposed to exfoliate away KP (the bumps of skin that can form on upper arms and thighs, most commonly). I have this quite severely but the product gets rave reviews for producing results, so I was excited to try a 50ml sample. This lasted about a week using it only on my arms and thighs, once a day. You are supposed to use it twice daily for four weeks to see results. I suppose this isn't a fair test but why provide a sample if it isn't enough to produce any effect? I didn't notice any real change. And it does really smell. Having said that I am planning on purchasing a full size to give it a real try.
January 22, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Packaging 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Rich and hydrating
Summary
This felt luxurious to use, it has a slightly whipped texture. It felt rich yet was easily absorbed. It did a good job of hydrating the eye area and I used this in the evening. It has a cloying scent, slightly of honey or blossom. Having looked up the price though (I had a trial of this, perhaps from this site, perhaps in a beauty box, I can't remember) and at £55, I think there are cheaper, equally effective creams on the market. Even from other luxury brands.
January 22, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Brilliant moisturizer
Summary
I loved using this moisturizer. It worked very effectively on my dry skin. The scent really does wake you up too.
January 10, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Packaging 
 
3.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Well defined lashes 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
One of the best on the high street
Summary
I loved this mascara and think it's one of the best that you can easily pick up on the high street. It has a large bristle brush and gives voluminous, long lashes. It isn't waterproof but I found it held a curl well and didn't smudge - 99% of mascaras smudge on me! It rivals Benefit's They're Real for me. The only negative was that it did seem to dry up quickly and it became very messy around the top of the lid, with lots of product depositing there.
January 10, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Really hydrating serum at a bargain price
Summary
This product from The Ordinary is great. It is just a hyaluronic acid solution, which I use as a serum step. It really helps to hydrate my skin. The glass bottle with pipette might not be ideal for travel but has a simple appeal. I was able to get every last drop out of the bottle. There is no fragrance.
December 18, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Packaging 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Softens and helps my curls
Summary
This is a leave in conditioner. It has the signature Dove scent, so it feels like putting soap or body lotion in your hair, which is weird. I didn't think this would be for me, I thought it would leave my hair looking greasy. It actually is weightless and helps my natural wave/curl. My hair did feel softer after sustained use.
December 18, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Excellent product, refreshing and hydrating
Summary
This comes in a gorgeous spray mist bottle and looks quite chic. The mist is very fine. I use this as a first step when I get out of the shower, to add moisture back into my skin. I also used this during the day to top up my skin care. It reduces any cakiness in your base or refreshes your skin. The ingredients seem to be good quality. The 80ml bottle lasted me a very long time.
December 18, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Excellent day cream
Summary
This is a great brand with no chemical nasties and doing good work for the bees. I had a small tube of this cream and the packaging design is excellent. I got most of the product out as it is an easy squeeze and stands up. The product itself left my dry skin very well moisturised all day and possibly a little plumper (how can you tell?). It has an orangey honey scent that is pleasant but not overpowering. It absorbed easily and make-up applied well over the top. The packaging suggests night time use too but I prefer something richer.
December 18, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Mildness 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
A lovely balm cleanser
Summary
This is a cult product, it's effectiveness, skin care benefits and scent are really highly rated. I found that it did remove make-up, including heavy eye make up, very well. It leaves your skin very clean, refreshed, soft and moisturised. The texture is a little gritty, which didn't bother me. Everyone says this smells amazing but I didn't like it. It's a very heavy, floral scent. It comes in a deep tub and you have to scoop it out with your fingers. I feel there are better methods of dispensing cleansers and it was harder to get all the product out. Overall, I think for the price, there are solid balm cleansers available that I would recommend above this.
December 18, 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Packaging 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
1.0
Not nourishing at all
Summary
I love the Caudalie brand and that their products don't contain chemical nasties. I also like their signature scent. This lotion applied easily from the tube and was very quick to absorb. However, it didn't do anything to moisturise my dry skin. In fact, I felt like I needed to go over it with something else. I used up the small tube as a handcream and it did a decent job.
November 26, 2017 (Updated: November 26, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
1.7
Packaging 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
2.0
Absorption 
 
2.0
Effectiveness 
 
1.0
Ease of use 
 
1.0
Scent 
 
1.0
Value for Money 
 
1.0
Patchy and hard to work with
Summary
I was sent this product for consideration in a gorgeous dark brown, chocolate shimmer. I was excited to try a luxury, high-end eyeshadow. This really let me down. I have fairly hooded eyes, so there's not too much room to play with eyeshadows but I love a one-wash-wonder. The cream is in a nice golden tube but you have to dispense some on to the back of your hand and then apply. Far too much product comes out and I think you would go through this too quickly for the money. I couldn't get the precision needed when using my finger as the cream is quite liquid. Using a brush was easier but I needed to try two layers and it got very patchy. When I was finally happy with the look, I found it didn't last very long.
October 14, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Really lovely moisturiser
Summary
I really enjoyed using this. It has the expensive, Clarins, nanna scent and is light and easily absorbed yet works like a richer cream. I can't say whether it has corrected any early wrinkles, I expect you have to be a long-term user to find out. If this was going to ensure long term good skin, it should have an SPF.
October 14, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Packaging 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Mildness 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
A cross between a cleanser and a mask
Summary
This is a mask that could be used as a cleanser...every day would be too much but once or twice a week as a second cleanse. I do think this helped clear pores and blemishes. You apply a thin layer for green cream on dry skin, which foams a little and then is easily washed off. No scrubbing needed. The pump dispenser is very easy to use but I'm sure this became solid in the tube after a while, so a lot of product was wasted.
October 05, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Mildness 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Did the job but not the best out there
Summary
With all hot cloth cleansers, I feel you have to compare them to the original...Liz Earle. The price difference between these isn't too huge for this to be unfair. Both have a strong aromatherapy oil scent, perhaps Liz Earles is nicer. The M&S one is quite earthy. The smooth cream texture is identical. It applies easily. The tube packaging is very functional. I found this cleanser to really struggled with eye make up and mascara completely withstood it. Liz Earle would have demolished it. Having said all that, I would recommend Liz Earle above this to most people, but for me Liz Earle is too harsh and leaves my skin dry and tight. This was much gentler and would make a great second cleanse.
October 05, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Packaging 
 
5.0
Cleansing power 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Great shampoo, lovely for the scalp
Summary
The brand Noughty can be found in Superdrug. It's great as it's 97% natural. I don't use shampoos with SLS in as they irritate my scalp, leaving me with dry, flaking itchy skin (also on my back as the shampoo washes off). This was a brilliant product in that it soothed my scalp and didn't irritate it further but also cleaned well. It foamed well enough for a product that doesn't contain SLS. The oat scent is gorgeous, very natural and comforting. The packaging is a rubberised tube, which looks good, feels good, dispenses the product brilliants, stands so the product falls to the spout and is easy to use as it has a flip top.
September 16, 2017
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Absorption 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
1.0
Value for Money 
 
1.0
Does not live up to claims
Summary
This has big claims: "clinically proven...to reduce wrinkles up to 16% in 15 minutes, improving skin firmness and hydration..." It works as a serum and skin care step but did not really deliver any of this. I guess my wrinkles were reduced by "up to 16%" perhaps 1 or 2 %!? It smells slightly like alcohol or maybe Bonjela. Ultimately not worth the price tag.
September 16, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Packaging 
 
5.0
Cleansing power 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
A Holy Grail product
Summary
I have gone through bottles and bottles of this shampoo, which you can pick up in Holland and Barrett. For me, it is a very effective alternative to pricey organic, SLS-free shampoos. This promises deep cleansing hair therapy. It isn't a clarifying shampoo but I do find it does a good job with my oil roots. I also worry about nits and tea tree is supposed to put them off. It doesn't lather a lot but only just enough (typical of an SLS free shampoo). The packaging is functional: stands either way up, clear so you can see how much is left and with a flip top for easy use in the shower. I love this and would use it everyday if I didn't prefer to alternate products to reduce build up.
August 04, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Packaging 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
4.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Nice but not for me
Summary
This is a lovely product but overall just not for me, as a grown woman I don't need to shimmer or twinkle. If you do, this is very nice. It reminds me a tweenie product you would get in Claire's, girly pink packaging (and normally so chic from L'Occitane), fruity scent and glitter. If you wanted to shimmer every day then this would be worth the price but for a product you might only use a few times a year for parties etc., it's quite a price to pay.
July 27, 2017 (Updated: July 27, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Packaging 
 
1.0
Long lasting 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Very good base for dry skin
Summary
I find it very hard to find bases that don't cling to dry patches on my very dry skin. This worked wonderfully and I didn't even need to apply a hydrating primer beforehand. It feels like a hydrating cream. I like that it has an SPF of 30. It protected my skin when applied heavily. Which you can do without it caking or looking over the top. On first application it looks as though there is very very little coverage but it settles well and overall I was happy, although I would have liked it to be light-medium coverage rather than light. The light shade worked well on my pale skin, often I find even light shades of BB creams to be too orange. The packaging does look very cheap and the label peels off. The squeezy tube is very easy to use. Unfortunately I notice this product has disappeared from shelves although you can buy it online.
July 27, 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Day & Night Moisturisers
Results not good enough for the price point
Summary
I bought this as part of a sample box of Espa hydrating products and it does not stand out. The packaging looks chic with a frosted glass tub with marble lid but as a mini it is not practical for travel. It is also very very fiddly to get the product out from under the lid of the pot. Very frustrating. I find this does a good job as a morning moisturiser but it not rich enough for me to use at night. I have very dry skin. The good quality aromatherapy oils smell wonderful. It is very easily absorbed and feels rich and expensive to use. I wouldn't repurchase as I preferred the moisturiser I have on prescription and, when purchasing, I prefer a moisuriser with an SPF.
July 27, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
5.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Pleasant to use
Summary
Out of a box of hydrating samples I bought, this was the stand out product. It was the nicest to use and did deliver results. My skin did feel refreshed, comforted and revitalised as promised. The high quality aromatherapy oils used make the toner smell amazing. It was a pleasure to use. I also noticed that it did leave my skin ready for further products and optimised penetration and lock in hydration from them as promised. I needed much less night cream after using this toner. The packaging is very chic with a frosted glass bottle and marble effect lid (not good for travelling though and these are minis!). At this price point though I feel this is a nice to have product and not essential and I would recommend but not repurchase.
July 27, 2017
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
2.0
Mildness 
 
1.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Exfoliators and Peelings
Feels very harsh
Summary
I have dry skin and Espa recommend people with dry skin use this two to three times a week but it feels too harsh to do this. It feels like rubbing sandpaper on your face. It is not a spa-like experience more like torture. The beads are so small they feel like the finest sand and the surrounding product is supposed to nourish. I suppose my skin doesn't feel tight after use. Equally though, usually after using a scrub I can feel the results, my skin feels smooth and product applies easier. This isn't the case. Even though it really feels like it's working well, I can't get good results.
July 27, 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Packaging 
 
1.0
Texture 
 
3.0
Mildness 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Scent 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Nice but not worth the price
Summary
I bought a sample box of hydrating Espa products. The packaging looks and feels amazing: frosted glass with marble effect lids. However, as travel mini sizes, they are not practical and there was no dispenser for the product and I had to spend a long time shaking and tapping the bottle to get the product out. For this reason alone, I will not repurchase. The cleanser did a reasonable job but would not remove heavy make up and is more suitable for a second cleanse. It is very light in texture, like a lotion. It feels like it is absorbed into the skin rather than sitting on top. It does hydrate as my dry skin did not feel tight after use. You can tell it is a high quality product and the scent of the pure oils used is lovely.
July 27, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Packaging 
 
4.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
5.0
Scent 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Amazing night cream - highly recommend
Summary
This claims to deeply nourish and sooth all skin types, so it was an expensive punt for me as I have dry skin and I wasn't sure whether this would be enough for my skin as a night cream. It was! I didn't have to use a serum or oil as well, this was sufficient to hydrate and plump my skin over night. It definitely does nourish and sooth. It applies easily and is absorbed quickly. The packaging is very chic and looks good. However the glass tub is not very practical for travelling with and I am always loathe to use products which you have to scoop with your fingers. The scent is strong and quite masculine and earthy. It won't be for everyone but it doesn't linger.
July 27, 2017
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Packaging 
 
4.0
Long lasting 
 
1.0
Effectiveness 
 
1.0
Ease of use 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
1.0
Useless
Summary
I have this in a limited edition shade by Lily Cole 21: Crazy for Coral. It is a beautiful orange peach. The domes are very light with a screw top and easy to apply to lips or cheeks. I felt this shade was too bright (and slightly too patchy) for lips and kept it for a blush colour. When you swatch it, is a beautiful dewy thing of joy. Blended out on the cheeks with a bursh, you cannot see it at all, there is no colour pay off and what there is disappears very quickly (and I have dry skin!) This should be an excellent, multipurpose product but it just doesn't have enough pigment to make it work.
July 27, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Packaging 
 
3.0
Texture 
 
5.0
Absorption 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Ease of use 
 
3.0
Scent 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Very effective lip balm
Summary
This is the original balm and is multipurpose, although as the name suggests I only used it on my lips. It comes in a pink tube with just a tube-style hole to dispense the product. This is a bit fiddly as you have to squeeze the product (harder towards the end) onto a finger to apply. I do find this unhygienic. However, it works as well as my favourite Nuxe lip balm. It is thick and somewhere between a gloss and a mat. It works okay under lipstick. It does really work though. It keeps lips soft and flake-free with no sore, dry patches.
329 results - showing 1 - 50
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Results per page:

Connect

My Account

Add

Best Of

Help

Latest

×

Sign up to keep in touch!

Be the first to hear about giveaways and exclusive discounts from BEAUTYONTRIAL and our partners.

Check out our Privacy Policy & Terms of use. You can unsubscribe from our email list at any time.

We have 1137 guests and no members online